Seetoh

Founder of Makansutra, K F Seetoh posted a note on his Facebook page today (14 Jan) sharing that an auntie hawker actually came up to him to hug and thank him for his untiring efforts helping the hawkers, especially those making their living at hawker centres run by “Social Enterprises” (SEHCs).

In the case of the auntie hawker, her cleaning fee went down by a third after Mr Seetoh highlighted the plight of hawkers at SEHCs last year.

“I was shocked when an auntie hawker came up to hug me thanking me for whatever I did (I auntie killer la!!). The cleaning fees there went down by $100 to $200 bucks,” Mr Seetoh wrote.

“So dun say nothing can be done. You support what you believe and do whatever you can to see it happen. Not just fold your arms and go KNN about the up-there problems. When you do that, you become part of the problem.”

Mr Seetoh said that since last year, after the public uproar over hawkers’ plight and NEA stepping in, the $0.20 tray return policy has been abolished and hawkers at Jurong West hawker centre now save about $800 on that alone.

“Now they are given rest days at Tampines. And that compulsory $600 monthly “management fee” (the gall of them) at Ci Yuan has been switched to ‘optional’,” he added.

“Cleaning fees at Old Airport is now looking to be based on usage.”

Mr Seetoh said that there are a lot more issues to be dealt with, like the $300 compulsory monthly “marketing fee” for all stalls at Pasir Ris hawker centre.

“(It’s) still on folks, despite the ruckus you raised,” he shared. Pasir Ris hawker centre is run by NTUC Enterprise.

“I mean, have you seen much of the marketing besides the fantastic concert they hold once in a while there. This one baffles me.. just teach them (hawkers) how to get on social media and let them fly la,” he added.

“Keep at it people, your affordable makan bloodliine heritage is worth preserving… don’t just crow, support the hawkers.”

Certainly, Mr Seetoh has done much to surface the “injustice” that the hawkers at SEHCs have to endure. It’s no wonder the auntie hawker hugged and thanked him.

Now, how about asking Mr Seetoh to run for Parliament in the next General Election to help Singaporeans?

Subscribe
Notify of
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
You May Also Like

Wheel of fortune?

Officials in Singapore have changed the direction of the world’s biggest observation…

提醒狮城签署身心障碍者权利公约 人权律师吁对患精神障碍毒骡“刀下留人”

“难道说你可以吊死一位已经被精神科医师判定有精神障碍、且智商只有69的囚犯?我们认为不能,因这有违国际法乃至新加坡的法律。” 马来西亚捍卫自由律师团呼吁新加坡当局,勿处决患有精神疾病的马籍毒品走私者纳嘉(Nagaenthran s/o K Dharmalingam)。 昨日,新加坡人权律师拉维,在吉隆坡与马国律师苏仁德兰等人,召开记者会,并提醒新加坡也有签署联合国身心障碍者权利公约(CPRD),也意味着任何对于身心障碍者不人道的惩处都应被禁止。 他们也认为,若新加坡政府仍执意处决纳嘉,形同野蛮行为。 拉维在记者会上指出,在《滥用毒品法令》33B(3)(b)条文中,裁定精神障碍豁免于刑责的门槛很高,但在联合高CPRD公约下,纳嘉有很多方面都符合条件。 在2013年,新加坡毒品法令修法,让毒骡犯只有在极有限的条件下才能逃过死刑,例如嫌犯需取得公共检察官(PP)的实质援助证书(certificate of substantive assistance),或者能证明在犯罪时经受精神异常。…

无视怒夫趴车盖欲阻拦 情夫高速“载送”七公里被控

男子为“抓奸”,欲阻拦情夫轿车,甚至趴上对方车盖,殊不知对方无视其性命危险,竟驱车“载”着前者约半小时,时速一度高达70公里。有关情夫于周三(10月2日)被判入狱11周,且被吊销执照两年。 据法庭文件指出,有关发生于去年4月28日。当时34岁的被告,洋名Desmond的郭伟文(Koh Wee Boon),和已为人妻的爱人,于凌晨3时10分在实龙岗路上段的飞龙酒店-高文(Fragrance Hotel – Kovan)碰见爱人丈夫。 据副检察官David Lee指出,在法庭文件中没有列出名字的27岁受害者,长期以来一直怀疑他的妻子有外遇,因此他当时和朋友一起,跟踪妻子到上述酒店去。 他当时在酒店的后巷等待,而其友人则在酒店前的车子内等候,而在约一两个小时的埋伏后,发现妻子和被告进入一辆停在思礼坊(Sireh Place)的车辆中。 丈夫曾一度掉下车…

2015年选举失利仍继续深耕选区 余振忠:没有竞争就没有进步

工人党前非选区议员余振忠在脸书分享,回顾四年前的9月11日,是2015年选举投票日。那时如切单选区(Joo Chiat SMC)已被归入马林百列集选区。 他写道,前日有选民问他,他和严燕松加入工人党多久了?“我回答道我在2011年和2015年参选,燕松比我早两年,都在2011-15年担任非选区议员。”居民对他的回答很满意,因为她不希望候选人只是来了就走。” 他在帖文中转载一则《海峡时报》的报导,内容是指在2015年工人党团队在马林百列集选区失利后,余振忠在投票日隔日接受采访,表示工人党仍会继续在该选区基层服务。 四年过去,余振忠坦言,当时确实对于失利感到失望,但是当年的竞选团队,仍继续在选区耕耘,保持活跃,例如在选区不同地区分发食物。 然而,很多时候他们面对有限的资源,也不可能能使用诸如人民协会的设施和资金,大都仰仗支持者们的热心捐献,他甚至记不清自己和志工有多少次自己开车运送物资,有时候人手不足还要找孩子来帮忙。 “这集选区并不小,从南部的海岸再延伸到中部,我们需要分配时间到选区不同地点进行家访。” 余振忠也认为,新加坡固然已经54岁了,但是在民主发展上仍处在萌芽状态,有时一些国人告诉他,只有一支团队拥有足够的人才治理这个国家。 “我在2011年加入(工人党),就是因为我相信我们不能总是依赖唯一一支政治团队。没有竞争,就没有进步。我见到的,是缺乏政策改革的动力,即便事情远远偏离国际水准、而且改革迫切需要,但这些政策制定者却想规避犯错,而不愿冒险。” 他坦言,要建设一个可信、能组成政府的团队需要时间,也欣慰这个过程已经启动,远在他参与工人党之前。他认为,在野团队固然间中面对无数荆棘挫折,但仍继续往前走,并且他深信会有更多人加入壮大这份志业。