On 5 August, a woman named Yukumi Wu took to her Facebook to mention that her father, Mr Boo Meng Hock, went missing exactly 23 years ago.
In her post, Ms Wu noted that in all the years since her father went missing, the CPF Board has been deducting money from his MediShield account. She said there was no way to stop the deductions as the family don’t yet have a death certificate for Mr Boo. According to the records, he is still alive.
She then says, “I have kept his police report for 23 years! I don’t know whether in the new SPF system, still has his record as a missing person we filed 23 years ago?”
In response to her post, on 7 August, CPF wrote on its Facebook page saying that they empathise with the situation that the family is facing. However, CPF claims that their records show that no one from the family approached the CPF Board for assistance on the matter. In fact, CPF Board stated that they have in fact reached out to the family to explain the necessary steps to declare Mr Boo as deceased.
The Board added “In line with industry practice, CPFB treats an individual as being alive until the person has been registered as deceased with the Immigration & Checkpoints Authority (ICA).”
They go on to explain how a missing person can be registered as deceased with the ICA.
The Board then says that for the past 23 years, Mr Boo has been receiving various bonuses and vouchers such as the Pioneer Generation pay-outs, GST vouchers, MediSave top-ups, SG Bonus, GST credits (between 2007-2010), growth dividend (2008-2010), and the Grow and Share packages – all amounting to about S$15,000 in cash. All because they still consider him to be alive. The Board highlighted that these come up to more than the MediShield Life premium deductions of about S$7,300.
They end their post by urging the family to obtain a court order to declare Mr Boo as deceased and submit it to the ICA.
Following CPF Board’s explanation, many netizens commented in the post slamming Ms Wu. They said that she quietly collected the payouts given by CPF but still raised the issue over her missing dad’s premiums being deducted for 23 years.
Some even said her story is fake and it has misled the public, hence thanking CPF for clarifying the issue. Facebook user Watt WK asked Ms Wu to return all the payouts that she has received back to the Government.

Others said that Ms Wu should have immediately made a report to CPF Board after the family received the money. On the other hand, Lydia Fung said that the authorities should perhaps “first check the said bank joint alternate account holder of Mr Boo, as this pax would have used the money inclusive of cash for gst and pioneer generations, etc”.

Upon reading all the harsh comments from the public, Ms Wu finally responded in the comment thread, sharing her side of the story.
She said that it’s uncalled for people to assume that her family has taken their missing dad’s money and be silent about it. This is because she claims that CPF has not inform her where they have banked the money due to confidentiality.
“Up till now CPF still have let me know where they have banked in the money to or into my dad’s CPF account due to confidentiality. So how can you assume that we take the money??” she wrote.
Ms Wu, who was obviously upset reading all the comments from the online users, expressed that people will only know the pain that she is going through if they experience it themselves.
In an attempt to clarify her part of the story, Ms Wu said that she posted her original post solely to share her sentiment and want to get a closure as it was her dad’s 23rd anniversary of disappearance.
“My FB post it is just merely to share my sentiments and not to attacking CPF Board,” she wrote.
However, The Independent Singapore wrote an article about her post without her consent, she noted.
She again emphasised that she highlighted this story on Facebook not “to direct at CPF Board or SPF”, but solely to “obtain a Death Cert of my Dad” as her family didn’t know how to go about it and hoped someone can help them.
Ms Wu also explained that her family did reach out to their MP to seek help with the case. The MP had referred them to a lawyer but the legal fees was S$3000, and they would need an additional few thousand dollars to apply for a death certificate from the High Court. Unfortunately, she said that her family couldn’t afford it.
She also noted that they were not eligible for Legal Aid as their income is more than S$1000, which resulted to them not being qualified for it.
“So we put this on hold since there are so many procedures to follow and still hoping… and we didn’t want to face the reality since my Dad’s body hasn’t been found. Even he is really dead, but there is no proper burial for him,” she wrote.
Ms Wu also mentioned that her mother’s health is deteriorating now with slight dementia and she fears that she would not be able to remember anything later on, which will lead to grave repercussions.
As such, she said that she hopes everyone would stops speculating about them.
“Just for your info. my dad has already withdrew all this OA account when he reach the age of 55, what he left is only his Medisave account, so do you think we can withdraw and keep quiet? Even CPF Board didn’t want to reveal to me where they have banked the money unless I produced my Dad’s Death Cert,” she explained.

Subscribe
Notify of
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
You May Also Like

居民10楼单位遭犀鸟霸道硬闯 留下“黄金”处处!

自然生态爱好者、Lepak SG的创办人何翔天,在脸书分享哭笑不得的经历:有犀鸟不请自来,硬闯入他在10楼的组屋单位,整整逗留了1小时半才肯离开,临走还不忘留下“圣诞前夕礼物”— “黄金处处”。 何翔天说,数周前就有犀鸟出现,停在他们的晾衣杆上许久才飞走。何翔天说,当时自己很纳闷,一般犀鸟会逗留在三至五楼的高度,飞到10楼的高度就较罕见。 然而,昨日(17日)约傍晚5时15分,家里却来了一对犀鸟。当时下着雨,窗户都关了,就剩大门开着,第一只犀鸟就由大门飞入家中。 何翔天说,当时他在赶着报告,突然被犀鸟“串门子”当下也呆了片刻,试图厘清眼前这出乎意料、奇妙的景象。不多久,第二只犀鸟又飞进来了。第一只犀鸟先是飞到了书架上,至少逗留了45分钟。 第二只犀鸟则几乎把何翔天整个单位拜访个遍,之后尝试从窗口飞出,不过因窗口关闭而不成功,然后又从大门离开。 至于第一支犀鸟,仍大咧咧矗立书架上俯瞰一切,似乎完全“无视”他们打扰了事主一家。 母亲在尖叫,父亲尝试用竹竿赶走犀鸟,不过基于多年与野生动物何环境方面的经验,何翔天选择向关爱动物研究协会(ACRES)求助,不巧当天ACRES也接到许多求助电话忙不过来。 之后,何翔天把家中窗户、门口全打开,就只是关上了厨房门窗,避免犀鸟闯入进食人类食物。他也关掉了风扇,避免伤及犀鸟。之后就只能等待犀鸟自行离去,何翔天也继续赶未完成的报告。 “约六点当我差不多要提交报告时,又听到尖叫,过后母亲就冷静下来。看来是犀鸟决定要换个地方,飞到了平时充电设备的椅子上,然后开始大便!” 做好“大生意”后,犀鸟还打算到事主家中的储藏室看看;之后又跳到餐桌上逗留了一阵子,才拍拍翅膀,从打开的窗户离开。…

SIA CEO makes $4.2m despite SIA incurring first full-year loss of $212m in 48-year history

According to the latest SIA annual report just released, SIA CEO Goh…

RAS: Singapore food and beverage businesses struggling, landlords advised to cut rents to lighten the burden

Jewel Changi Airport in Singapore is now offering a 50 per cent…

【冠状病毒19】自尼泊尔回国 两岁女童确诊

据卫生部文告指出,昨日(10月8日)新增的九起冠状病毒19确诊病例中没有社区病例,有五起入境病例,其中包括一名从尼泊尔返回我国的两岁新加坡女童。 据文告显示,该名两岁女童是于9月25日从尼泊尔入境,其他的还包括两名菲律宾籍船员、从法国入境的工程师、和从日本入境的工作准证持有者。 工程师持有短期探访证,是于10月5日抵达我国,而从日本入境的工作准证持有者则于10月6日抵达,剩下的两名菲律宾籍船员则是于9月23日,从马来西亚入境。他们在入境时都已接受隔离或居家通知了。 剩余的四起病例则是来自客工宿舍,其中一人曾和已确诊病患有过接触,在隔离期间接受检测时被证实受到感染,另外三人则是在卫生部的监控检测下,出现阳性的检测结果。 昨日新增病例中,有将近八成是入境病例,或是曾接触过确诊病例、或来自已知感染群,剩余的尚在追踪。 虽然昨日没有新增感染群,但是有两个感染群都出现了一起新病例,即Kian Teck客工宿舍和大士南客工宿舍感染群。 截至昨日,我国已经累计了5万7849起病例,康复人数达5万7669人,死亡人数则维持在27人。 昨日有44人出院或离开社区隔离设施,119人在社区设施进行隔离或接受护理,35人住院,一人病危。