Westlife set to perform concert in Singapore after 20 years as part of reunion tour

Westlife, the Irish boyband who disbanded in 2012, have reunited since October last year, with an exciting announcement of new music and a new tour.

Formed in 1998, the band consists of Kian Egan, Nicky Byrne, Shane Filan, Brian McFadden and Markus Feehily, who were hugely popular in the late 90s and early ‘00s for their pop hits such as My Love, Swear It Again, Queen of My Heart and Flying Without Wings.

Unfortunately, McFadden did not rejoin the band ever since he left in 2004 to embark on a solo career.

Almost a decade after their last album, Gravity (2010) was released, their reunion which marked the 20th anniversary of their beginning prompted them to produce their first new single in eight years, Helly My Love, released in January this year. The song was written by Ed Sheeran and Steve Mac.

Within the same month, they also flew down to Singapore to meet fans for a Q&A session organised by Universal Music Singapore. Later in February, they told CNA Lifestyle in an exclusive interview that an Asian tour was in the works which will “most definitely include a Singaporean concert”.

In celebration of two decades of memorable tunes, the heartthrobs announced a Singapore concert as part of their 13th world tour together, The Twenty Tour, on Thursday (21 March).

The concert would mark Westlife’s fifth time performing in Singapore. They have performed here in 2000, 2001, 2006 and 2011. Last March, member Shane Filan played a solo concert at the Coliseum at Hard Rock Hotel Singapore.

Taking place at the National Stadium on 10 August 2019, tickets for the concert will be sold on 1 April, starting from S$108.