Current Affairs
NSL, EWL and CCL under SMRT, all down with severe disruption on the same morning
Singapore Mass Rapid Transit (SMRT) reported this morning that two of its lines, Circle Line (CCL) and East-West Line (EWL) were experiencing delays. CCL experienced signal fault resulting in a huge backload of passengers while EWL had a train collision at Joo Koon resulting in commuters and staff injured. North-South Line had complaints of delay, likely as a result of the service disruption from the other lines.
At 6.28 am on Wednesday (15 November), it tweeted that its trains along CCL were moving slower between Botanic Gardens and Haw Par Villa due to a signal fault train.
[CCL]: Due to a signal fault trains are moving slower between #BotanicGardens and #HawParVilla. We are investigating the fault.
— SMRT Corporation (@SMRT_Singapore) November 14, 2017
It then asked commuters to add 20 minutes travelling time between Buona Vista and Harbour Front on both bounds due to a signal fault.
[CCL]: Due to a Signal fault between #Farrer Road and # Buona Vista .Pls add 20mins train travel time between #Buona Vista and HarbourFornt on both bounds.
— SMRT Corporation (@SMRT_Singapore) November 14, 2017
SMRT then stated that free regular bus services were available between Farrer Road and Kent Ridge and between Paya Lebar and Harbour Front.
[CCL] UPDATE: Free regular bus services are available between #FarrerRoad and
#KentRidge.— SMRT Corporation (@SMRT_Singapore) November 14, 2017
[CCL]UPDATE: Free regular bus services are available between #PayaLebar and
#HarbourFront.— SMRT Corporation (@SMRT_Singapore) November 14, 2017
Two hours after the first tweet on CCL, and while the disruption on that line still occurred, SMRT then posted another tweet which stated that its EWL was also experiencing delay due to a train fault at Joo Koon and asked commuters to add 20 minutes travelling time between Jurong East and Joo Koon. It is known by Wednesday afternoon, that the train was, in fact, a collision between two trains at Joo Koon MRT stations.
[EWL]: Pls add 20mins train travel time btwn #JurongEast and #JooKoon due to a train fault at #JooKoon. Train svc is available.
— SMRT Corporation (@SMRT_Singapore) November 15, 2017
Minutes later, it then stated that the fault along CCL has cleared, however, it noted that trains and stations were crowded. Therefore, due to congestion, it asked commuters to add 5 minutes travelling time towards Harbour Front, noting that free regular bus services were still available.
[CCL] CLEARED: Fault cleared but trains and stations are crowded. Due to congestion, pls add 5mins travel time towards #HarbourFront. Free regular bus service still available.
SMRT then announced that free regular bus services ere also available between Jurong East and Tuas Link.
[EWL] UPDATE: Free regular bus svcs btwn #JurongEast and #TuasLink.
It then tweeted asking commuters to add 30 minutes travelling time between Jurong East and Tuas Link and that the trains services were still available.
[EWL] UPDATE: Pls add 30mins train travel time btwn #JurongEast and #TuasLink due to a train fault at #JooKoon. Train svc is available.
An hour after the first tweet on EWL delay, it then asked commuters who were travelling between Queenstown and Tuas Link to add 30 minutes travelling time.
[EWL] UPDATE: Due to a train fault, please add 30mins train travel time between #Queenstown and #TuasLink. Free regular bus services are available between #JurongEast and #TuasLink.
Two and a half hours after the announcement on CCL, SMRT tweeted that the fault has cleared and free regular bus services have ceased.
[CCL]CLEARED: Free regular bus services have ceased.
At 9.58 am, SMRT tweeted to ask ommuters to add 15 minutes travelling time between Jurong East and Tuas Link.
[EWL] UPDATE: Please add 15 mins train travel time between #JurongEast and #TuasLink. Free regular bus services are still available between #JurongEast and #TuasLink.
Many asked SMRT to truthful in its communication. Commuters such as Chua Lisa pointed out that SMRT’s communication makes it sound as if the disruption is only affecting a short portion of the rail system.
https://twitter.com/Julianah_Jamal/status/930580908452622337
https://twitter.com/chualisa/status/930586785834401792
Breaking down is one thing but at least give us the accurate delay time wts so done with smrt
— 엘리 🎶🌱 (@imzuboo) November 15, 2017
Also, if u guys dont display the estimate time (to the next train) everyone is just gonna keep on waiting. At least display so people who are in a rush can decide to take a bus or another alternative.
— Shi Ya (@_Miruu) November 15, 2017
Some tweeted issues that they faced along CCL during the fault.
@SMRT_Singapore, more than 10 min standstill b4 Caldecott, one automated announcement ??????
— Jeroen Overbeek (@JOV68) November 14, 2017
https://twitter.com/clay_jug/status/930571129697083392
Circle line train at Bishan is not moving either.
— Mark Rozells (@esthervine) November 14, 2017
No buses from botanic to bishan? Damn
— Kenji Chua (@ijenkgan) November 14, 2017
https://twitter.com/imnotchipmunk/status/930578660293197824
@SMRT_Singapore are we leaving anytime soon ? Been stuck at Botanic Gardens for 15 mins now
— adventurejunkie (@adventurejunkie) November 14, 2017
Second breakdown on Circle this week. Very poor announcements by SMRT. Train stuck at Marymount MRT from 6:40 to 7:00!!!! Why can SMRT make bigger announcements,signs and contingencies. Is this world class transportation? This is what BAD looks like in customer experience.
— Adrian Ang (@Adrianang1709) November 14, 2017
Outer train doors cannot open at cck yay to mid week #smrt
— sy (@shiyunly) November 14, 2017
Why isn't this announced at Bishan station?
— f.zlim (@f_zlim) November 14, 2017
@SMRT_Singapore trains hardly moving at Botanic Gardens and there is no staff/buses to help out with the situation. Another ginormous mess up! Yay! #SMRT
— Kappa Gooner (@kappa_gooner) November 15, 2017
Why dhoby ghaut / marina bay also no train? I wait for 10 mins alr :’)
— JOANNE (@_JoanneTMY) November 15, 2017
https://twitter.com/joke1993k/status/930588319972388864
totally no train at Serangoon station going towards marina bay/dhoby ghaut. why no announcement and free regular bus services for passengers at Serangoon station?
— Chloe (@chloeldl) November 15, 2017
#smrt stuck in train for 1 hour on circle line & the official announcement still says only 20min delay.
— Vijay (@vijaypatwardhan) November 15, 2017
What is call travelling 20 minutes in between Farrer Road and buona vista.
There are every station stop 21 minutes.— Sarah 快乐工程师 (@babyangel_sarah) November 15, 2017
5 mins??? Don’t joke. I spent 1hour 15 mins on the train from
botanic Gardens to Pasir Panjang (usually 20mins) today due to your track fault.— Minerva Lim (@minflim) November 15, 2017
What the fck man. Train is stuck at Labrador park for damn long already. Sure the fault is cleared?
— JADED (@AwkTurtle89) November 15, 2017
https://twitter.com/yvonneyusa/status/930599092287188992
Now we r stuck at Telok Blangah .. why did u lied that everything is clear? It’s really frustrating.
— YZ (@r_m1_1) November 15, 2017
https://twitter.com/Ghanesh1/status/930600087377494016
I am at botanic garden mrt for the past 20 min then realised that the free bus service is still ongoing. The announcement so soft nobody cn hear, no signs, no directions. Of cuz everyone still queueing n w8 for the bloody train despite it being full. Off escalator also no use 🙄
— Shi Ya (@_Miruu) November 15, 2017
There's no train in both directions of Circle Line at Botanic Garden but #SMRT says service is moving slower. Utter bulls**t!
— Firdaus Jasmin (@lordf1r) November 15, 2017
Can we at least be honest about the delay time? 5mins and 25mins is very different.
— Yul (@enkonstig) November 15, 2017
@SMRT_Singapore … trains are too full at holland village mrt stn.. 6 trains gone and cannot get in.. plz improve ur service.. #trainfault #SMRT
— Anuj Sakhardande (@SakhardandeAnuj) November 15, 2017
It took 1hr from bishan to Haw par villa. Actual travel is only 22mins. So, add ur delay as 38mins. Don’t give wrong info !
— Ram (@seshavram) November 15, 2017
Zaini asked SMRT to open the door at the station so passengers can decide whether to stay on the train or to take alternative modes of transport.
Can you open the door when train stalled at the station? Pax can decide!
— Zaini (@iamzaini) November 14, 2017
Sharonlrli also stated that the announcement inside the train needs to be customised so passengers know when they could get out of the train.
I think announcement to commuters who are trapped in the train should be customised. It doesnt help telling trapped commuters on the extra traveling time n alternative free rides awaiting. Trapped commuters need to know when we can get out of the train.
— 榕 (@sharonlrli) November 14, 2017
While, some tweeted issues they needed to face along EWL.
The train also stops in the EW line every 5 minutes. @SMRT_Singapore get your shit together already.
— Anna (@fieldsofeden) November 15, 2017
@SMRT_Singapore Train is stuck between Joo Koon & Pioneer for last 20 minutes. Please announce it here so that commuters stay away from this route.
— Richanand Mishra (@rn_mishra) November 15, 2017
That's 20 min per station, I guess. I am in one of the train and spent more than 20min b/w Boon Lay & Pioneer.
Help la what 30mins extra been stuck between boon lay and pioneer for 40+ mins alr
— ぷりっぷ (@kailepak) November 15, 2017
I am in one of the trains b/w Boon Lay & Pioneer. The train has not moved a single inch for last 40 min.
https://twitter.com/parkthechim/status/930601505266196480
Why don't you also report on the overcrowding in stations like Bishan that adds to the travel time?
— Pradeep Nair (@Pradeep_Nair_) November 15, 2017
Do you mean 30 mins travel time between each station? Because that's the reality. Stop misleading ppl pls…
— Yos (@kenshee627) November 15, 2017
But we’re all stuck between buona and dover???
— Rachel Olivia Chiu (@RayRocksYrWorld) November 15, 2017
Great, the train finally moved a few meters from elementi to je after 20 minutes🙂
— peixiang (@zhongpeixiang) November 15, 2017
https://twitter.com/Selasssss/status/930605169938591745
https://twitter.com/joyonairplane/status/930605248422469632
Inaccurate ! I am now on EW line, approaching Commonwealth. Announcement says 30mins delay from Queenstown to Tuas.
— PK (@sg_beaglekk) November 15, 2017
https://twitter.com/matchan89/status/930609110806028288
Asked to alight a westbound train at lakeside and wait for next one… lol #smrt #worldclasstransport #trainfault
— Kenneth Wong (@KWSW83) November 15, 2017
Some asked SMRT to announce EWL delay before SMRT’s first tweet on the line.
Jimmie stated that the train keep on stopping longer than usual from Yew Tee to Jurong East.
Your train stop moving from boon lay to joo koon don't need to let people know is it?!
— クロバカ (@lacusstellarki1) November 14, 2017
You should also be reporting about the delays along EWL.
— Chew CS (@ShuToshio) November 15, 2017
I’m at Dakota mrt going to promenade and there is no train, no announcement . Why can’t you train your staff to communicate with the passengers abt any delay ?!
— Wendy (@wendymuinc) November 15, 2017
I use 35 minutes from yew tee to Jurong east and train keep stop longer than usual. No announcement?
— Jimmy (@Jimmy69572151) November 15, 2017
Some stated that the free regular bus services were not free as they were being charged.
https://twitter.com/MissFortuneCat/status/930599922742603776
Btw the regular bus service is not free. It's still being charged!
— Ally (@throughalens88) November 15, 2017
Basic Emoji asked SMRT the reason it did not provide free shuttle service for the entire line.
https://twitter.com/MissFortuneCat/status/930596914688491520
Some asked SMRT to fix the air conditioner as it was very hot inside the train.
https://twitter.com/1HonestFeedback/status/930606387909967872
Susanoo tweeted that SMRT needs to upgrade the whole system as she never tap the cards for three days in a row.
https://twitter.com/Grimm_06/status/930584727680978944
Vinesh tweeted that SMRT staffs always disappear whenever there is a delay.
Whenever there is a train delay or track fault, all the SMRT staff will go missing 😂😂😂 #smartmove
— Vinesh Ganesan ॐ (@_Vinesh_) November 14, 2017
Many netizens posted videos and pictures of the situation on the platforms, inside the train, and on the bus stop.
Many people posted pictures of crowds of CCL platforms.
@SMRT_Delays [PSA] #circleline train fault, both directions affected, @SMRT_Singapore est 20mins delay. #buonavista pic.twitter.com/6K7iBbW61l
— Jing Wen Liao (@SoferoLiu) November 14, 2017
The scene at Macpherson mrt this morning after a train fault on the circle line. #smrt pic.twitter.com/UtwGE4mJIG
— nicholasderoose (@nicholasderoose) November 14, 2017
Train fault between #CCK to #Jurongeast.#smrt #trainfault #redline #circleline pic.twitter.com/4blUybXDiG
— Ganesh Balakrishnan (@putyourcomments) November 14, 2017
https://twitter.com/DancerJas89/status/930585994293735424
Train breakdown sibo. #circleline #smrt #whatsnew pic.twitter.com/bKTZ6RZs53
— Chris Chan (@chris89757) November 15, 2017
Bishan station is also facing delays @ChannelNewsAsia #smrt pic.twitter.com/sm36bRKdLS
— nicholasderoose (@nicholasderoose) November 15, 2017
@SMRT_Singapore wake up pls! Because we have woken up and are waiting for you to wake up so that we can go to work pic.twitter.com/F2cWhzN8h3
— cptslowyeo (@frozentrace) November 15, 2017
@SMRT_Singapore situation as at 0827 hrs. World Class ! Stop the excuses ! Resign ! pic.twitter.com/2NF7iIoBR3
https://twitter.com/amiraxbdullah/status/930594333887119360
Knew it, SMRT. Current sitrep: Longer travelling time between Farrer Rd and Kent Ridge. Bus services ONLY available at TPY. I kena chased out of a train that I waited for 15 mins. pic.twitter.com/8Wm1MHomSu
— Shahrul Nizam (@nizaMaster) November 15, 2017
https://twitter.com/zomgitsashok/status/930595892737982464
https://twitter.com/pohlim/status/930597804249989120
https://twitter.com/Kitosk/status/930599699257503744
Why need to get ZoukOut tickets when SMRT giving us the same experience ever so often?! pic.twitter.com/2178U9HS6f
— Jef Tan Yi Yang (@JefSUNBEAR) November 15, 2017
https://twitter.com/skylitmus/status/930600813805821952
https://twitter.com/grandekeesh/status/930601245982711808
@SMRT_Singapore [CCL] Stuck at Bishan pic.twitter.com/O3aOCabLTq
— Sasmito Adibowo (@SasmitoAdibowo) November 15, 2017
SMRT never fails to deliver /s pic.twitter.com/tpmDSzHYJi
— Nyjin (@Nyjin36) November 15, 2017
We commuters just have to take in and tolerate all those craps. No improvement at all. pic.twitter.com/GQPffMNiOy
— miakia (@miakia) November 15, 2017
@SMRT_Delays CCL trains from Harbourfront fully packed and delayed, cannot even get in. Avoid #harbourfrontstation at all costs guys! pic.twitter.com/jpc7jG2E8N
— Huda Aljunied (@huda_aljunied) November 15, 2017
https://twitter.com/eisen/status/930604280754593792
Srsly gotta reduce the fares tho @SMRT_Singapore @LTAsg. Can't have me spending $120 monthly for this crap pic.twitter.com/PjalDiNodV
— Hadi Abdul (@hadi_abd92) November 15, 2017
Aiman Amin posted a video of a CCL train that finally moved after staying put for five minutes.
Circle line train moving slowly after Buona vista after staying put for a good 5mins #smrt pic.twitter.com/8AWNWDGQAu
— Aiman Amin (@aimanam1n) November 15, 2017
Piss into the Iris, Lim Wei Chun, and The artist fomerly known as ShunfuMart posted a picture of EWL platform.
DAFUQ NOW @SMRT_Singapore ??? This is Pioneer?!? pic.twitter.com/0PAl6c5uD1
— Cloudywind the PNGer (@cloudywind) November 15, 2017
@SMRT_Singapore pic.twitter.com/UJLroZud32
— Lim WC (@mvp2005) November 15, 2017
https://twitter.com/StyleDragoon/status/930603945319284737
Thanks #SMRT for the morning breakdown…#CarLite Singapore am I right ? @YanzhangJayy @_shaojie @BendYeo pic.twitter.com/qaAu5CQVmQ
— [+][s] (@SynCPositive) November 15, 2017
Kai Ting, Yeo posted a picture of commuters in long lines at Boon Lay platform.
Long lines at Boon Lay #smrt #trainfault pic.twitter.com/HOBKYWPJWK
— Kaiting Yeo (@kaitingyeo) November 15, 2017
PK posted a picture at Buona Vista bus stop, showing the chaos.
@ChannelNewsAsia , 0939 hrs at bus stop outside Buona Vista station. Look at the chaos !!! pic.twitter.com/pUqeuYXNVT
Constant posted a video of situation inside the train.
so much for mass rapid transport 🙁 i stand until my legs gunna pass away @SMRT_Singapore pic.twitter.com/nKky9exu7u
— c☯️nstant (@bxlac) November 14, 2017
Hannah posted a video of the crowd at Serangoon (NEL and CCL interchange) at 7.30 am.
Video of the crowd at Serangoon (NEL-CCL interchange) at 7:30am this morning #smrt pic.twitter.com/pAO2fcG0J0
— Hannah テオ ハンナ (@te0h_) November 15, 2017
Some commuters reported that the Green Line, North-South Line (NSL) also experienced delay. However, no official announcement was made by SMRT on this line.
I think its happen to Red line too.
— Adris siaw wei (@adriswei) November 15, 2017
https://twitter.com/AndresPhilbert/status/930586676665106432
https://twitter.com/AndresPhilbert/status/930588242231017472
https://twitter.com/zypenguin/status/930592892527173632
I've been in the train from JE to nearing lakeside and it's been 20 mins! Not even 2 stops yet already delayed 20mins… so what are you talking about?! And why no acknowledgement of the massive delay on NSL?! It took twice as long to reach JE
— Ally (@throughalens88) November 15, 2017
https://twitter.com/J2meePok/status/930596482507354112
https://twitter.com/chanjeanie/status/930596530653822976
https://twitter.com/msfroggieee/status/930603458729713664
-
Opinion1 week ago
Who’s to blame for Singapore’s cost of living crisis? A demand for clarity and accountability
-
Politics2 weeks ago
Lee Hsien Loong to step down as PAP secretary-general after 20 years of leadership
-
Civil Society5 days ago
Over 10,000 sign petition urging Singapore to expedite recognition of the State of Palestine
-
Politics1 week ago
PM Wong calls for unity, warns of opposition risks ahead of election at PAP’s 70th anniversary
-
Comments1 week ago
Netizens criticise PM Wong for blaming opposition while PAP policies exacerbate inflationary pressures
-
Court Cases2 weeks ago
MinLaw addresses misuse of court processes amid Prof Ben Leong’s defamation case
-
Politics1 week ago
People’s Action Party elects members of its 38th Central Executive Committee
-
Comments2 weeks ago
Frustrated intern asks, ‘Is this how the Singapore workforce really is?’ after toxic HR encounter