By Leong Sze Hian

HDB affordable and always within reach of everyone?

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said in his rally speech,

“We built record number of new flats, delinked new flat prices from resale market and allowed singles to buy BTO. We want to help Singaporeans own their own homes, raise loving families and build strong communities. I will make sure every Singaporean family who is working can afford a HDB flat. We can do that.”

“A family earning $1,000 can afford a 2-room flat. Those who earn $2,000 can buy 3-room flat. And those who earn S$4,000 can afford a 4-room flat if they use their CPF to pay off 25-year loan. We will give families who can afford 2-room flats Step-Up Housing Grants to help them upgrade to 3-room flats. We will also extend grants so that a middle-income household will get up to S$20,000 more if they buy a 4-room flat.”

“We will monitor housing affordability closely and make sure that an HDB flat is always within reach.”

I also understand that he said that the poorest Singaporeans have an asset of an average value of $200,000 in an HDB flat.

What about those who can’t afford or not eligible for BTO?

The above paragraphs seems to be referring only to Singaporeans who can afford or are eligible to buy new BTO flats. What about the hundreds of thousands of Singaporeans in HDB rental flats, Interim Housing Scheme HDB flats, homeless shelters, the homeless, renting a room or a HDB flat in the open market, etc?

HDB is great and compassionate?

In this connection, I would like to refer to the article “HDB has not lost heart: Khaw” (Straits Times, Aug 16).

According to the publication “Housing Matters” :

It says that, “HDB houses 80% of all Singaporeans. It is the largest housing developer in Singapore.And a compassionate one too.”

Using an example of a Singaporean man who passed away suddenly while at work, leaving behind his non-Singaporean wife and 4 young Singapore children. Their hopes of moving into the new Build-to-Order flat in Choa Chu Kang were dashed by the freak accident. As the widow is a foreigner, the family was at risk of (a) having to move out of their rental flat, and (b) losing their BTO flat which the deceased had worked hard to buy.

HDB officers worked out a comprehensive housing arrangement for the family, allowing them to keep the BTO flat application and lowered their monthly rental fee.

Our guiding principle is always "Compassion" and we will consider all practical options. Our hearts especially go out to victims of circumstances.

Another example was a case where the flat owner and his wife had to stop work due to serious medical conditions which led to their defaulting on mortgage payments. HDB waived the minimum occupation period (MOP) and allowed the couple to sell off their flat and move in with their children which eased their financial burden and enabled them to focus on their medical treatment.

Minister for National Development, Khaw Boon Wan spoke of  an unfortunate case from his meet-the-people session.  A couple passed away suddenly and left their only child behind. The girl, in her teens was still schooling and financially incapable of keeping up with mortgage payments. HDB made a special exception to defer the mortgage payments until she starts to work, allowing the daughter to focus on school and not worry about the mortgage payments.

Stating the above cases as example, Mr Khaw says HDB will be as compassionate as it can to help victims of circumstances address their housing needs when tragedies strike.

Connection to article on Housing Matters

In this connection, I would like to ask how many of the 5,500 letters of appeal written by MPs of Ang Mo Kio GRC to the HDB in one year (2012), were successful? (“5,500 letters of appeal on HDB in 2012 in 1 GRC?“, Jan 17)

With 5,500 letters of appeal on HDB in one year in just one GRC, how many letters of appeal from Singaporeans were written for all the GRCs and SMCs? – About 99,000? (15 GRCs and 12 SMCs) and at what percentage were the appeals being successful?

In addition to these letters of appeal from MPs, I believe there may be tens of thousands of appeals to the HDB, either in writing or orally, which did not go through the MPs.

So, what percentage of the total number of appeals to the HDB were successful? Surely, disclosing the statistics will make Singaporeans even more proud of the HDB as “a  Compassionate Housing Developer”.

By the way, referring to the above example of the widow who was a foreigner. Does this example mean that even though a BTO flat has been purchased, it will normally be rescinded by the HDB if the Singaporean spouse dies, leaving behind a foreign spouse widow?

Also, does it mean that when the Singaporean spouse of a HDB rental flat dies, his foreign spouse will no longer be eligible to continue renting the HDB flat? If so, why do we have such policies? (“HDB: 18 appeals and still homeless“, Jun 11, 2011)

Through my volunteer work doing financial counseling for needy Singaporeans, I have come across thousands of cases over the last decade of volunteering.  Handling cases which Singaporeans who made repeated appeals to the HDB over their housing woes to no avail.

Referencing to Dr Ang Yong Guan’s facebook posting “Khaw quotes selectively an Economist article to run down users of FB”. As Dr Ang is a psychiatrist by speciality, perhaps selectivity may be a compulsive disorder.
Past articles on HDB issues.

Subscribe
Notify of
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
You May Also Like

Fair employment: One big shakespearean play?

By Leong Sze Hian I refer to the article “Job ads: What’s fair…

The link between POFMA, ISA, and all of us

by Jason Soo On Wednesday 8 May 2019, the Protection from Online…

SDP takes POFMA battle to court, files summons against Manpower Minister Josephine Teo

Following the Minister of Manpower Josephine Teo’s rejection of the Singapore Democratic…

凯发集团申请展延还债期限至明年4月30日

面对财务问题的本地上市水务公司凯发集团(Hyflux),获高庭批准,展延原本下月18日到期的还债期限,至明年4月30日。 高庭批准凯发把还债期限再展延四个月。其代表律师称,将在未来一、两个月,同各债权人商谈债务重组安排。 目前凯发债务高达29亿5000万元,该公司今年5月向高庭申请法院监督程序,以重组债务和业务。 高庭当时也批准集团的六个月的债务延期偿付令(moratorium),以免集团被起诉、接管产业和清盘。这项禁令原本在12月18日到期。 凯发集团创办人林爱莲,曾是新加坡企业界红人,2001年凯发成为本地首个上市的水净化公司。集团多次获奖、市值一度高达21亿元,股价超过两元。林爱莲甚至有“水皇后”美誉。 然而,她在不适当时机进军能源领域,使集团陷入财困。公司股价暴跌39巴仙。受到新加坡近年电力批发价疲软的冲击,大泉水电厂持续亏损,导致集团一个季度就亏损超过2000万元。 印尼财团收购凯发60巴仙股权 在上月,凯发宣布和印度尼西亚财团SM Investment(SMI)签署合作协议,财团注资5亿3000万元,收购凯发的60巴仙股权。 SMI由印尼三林集团和Medco集团组成。但在面对媒体提问,外国集团持股六成,是否会稀释凯发作为新加坡品牌的代表性,林爱莲曾指出“所有资产还在新加坡,她也还在,凯发仍视新加坡公司。” 而三林集团董事经理林逢生(Anthony Salim)则指出凯发在净水、电力以及废料转化能源(waste-to-energy)方面都有经验,不少业务与三林集团重叠。…