Mr Wong Kim Yin (Source: SP Group Facebook page).

Singapore Power CEO Wong Kim Yin appointed chairman of SkillsFuture Singapore

Singapore Power CEO Wong Kim Yin has been appointed chairman of SkillsFuture Singapore (SSG) with effect from 1 October, replacing his predecessor Mr Tan Pheng Hock, who will retire on 30 September after having filled the role since October 2016.

SkillsFuture Singapore (SSG) shares that Mr Wong is currently the chairman of SP PowerAssets, Singapore District Cooling and SP Digital Holdings, as well as the director of SP Services.

He serves as chairman of SSG’s committee for private education and is also a member of the board of governors at Singapore Polytechnic.

Mr Tan had helmed SSG since October 2016. He was appointed a member of the former Singapore Workforce Development Agency (WDA) board in 2005.

He was also chairman of the former Singapore Workforce Development Agency (WDA) from 2007 to 2016, prior to its restructuring into SSG and Workforce Singapore.

SSG stated that Mr Tan played a pivotal role in developing an integrated, high-quality continuing education and training system that is well-regarded internationally.

It said that during his term, he also led several major initiatives, including the development of the Singapore Workforce Skills Qualifications system, the Skills Programme for Upgrading and Resilience, the Continuing Education and Training Masterplans, and the development and implementation of key SkillsFuture initiatives.

Some examples of these SkillsFuture initiatives are SkillsFuture Credit, MySkillsFuture and SkillsFuture Series, the release said.

The authority also announced four new members who will join SSG’s 15-member board.

They are Mr Leong Keng Thai, deputy chief executive of international and corporate at the Info-communications Media Development Authority; Mr Mohamad Saiful Saroni, partner at PricewaterhouseCoopers; Lee Chee Koon, president and group CEO of CapitaLand; and Mr Russell Tham, president of new enterprise and ventures at Singapore Technologies Engineering.

Meanwhile, three members will retire from the board.

They are Mr Joe Sim, CEO of Parkway Pantai; Professor Tan Thiam Soon, president of the Singapore Institute of Technology; and Mr Soon Sze Meng, vice-president of business and international at Singtel.

SSG said, “The new board comprises members representing the public service, educational institutions, private sector and the unions.”