Progress Singapore Party unveils new leadership team as founding leaders step aside in major renewal effort

The Progress Singapore Party (PSP) announced major leadership changes on 5 July 2025, co-opting three new Central Executive Committee members while marking the retirement of founding figures including Dr Tan Cheng Bock, Hazel Poa, and S Nallakaruppan, as the party seeks to renew after GE2025.

Featured Image
Comments
Google News

The Progress Singapore Party (PSP) unveiled significant changes to its Central Executive Committee (CEC) on 5 July 2025, marking a key milestone in its efforts to revitalise and prepare for future challenges.

The party announced the co-option of three new members into its top leadership and the stepping down of founding figures, signalling a generational transition.

According to an official media release, PSP welcomed Sani Ismail, Lawrence Pek, and Stephanie Tan into the CEC. All three contested in the recent General Election (GE2025), representing West Coast-Jurong West GRC, Chua Chu Kang GRC, and Pioneer SMC respectively. Their appointments are part of the party’s deliberate move to inject new energy, fresh perspectives, and diverse experiences into its leadership.

These changes come in the wake of GE2025, where PSP reduced its contest from 24 seats in 2020 to 13 seats this year, covering two Group Representation Constituencies (GRCs) and four Single Member Constituencies (SMCs).

Lawrence Pek, Stephanie Tan and Sani Ismail

Despite the effort, the party failed to secure any seats, a result which Secretary-General Leong Mun Wai described as a “huge wake-up call.”

In his statement, Leong emphasised that the leadership renewal was an essential step forward, describing it as a “fresh start” for PSP. He outlined four main pillars for the party’s renewal: nurturing new leaders, connecting more deeply with Singaporeans on the ground, helping citizens better understand government policies, and strengthening the party’s online voice.

“We are intentionally bringing new energy into our leadership,” Leong said. “We've brought in three new CEC members who bring fresh ideas, different experiences, and lots of drive. This is part of a planned shift where our founding leaders will take on mentorship roles, guiding the next generation and making sure our core values stay strong.”

The renewal also saw the retirement of Chairman Dr Tan Cheng Bock, First Vice-Chairperson Hazel Poa, and Treasurer S Nallakaruppan from the CEC. All three have been foundational to PSP’s growth since its founding in 2019.

Dr Tan, in his message titled “Passing the torch with confidence and hope,” announced that he would step down as Chairman but continue to support the party as Adviser.

He shared that he had never viewed leadership as a permanent position but as an opportunity to serve. “When I started the Progress Singapore Party, it was never about personal ambition,” he wrote. “It was about standing up for a better Singapore.”

Dr Tan also praised Secretary-General Leong Mun Wai’s courage and clarity in leading the party forward and expressed his trust in the new leadership team. “Leadership must be earned, not inherited, and I trust that our new leaders will chart their own path with boldness and care,” he added.

Leong, in turn, thanked Dr Tan, Poa, and Nallakaruppan for their foundational contributions. “We are standing on their shoulders, and we are committed to build on what they have achieved,” he said, acknowledging their role in establishing the party’s core identity since 2019.

Among the new leaders, Sani Ismail shared his excitement on social media, describing his appointment as part of a “new chapter” for PSP. “I am honoured and excited to join this team,” he wrote.

He reaffirmed PSP’s commitment to serve all Singaporeans, stating, “Real change doesn’t start in Parliament — it starts in our homes, our communities, and in conversations like the ones we’re having now.”

Sani added that he would continue advocating for residents' concerns, particularly around safety standards in public estates, leveraging his expertise to push for improvements. “Let’s keep moving forward, together,” he concluded.

Stephanie Tan also shared her reflections publicly, expressing gratitude for the opportunity to join the CEC. “Leading up to GE2025, during the campaigning period, and also after the GE, I met many young Singaporeans who expressed their concerns about various issues that matter to them,” she wrote.

She added that these interactions motivated her to continue serving and to represent the views of the younger generation within the party.

“I hope to represent the views and concerns of the younger generation in the formulation of our Party’s long-term direction, not just for the next five years, but for however long it takes for PSP to make the changes that you and I wish for,” she said.

Stephanie further expressed her hope of inspiring more young Singaporeans to contribute actively to nation-building. “I hope to continue inspiring more young Singaporeans to think beyond themselves and realise the potential they have to make our country better,” she added.

Pek also shared his reflections on his new role, acknowledging that joining the CEC is a “tall order.” In his message, he emphasised his commitment to supporting Leong in strengthening the party’s internal management structures, clarifying scopes, and sharpening operational systems to better support PSP’s mission.

Pek noted that he would also focus on talent acquisition and fundraising to ensure the party’s sustainability. On the ground, he pledged to continue serving residents in Tengah, adopting a distinct engagement approach tailored to the estate’s forward-looking design, which features car-lite urban planning, pet-friendly amenities, and extensive green corridors.

Beyond leadership changes, PSP also announced adjustments to other key roles within the CEC. A’bas bin Kasmani has assumed the role of Chairman, while Anthony Neo was appointed as Treasurer.

The new leadership team includes Organising Secretary Phang Yew Huat, Deputy Organising Secretary Soh Zheng Long, Women’s Wing Head Wendy Low, and Youth Wing Head Samuel Lim.

Leong elaborated on the party’s strategy to engage citizens directly despite lacking parliamentary representation. “Even though we face limits with facilities and resources since we are not elected MPs or grassroots advisors, these challenges won't stop us,” he said. “We will find new and creative ways to reach out to Singaporeans on the ground.”

He stressed that PSP would continue helping Singaporeans understand government policies in practical terms, from the rising cost of groceries to issues affecting CPF savings. “Our goal is to move the conversation beyond just pointing out flaws to giving a full picture of the challenges and our proposed, workable solutions,” he said.

In addition, Leong reiterated the importance of strengthening the party’s online presence, stating that digital channels would be leveraged to keep Singaporeans informed and to hold the government accountable through public discourse.

Importantly, Leong clarified that PSP does not seek radical upheaval but rather meaningful, sustainable changes that protect Singapore’s strengths. “PSP is not a party that seeks radical change,” he emphasised.

“We are fighting for change that preserves what is good about Singapore while addressing the big, long-term issues facing the country that need long-term solutions, not temporary ‘plaster’ solutions.”

Dr Tan’s closing message also resonated with party members and supporters. He urged them to stay united and remain focused on service to the nation. “As we enter this next chapter, I ask for your unity, your trust, and your continued dedication,” he wrote. “The road ahead may be long, and sometimes rough, but I believe PSP will grow stronger. Because we are not driven by personal gain — we are driven by love for our country.”

As PSP moves into this next phase with a renewed leadership team, the focus will be on rebuilding trust with voters, developing future leaders, and maintaining relevance in Singapore’s dynamic political landscape.

The next two years will be critical in demonstrating whether PSP’s efforts at renewal and community engagement will translate into stronger support at the ballot box and a more prominent voice in national discourse.

The Central Executive Committee of the Progress Singapore Party
1. Chairman: A’bas bin Kasmani
2. Secretary-General: Leong Mun Wai
3. Treasurer: Anthony Neo Woon Cheem
4. Organising Secretary: Phang Yew Huat
5. Deputy Organising Secretary: Soh Zheng Long
6. Head, Women’s Wing: Low Wei Ling, Wendy
7. Head, Youth Wing: Lim Ngee Tong, Samuel
8. Head, Internal Comms: Joseph Wong Chee Fong
9. Member: Jonathan Tee Kow Loke
10. Member: Lawrence Pek
11. Member: Sani Ismail