Source: Chee Soon Juan / Facebook

The Secretary-General of Singapore Democratic Party (SDP) Dr Chee Soon Juan announced that the operations of his café, Orange & Teal, will be temporarily suspended during Phase 2 (Heightened Alert), barely a month since its opening.

Since no dine-ins are permitted at F&B establishments during Phase 2 (Heightened Alert), Dr Chee said in a Facebook post on Thursday (22 July) that they will be offering takeaway orders to patrons instead.

He added that no staff will be laid off during this period.

“At Orange & Teal, we’re barely a month old and we have to suspend operations. But we will not let any of our staff go. Like others, we’ll pivot to offering takeaway food. We’re open from today (11am to 8pm) for folks to come in and order lunch, dinner and everything in between for takeaways,” he said.

In the beginning of June, the chief of SDP announced that he will be opening his own café at Rochester Mall, along with his wife Dr Huang Chih-Mei. The eatery officially opened its door for guests on 25 June.

In Thursday’s Facebook post, Dr Chee pointed out that the café will serve its beef brisket on Friday, instead of the usual Thursday as the sudden imposition of no dining-in rule has caused them to make the changes.

Given the new circumstances, Dr Chee has urged the people of Singapore to continue supporting the café until it will be able to open again in August.

“O&T was set up to have people dine in and experience the ambience. It’s a blow now that you can’t dine in. But that’s ok, we’ll adapt and continue to grow even in the most challenging circumstances. Like the SDP, pah see buay zhao,” he said.

He added, “So please do your part to keep F&B joints across the island to stay afloat. Order in or buy takeaway. If we rally together in such trying times, we can help minimise pain for workers at F&B joints, especially the mom-and-pop stalls at hawker centres, Give them your support.”

“The decision-making process by the young ministers are lamentable”

In the post, Dr Chee also lamented the decision-making process of the ministers.

“After bouncing around, relaxing-then-tightening, opening-then-closing F&B outlets – all this within a month – the govt has now stopped dining-in for the next few weeks,” he said.

He continued, “The decision-making process by these young ministers are lamentable. But that’s a discussion for a future occasion.”

He went on to note that many outlets in Singapore will not be able to handle the “withering measures”, forcing owners to shut down their establishments and employees be laid off.

On Tuesday (20 July), the Multi-Ministry Taskforce (MTF) announced that it will rollback the country’s control measures to Phase 2 (Heightened Alert) due to the growing number of COVID-19 community cases.

Phase 2 (Heightened Alert) kick starts from Thursday (22 July) through 18 August 2021 and will supersede those that were introduced on 19 July 2021.

Just a month earlier (10 June), the Government said that it will return to Phase 3 (Heightened Alert) of its reopening from 14 June onwards after the number of community cases saw a reduction.

Subscribe
Notify of
8 Comments
Newest
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
You May Also Like

MOT and PA: 192,000 needy households have benefitted from our $30 free transport vouchers

The Ministry of Transport and People’s Association issued a joint statement yesterday…

美国现首起狗狗确诊感染冠状病毒

美国出现首起狗狗确诊感染冠状病毒19病例。 据全国广播公司(NBC)4月28日报道,居住在北卡罗莱纳州(North Carolina)杜克大学(Duke University)儿科教授麦克利恩(Heather McLean)与丈夫及儿子证实确诊。 而当局则派员到家中样本抽取包括两只宠物犬与家猫,经测试后,其中一只宠物犬对病毒检测呈阳性反应,成为美国首只感染冠状病毒的宠物犬。 尽管它是美国首只感染病毒的宠物犬,但已非先例。 早前,香港也曾出现感染新冠病毒的宠物犬,据港媒报道,狗狗已于3月份死亡,但因主人不愿让人解剖,死因不明。 除了狗狗,美国也曾出现老虎确诊感染了新冠病毒,是全美国首例确诊动物感染新冠病毒的病例。 据《BBC中文网》报道,确诊感染的老虎为4岁的马来亚雌虎,叫纳迪亚。 动物园官方称,纳迪亚和另外3只老虎、3只非洲狮出现干咳和食欲下降症状,经过检测,纳迪亚的结果为阳性。 美国疾病控制和预防中心(CDC)的指引提到,目前无证据显示动物是传播新型冠状病毒的主要途径,但呼吁民众不要让宠物与家庭外人士或动物接触。…

SBS Transit requests its M’sian bus captains to stay in S’pore for two weeks following M’sia’s travel restrictions

With the recent travel restrictions being imposed in Malaysia, SBS Transit Ltd…

Happy 25th Birthday, AWARE!

Photos and text by Terry Xu The 25th AWARE Anniversary was celebrated…