The Workers’ Party’s (WP) most recent list of appointed office-bearers sees its younger members taking on new roles following a Central Executive Committee (CEC) meeting on Tuesday (5 January).

WP announced the appointments on Wednesday.

Sengkang GRC MP He Ting Ru, 37, replaced her husband Terence Tan as one of two deputy organising secretaries.

Mr Tan, 38, who contested in last year’s general election under the East Coast GRC banner, is no longer a WP CEC member.

The other deputy organising secretary is Mr Tan’s GE2020 running mate Kenneth Foo, 43.

Sengkang GRC MP Raeesah Khan, 27, was elected deputy treasurer.

Ms Khan is preceded by former Punggol East SMC MP Lee Li Lian, 42. Ms Lee, however, has stepped down from the CEC.

Aljunied GRC MP Gerald Giam, 43, remains treasurer of the party. Mr Giam was also elected as head of the WP’s policy research team.

Sengkang GRC MP Jamus Lim, 44, was made deputy head of the said policy research team.

Nicole Seah, 34, — who was on the East Coast GRC team in last year’s general election — took the baton from Aljunied GRC MP Leon Perera, 51, as the party’s Youth Wing President.

Mr Perera now heads WP’s media team, replacing Non-Constituency MP Daniel Goh, 48.

Sengkang GRC MP Louis Chua, 33, was elected deputy head of the party’s media team.

Leader of the Opposition Pritam Singh, 44, was re-elected unopposed as WP secretary-general in an internal election on 27 December.

His fellow Aljunied GRC MPs Sylvia Lim, 55 — also re-elected unopposed — and Faisal Manap, 45, remain party chair and vice-chair respectively.

Hougang MP Dennis Tan, 50, returned as organising secretary.

Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
You May Also Like

SDP’s climate change policy paper: Taking urgent measures towards a smart and green future

On 8 February, the Singapore Democratic Party (SDP) launched its climate change…

WP releases “Make Your Vote Count” publicity video for upcoming General Election

The Workers’ Party (WP) on Wednesday (24 June) released a publicity video…

PM Lee reminds party members to be close to all segments of society and that their duty is to serve the public

Secretary-General of People’s Action Party (PAP), Mr Lee Hsien Loong in his…

Leong Mun Wai and Hazel Poa will step down as PSP’s leaders to focus on NCMP positions

Leong Mun Wai and Hazel Poa from the Progress Singapore Party (PSP)…