Sengkang MPs elected to Workers’ Party CEC in internal election

Sengkang group representation constituency (GRC) Members of Parliament (MPs) He Ting Ru, Dr Jamus Lim, Raeesah Khan and Louis Chua Kheng Wee are among individuals newly elected to the Workers’ Party’s Central Executive Committee (CEC), said the party on Sunday (27 December).

In this year’s general election, WP bagged 10 elected seats in Parliament, most notably having won Sengkang — the newest GRC.

Leader of the Opposition Pritam Singh and his fellow Aljunied GRC MP Sylvia Lim retain their positions in the party as secretary-general and chair respectively. Both were elected unopposed.

Mr Singh was previously elected as party’s Secretary-General in April 2018 after his predecessor Low Thia Khiang stepped down from the position.

Mr Low has been re-elected as a member of the CEC.

Mr Singh told reporters today that it is crucial for WP to re-elect experienced members such as Mr Low, the latter of whom has been with the party since the early 1980s.

“He has got a rich and long history of political contests in Singapore. (He knows) what the realities of an opposition party are, what can be done, what can’t be done,” he said.

“I think the younger members will benefit tremendously from that input, so I’m particularly pleased for Mr Low’s continued membership and participation in the CEC,” Mr Singh added.

23 party cadres vied for the 12 spots of the CEC.

The 23 candidates include the remaining MPs and a mix of veteran cadres and fresh faces.

Former Aljunied GRC MP Chen Show Mao stepped down. Dr Daniel Goh, who previously served as a Non-Constituency MP, stepped down from the party’s leadership due to health reasons.

WP in a statement today said that its new CEC, “with a diverse balance of experienced and newer members, has taken office and started work with immediate effect”.

The list of newly elected WP CEC members are as follows:

  • Mr Louis Chua Kheng Wee, 33;
  • Mr Foo Seck Guan Kenneth, 43;
  • Mr Gerald Giam Yean Song, 43;
  • Ms He Ting Ru, 37;
  • Ms Raeesah Khan, 27;
  • Dr Jamus Jerome Lim, 44;
  • Mr Low Thia Khiang, 64;
  • Mr Muhamad Faisal Bin Abdul Manap, 45;
  • Mr Leon Perera, 50;
  • Mr Png Eng Huat, 59;
  • Ms Nicole Rebecca Seah Xue Ling, 34;
  • Mr Dennis Tan Lip Fong, 50.
Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments