Flags of southeast asia countries on blue sky background, AEC, ASEAN Economic Community from Shutterstock.com

Singapore is hosting the 51st ASEAN Foreign Ministers’ Meeting (AMM) and Related Meetings from Monday (30 July) to Saturday (4 August).

In a press release on Saturday (28 July), it is announced that Minister for Foreign Affairs Dr Vivian Balakrishnan will chair the 51st AMM, 19th ASEAN Plus Three (APT) Foreign Ministers Meeting (FMM), 8th East Asia Summit (EAS) FMM, and 25th ASEAN Regional Forum (ARF), as well as co-chair the ASEAN-China PMC in Singapore’s capacity as ASEAN-China country coordinator.

Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MFA) states that the ASEAN Foreign Ministers (FMs) will take stock of progress in regional cooperation at the 51st AMM and chart the way forward towards implementing the ASEAN Leaders Vision for a Resilient and Innovative ASEAN.

“They will also discuss how to further strengthen ASEAN Centrality and unity, review ASEAN’s external relations, and exchange views on regional and international issues,” the ministry added.

At the PMCs, MFA noted that the ASEAN FMs will meet their counterparts from ASEAN’s Dialogue Partners (namely Australia, Canada, China, the European Union, India, Japan, New Zealand, the Republic of Korea, Russian Federation, and the United States) to discuss both ongoing and future cooperation.

The ministry added that the ASEAN FMs will also engage their counterparts at the APT FMM, EAS FMM, and ARF on key regional and international developments and the evolving regional architecture.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments