Ash Tong / Guest Writer

I have always taken great discomfort, when MSM and biased marketing talk always refer to the pricing of new flats as “Discount to the market” or “Cheaper than comparative condominiums in the area’.

The Ang Mo Kio and Bishan projects are priced at above $400,000 for a new 4 room flat, applicant for these projects are subjected to the $8,000-income cap. A simple break down of the math.

Gross Income: $8000

CPF: $1600

CPF into OA for housing needs: $1082.56

Nett Cash: $6400

4 room Natura Loft project in Bishan: 465k

Monthly installment based on 30 years 2.6% calculation: $1861.38

Hence each family would have to top up $778.82 into their CPF for their housing each month, which makes up to 12 per cent of their disposable income. If you change the calculations for a 20-year repayment, the percentage of their disposable income used to top their CPF moves into the 20 per cent range.

Ideally, all applicants for these projects would have a perfect gross income of 8k, and the flats would be affordable. However, often couples with incomes below 8k, might be unsuitably stretched, by buying such flats.

As a side note, it should be no surprise that this project was awarded to the highest tender.

CPF housing grant for family living within 2km are only eligible for DBSS projects, and additional housing grants are only eligible for families who earn below a $4,000 gross income. Given the number of DBSS projects that have been released in the past year, it defeats the purpose of encouraging families to stay at close proximity as it comes with a huge price because these projects cost 400k and upwards. I do not recall any Non-DBSS projects in mature estates released in the past year.

The additional housing grants equates to lip service as no sane couple could afford a DBSS project with a 4k gross income.

All other new flats are not eligible for any grants as they are sold, “at a great discount”. The argument would not hold, when we look deeper into the figures; e.g. a new Toa Payoh Central Horizon flat cost up to 550k for a new 5 room flat, using the PSM or PSF to compare with resale flats will show that these flats are not priced at discount at all.

Now lets not be choosy as Singaporeans, HDB is trying their best to give us a home.

So we turn to non-mature estates like Punggol. Yet again, we’re subjected to manipulated pricing.

I refer to the latest BTO project, Punggol Arcadia offered by HDB.

In a similar location just across the street, Coralinus/Treelodge@ponggol BTO project, indicative prices taken from October Half yearly Sale:

In another location with similar proximity to Ponggol MRT, released May2008:

These 3 projects all hold the same proximity to Ponggol MRT station, and are all touted as premium projects. However we should question why the indicative price range has risen from between 7 per cent to 14 per cent? The internal floor area has all but gone up by less than 2 per cent comparatively. I have only drawn the comparison for 4 room flats, but similar directional trend can be noticed in 3 and 5 room offerings as well.

According to news reports, commodities have gone down, demand for construction might slowdown hence might require government reversal in placing some infrastructure projects on hold; so why the increase in prices for such flats?

Minister for National Development, Mr Mah Bow Tan, once said something along these lines. “Instead of building in sync with population growth, which resulted in several excess of flats, we shall now build in sync with demand, hence the BTO model.”

Doesn’t that mean demand will always exceed supply; hence the price floors/equilibrium prices for new flats will be artificial?

Can these directives by HDB be considered duress?

Quoted from their press release:

The above measures will encourage applicants to consider their options carefully before participating in a HDB sale exercise. They will also help to minimize non-selection of HDB flats by applicants who repeatedly participate in sales exercises and thus divert HDB’s time and resources from those with urgent housing needs.”

This press release was in reference, to the change of rules for balloting of flats. However in the latest October half yearly sale, a 20-year old Bedok flat was also offered in the ballot. Half yearly sales do not allow applicants to choose the indicative area they prefer, nor do they allocate married child priority since applicants are unable to indicate the areas they prefer.

So one does wonder, if the applicant whose family nucleus is in the west, is invited to select a flat and this particular Bedok flat is the last choice available, does one fault him for non-selection?

We are made to pay even for the basic automated electronic process of balloting, yet HDB’s stand seems to infer that if we need a house we should take what they offer. As mentioned, we do not pay a discount, and HDB does make a profit from selling the flats, so why should we be penalized for being selective when we buy our flats?

A home to an ordinary Singaporean like me should be a nest of warmth where I return to my family every night, yet it seems to have been turned into a monopolistic business model, with minimal sense of ownership given.

I do also wonder what HDB’s urgent housing needs refer to, as all I see is an unnecessary spate of DBSS and overpriced projects.

——

Subscribe
Notify of
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
You May Also Like

The death of a serviceman that shook a nation

By Terry Xu Every night without fail, I get to watch news…

马国行管令延长 本地公交业者续为马国员工提供住宿与津贴

马国早前宣布,将延长行动管制令至下月14日,对此,我国人力部也宣布在3月31日后,将不会提供临时住宿支援,敦促雇主应为马籍员工寻找长期住宿。 本地公共交通业者则决定,继续为那些在本地工作的马国员工提供酒店住宿和日常津贴。 职总助理秘书长兼全国交通工友联合会执行秘书杨益财,今日(27日)在脸书发文表示,随着马国行管令延长,相信许多在我国公共交通领域工作的马籍员工,会开始担忧自身的生活。 为了解决马国员工的担忧,安心工作,本地公交业者一致决定为他们延长酒店住宿和每日津贴,让他们能够放心,继续专注在工作上。 杨益财表示,对于业者的决定感到相当欣慰,也希望他们能够一直努力工作,保持我国的交通服务运营。 此外,杨益财也表示,为了继续支持公共交通服务员工,全岛属下的食堂自这周起,将会对会员推出两元特价套餐。 杨益财表示,自马国行管令实施以来,该套餐已经售出逾两万套,获得热烈回响,因此上述套餐服务也会延长。 与此同时,工会也会持续保持食堂的安全与清洁,确保人员间安全距离和食堂的清洁。

【冠状病毒19】包括两名幼童 7月19病例无症状病例达13起

我国昨日(7月19日)新增冠状病毒19确诊病例中,有五起入境病例都没有出现症状,包括两名分别从印度和阿塞拜疆回国的本地男童。 卫生部文告指出,昨日新增病例多达257起,其中包括五起入境病例和八起本地病例。然而这13起病例中,只有一名53岁的本地女子出现感染症状。曾到卓源东路的回利阁宿舍(Toh Guan Dormitory)上班的本地女子,日前因出现急性呼吸道感染症状寻医,接受检测后确诊。 境外输入病例的五人目前已接获居家通知,并在隔离期间接受检测,包括了自阿萨拜疆回国的本地男童(1岁)、自印度回国的男童(5岁)及其直系亲属的印度籍女子(26岁)、持工作准证的菲律宾籍女子(38岁),以及自印度回国的永久居民男子(29岁)。 此外,卫生部也公布了新增病例曾到访的地点,包括盛港一带的一间健身房,以及白沙浮娱乐广场(Bugis+)的FilmGarde电影院。 卫生部于昨日的文告中,公布14个新增的确诊病患曾到访地点,但提醒民众,无需特意回避到访相关地点。当局也已通知和确诊病患有亲密接触者,并促请曾于相同时段出现在相关的民众提高警惕。若出现急性呼吸道感染症状、或发烧、或失去味觉或嗅觉,请迅速求医,并告知医生曾到访的地点。 新增确诊病例曾到访地点和时段如下: 7月6日早上9时35分至10时30分:太阳广场(Sun Plaza)的职总平价超市 7月7日上午10时至11时20分:义顺忠邦城湿巴刹与熟食中心 7月8日早上9时20分至10时:海军部村庄熟食中心…

Company fined $190,000 for fatal accident during tree cutting works

Sin Eng Cleaning Services Pte Ltd was fined $190,000 on Tuesday (24…