Leong Mun Wai appointed Progress Singapore Party’s Secretary General

Leong Mun Wai appointed Progress Singapore Party’s Secretary General

The Progress Singapore Party (PSP) announced on Tuesday that Mr Leong Mun Wai has been appointed as the party’s Secretary General, succeeding Mr Francis Yuen, who did not contest in the Central Executive Committee (CEC) election.

Mr Leong, who is currently a Non-constituency Member of Parliament (NCMP), will be supported by Nadarajah Loganathan as the First Assistant Secretary-General and Dr Ang Yong Guan as the Second Assistant Secretary-General.

PSP’s Chairman, Mr Tan Cheng Bock, will remain in his position, and Ms Hazel Poa, who is also a NCMP, has been appointed as Vice-chairman.

In the party’s press release, Dr Tan said, “With nine returned and five new CEC members, we have a good mix of continuity and fresh minds to bring the party forward,” while Mr Leong expressed his excitement in leading the party into the next General Election and building on Francis Yuen’s work.

The CEC election also saw two additional members co-opted, Lim Cher Hong and Muhammad Taufik Bin Supan, PSP’s candidates for Pioneer SMC and Nee Soon GRC, respectively.

Together with the 12 members elected on March 26th, 2023, PSP’s new CEC now has a total of 14 members.

The appointment of Mr Leong as Secretary General comes after Mr Yuen’s resignation, citing his business roles overseas as the reason for his decision to step down. He added that it is crucial for the PSP to have a full-time leader to lead the party into the next election.

The office bearers are as follows:

1. Chairman: Dr Tan Cheng Bock
2. Vice-Chairman: Hazel Poa
3. Secretary-General: Leong Mun Wai
4. First Assistant Secretary-General: Nadarajah Loganathan
5. Second Assistant Secretary-General: Dr Ang Yong Guan
6. Treasurer: Peggie Chua
7. Assistant Treasurer: Lim Cher Hong

The other CEC members are:
8. A’bas bin Kasmani
9. Harish Pillay
10. Khoo Poh Tiong Jeffrey
11. Muhammad Taufik Bin Supan
12. Phang Yew Huat
13. Tan Chika
14. Wendy Low Wei Ling


Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments