Malaysia enthrones new king in lavish customary oath-taking ceremony

Malaysia enthrones new king in lavish customary oath-taking ceremony

In a lavish ceremony full of customs and centuries of tradition, the Malaysian 15th king, Sultan Muhammad V (47), dressed in gold-colored traditional Malay formal wear, took the oath of office in the Istana Negara in Kuala Lumpur today (13 Dec).

The Sultan of Perak, Sultan Nazrin Shah, also took the oath of office as the Timbalan Yang di-Pertuan Agong.

Bernama reported that their Majesties were elected by the Conference of Rulers at its 243rd (Special) Meeting at Istana Negara on 14 October, and will reign for five years from today.

The ceremony, characterized by honor guards and Islamic prayers, was broadcasted through the televisions nationally and attended by Malaysian Prime Minister Najib Razak and hundreds of guests decked out in Islamic finery.

The ceremonies at the Balairong Seri (throne room) began with the 244th (Special) Meeting of the Conference of Rulers held specially for the signing of the instruments of office and the taking of oath by their majesties.The Sultan of Selangor, Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah acted as Chair of the Special Meeting.

After the signing of the documents, the Keeper of the Rulers’ Seal, Datuk Syed Danial Syed Ahmad, presented the oath of office document to Sultan Muhammad V who read out the oath of office of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong and signed the document.

The oath of office document was also signed by the Sultan of Terengganu, Sultan Mizan Zainal Abidin, and the Raja of Perlis, Tuanku Syed Sirajuddin Putra Jamalullail, as witnesses.

The ceremonies then continued with Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak, flanked by Datuk Paduka Maharaja Lela, Maj Gen Datuk Md Tajri Alwi, and his assistant, Azuan Effendy Zairakithnaini, presenting the instruments of proclamation of office to be signed by the Yang di-Pertuan Agong and Timbalan Yang di-Pertuan Agong.

All nine Malay Rulers or their representatives and three Yang Dipertuas Negeri have attended the ceremonies.

Malaysia’s sultans is an ancestry from Malay sultanates of the 15th century, the king is signified as Yang di-Pertuan Agong, or ‘He Who Is Made Lord’.

Sultan Muhammad V succeeds Sultan Abdul Halim Mu’adzam Shah from the northern state of Kedah (now 89), who was king previously in the 1970s. He was the first person to hold the position twice.

After the ceremony, PM Najib led a delegation of Cabinet ministers and other VIPs for an audience with their majesties.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments