No Result
View All Result

Concrete facade nearly toppled on four storey Tampine HDB block, no one hurt

by Martha Soezean
26/09/2016
in Investigations & Inquiries, Property
Reading Time: 3 mins read

photo: channelnewsasia.com

A concrete facade at a four-storey HDB block along Tampines Street 23 was unseated and fortunately did not drop down from the top floor. No one was hurt in the incident that happened on Sunday morning, 25 September.

The collapsed structure functions as a sun shield for a unit on the fourth floor of Block 201E.

CNA reported the owner of the HDB building block, the Tampines Town Council, has been directed by the Building and Construction Authority (BCA) to engage a professional engineer to advise on the necessary procedure to remove the relocated sun breaker, and to conduct an investigation and recommendation of permanently rebuilt works.

Member of Parliament for Tampines GRC Cheng Li Hui said, an engineer and safety officer have assessed the situation and concluded that the main building structural integrity is not affected by the incident.

A sun shield below which hold the falling structure, on the third floor, was also damaged during the fall. Ms Cheng said the structure will not be removed on Sunday as it may not be safe to do so, “It’s still quite attached, so we will be building a proper platform and we will be looking at removing it over the next week.”

HDB and town council officers used some cables and a net to hold up the sun breaker. The area was enclosed.

Minister for the Environment and Water Resources, Masagos Zulkifli, who is also the MP for Tampines GRC, wrote on his Facebook, “.. on transit from NY in Frankfurt and alarmed when friends shared the news on the concrete structure that gave way in Tampines. Relieved that no one’s hurt… Currently HDB, BCA, and TTC are investigating the matter. Will be working with the relevant authorities on this when I’m back tomorrow.”

Others also commented on the news posted in CNA’s Facebook, some are quoted below.

• Felicia Loh This need to be investigated thoroughly…..not acceptable for such case happen again….It will kills.
  • Hwee Kuan Do check the below one too. As it had hit by the fallen one and also have been holding on or rested by the fallen one for hours.
  • Ranger Chua The minister in charge had already left this world
  • Suresh Kumar How come they did not use steel to connect the joins? Seems like concrete glue being used to join the sun shade concrete. Is this how BCA approve construction in Singapore?
  • Kai Yuan Seah Yes. U got a problem gahmen don’t care
  • BryantJaejoong Ong This wasn’t the original design to have this structure to have in this HDB, this was the add-on structure a few year ago, that was why it doesn’t have any steel connect the joint.
  • Suresh Kumar BryantJaejoong Ong: That should not be a case, right? Even its build after a few years ago, they should have use metal or bolt & nut method. It doesn’t seem to be done that way. Look like sloppy design.
  • Suresh Kumar Kai Yuan Seah: I don’t have a problem with my government. It’s something you need to figure out your problem.
  • Lim Bee Wat not only need connect with rebar, they also need chemical glue to fully support. This is what we called the loop hole…someone wants to cut cost find cheap cheap sub con…just as we know..u pay peanut u get monkeys
  • Kok Joo Low Fast response for a Sunday. Great job.
  • Benson Fong Yow Fook Because of danger . If not who care .
  • Subihan Md Zain Now the focus on HDB.
  • Ong Gerald If this one can give way…how about the rest?
  • Gerard Tan Cheaper, better, faster… That’s why like that la…
  • Dahlan Abdullah If earthquake in cinapura abis liao all HDB collapses like dominos
  • Max Lim These is an upgraded project?
For just US$7.50 a month, sign up as a subscriber on The Online Citizen Asia (and enjoy ads-free experience on our site) to support our mission to transform TOC into an alternative mainstream press.

Related Posts

Family of student killed in accident involving retired police officer, calls for transparency from Indonesian police
Indonesia

Family of student killed in accident involving retired police officer, calls for transparency from Indonesian police

04/02/2023
【财政预算案2021】2020年预算赤字达649亿元 占国内生产总值13.9%
AFP

China’s mega-rich move their wealth, and partying, to Singapore

04/02/2023
2024 Olympic torch relay to start in Marseille
AFP

03/02/2023
India’s Adani shares plunge again after stock sale cancelled
AFP

India’s Adani denies rise due to Modi as shares fall again

03/02/2023
TotalEnergies says Adani exposure ‘limited’ at US$3.1 bn
AFP

03/02/2023
India’s finance minister says markets ‘well regulated’ after Adani storm
AFP

03/02/2023
Subscribe
Connect withD
Login
I allow to create an account
When you login first time using a Social Login button, we collect your account public profile information shared by Social Login provider, based on your privacy settings. We also get your email address to automatically create an account for you in our website. Once your account is created, you'll be logged-in to this account.
DisagreeAgree
Notify of
Connect withD
I allow to create an account
When you login first time using a Social Login button, we collect your account public profile information shared by Social Login provider, based on your privacy settings. We also get your email address to automatically create an account for you in our website. Once your account is created, you'll be logged-in to this account.
DisagreeAgree
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Latest posts

04/02/2023
【财政预算案2021】2020年预算赤字达649亿元 占国内生产总值13.9%

China’s mega-rich move their wealth, and partying, to Singapore

04/02/2023

03/02/2023
India’s Adani shares plunge again after stock sale cancelled

India’s Adani denies rise due to Modi as shares fall again

03/02/2023

03/02/2023

03/02/2023
A man can be sentenced to death by a testimony of another, but CPIB finds it hard to prosecute with mountain of evidence and self-confession?

03/02/2023

Myanmar junta imposes tough new measures on resistance strongholds

03/02/2023

Trending posts

Former Singaporean shares change of life in Australia with annual pay of S$80,000 as a plumber

by Yee Loon
30/01/2023

They have done a fine job of confusing us about the jobs situation

by Augustine Low
01/02/2023

Adani’s brother runs SG company and registers as director with local ID

by Correspondent
03/02/2023

Singapore warns slower economic growth in 2023

Less than 1 in 10 jobs created in first three quarters of 2022 went to Singaporeans?

by Leong Szehian
28/01/2023

Earning only S$400 a month, delivery-rider turned hawker threw in the towel after two years of running a rojak stall

by Yee Loon
26/01/2023

Excessively charging for an essential need, and calling it affordable because people still can pay for it?

by Terry Xu
31/01/2023

September 2016
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »

The Online Citizen is a regional online publication based in Taiwan and formerly Singapore’s longest-running independent online media platform.

Navigation

• Editorial
  • Commentaries
  • Opinion
  • Politics
  • Community

Support

• Contact Us
  • Letter submission
  • Membership subscription

Follow Us

• Facebook