Malaysia GE15: PH gained 61 seats as of 2am; BN faces biggest defeat in coalition’s history

MALAYSIA — According to Malaysia Election Commission (EC) official website, as of 2 am Sunday, the country biggest opposition coalition Pakatan Harapan (PH) has already gained 61 seats in the 15th Malaysian General Election (GE15), while BN falls far behind with only 26 seats secured.

The three major political coalitions,  Barisan National (BN), Perikatan National (PN) and Pakatan Harapan(PH), have contested 222 parliamentary seats.

Malaysia’s 8th Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin, led Perikatan Nasional (PN) in contesting a total of 149 parliamentary seats.

Currently, the coalition has won 40 seats while PN ally PAS (Malaysian Islamic Party) has swept all 22 seats the party contested.

It is believed that the PN coalition will be able to gain a simple majority together with its allying political parties.

PN chairman Muhyiddin successfully defeated his PH and BN opponents and defended his seat in Pagoh with 10,007 majority votes. While PAS president Abdul Hadi Awang won his seat in Marang with landslide majority votes of 41,729.

After the “Sheraton Move” in 2020, Muhyiddin led BERSATU to withdraw from PH, joining hands with Barisan Nasional (BN) and PAS to form a new government coalition and was appointed prime minister.

In a special PAS press conference at its headquarters on 19 Nov night, party president Tan Sri Abdul Hadi Awang told the media that PAS is confident that PN will be able to form a government in GE15.

“It is based on the results of the preliminary vote,” Hadi said that the victory achieved in GE15 was the result of the cooperation of all PAS members and friends in PN.

He said PAS will try its best to implement its promises and continue with its agenda of a prosperous nation.

There are still 50 more seats to be finalized.

PN and PAS will likely negotiate with Sabah and Sarawak coalition to join hands to form the new government.

Sarawak ruling coalition Gabungan Party Sarawak (GPS) has been able to secure 22 seats from 31 parliamentary seats in Sarawak.

BN face biggest defeat, UMNO veteran disappointed with the result

BN which contested 177 seats is now facing its worst result in the party’s history.

Founded in 1973 as a coalition of right-wing political parties, it dominated Malaysian politics for over three decades till the gradual rise of the opposition in 2008 till it lost power in the 2018 general election.

Tan Sri Annuar Musa, ex-parliamentarian and United Malays National Organisation (UMNO) veteran, wrote on his Facebook page calling out “those who failed, step down and take the responsibility.”

While he did not name any individual explicitly, it is believed that he is referring to the current BN chairman and UMNO president, Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi.

He also proposed for PN, BN and GPS to work together and form the new government.

“Don’t wait, set aside the ego. Those who failed, step down and take the responsibility.”

“Now (is the time for) PN, BN, GPS, GRS and other parties that are originally individual to ‘muafakat’ and form a government for the country, religion and race, Allah still loves this country, unite immediately.” Annuar Musa wrote.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments