SINGAPORE — A food stall worker was caught urinating into a kitchen sink and was confronted by a customer who witnessed his unhygienic action.

A report has been filed to the Singapore Food Agency (SFA) and authorities are now investigating the matter.

According to Singapore online news site Stomp, the incident happened at a chicken rice stall in Cantine food court at Causeway Point, around 7.45 pm on Tuesday (1 Nov).

Netizen Hisham, who went to the stall with his wife and intended to order chicken rice there, witnessed an unpleasant scene behind the counter.

He shared: “While waiting for the staff to come out from the kitchen to take my order, I saw a man peeing in the wash basin in the kitchen. The basin was full of unwashed utensils and Tupperware. ”

“After settling his business, he came out without washing his hands and asked us what we wanted to order.”

Feeling shocked and unsettled by what he witnessed, Hisham confronted the staff about why he urinated in the sink and didn’t even wash his hands. When the staff went back to wash his hands, Hisham went to look for the Cantine manager.

The video shared by Hisham on Stomp, shows that the staff did not even deny having to urine into the wash basin, and tried to justify his act by stating that he could not hold his pee in any longer.

The staff said: “Cause I very high tide, I cannot stand already.”

Hisham: “High tide, toilet behind only mah.”

The staff: “I cannot stand already, want to flow out already.”

Hisham: “Ya but toilet behind only mah. Never mind, I record. So toilet behind only what, why you need to pee inside the basin? Inside the kitchen?”

The staff: “You have no right what.”

Hisham: “I have no right? I have no right?”

Staff’s colleague: Hygiene leh?

Hisham: Uncle, you got take your hygiene course or not? When you work now, you got hygiene course or not?

Staff’s colleague: Erm… call Ahman now.

Hisham: You need to have a hygiene course in order to work in F&B. Ok? Do you have it?

The staff: “Of course.”

Hisham: “Of course. Then is it peeing inside a basin regulated?”

The staff: I got high tide, I cannot stand, I tell you…I let go, I let go lah. You want me to let go everything?

The staff’s colleague: “But uncle, cannot inside. You understand or not?”

SFA investigating, stall temporarily closed

Hisham had since reported the issue to SFA and police.

SFA confirmed that they are investigating the matter, and the spokesperson stressed that SFA will not hesitate to take enforcement action against errant food handlers if sufficient evidence is obtained. Food establishments are required to adhere to good food safety and hygiene practices.

“It is also mandatory for food handlers to attend the WSQ Food Safety Course Level 1 to be trained on proper food safety and hygiene practices. Food safety is a joint responsibility. While SFA puts in place and enforces the regulatory measures, food operators must play their part by adhering to good food hygiene and preparation practices.”

SFA also encouraged members of the public who come across any potentially errant food operator to report via its online feedback form.

A spokesperson from Cantine by Kopitiam also confirmed that the stall will be temporarily closed and will only resume operations after the investigation has been completed. The stall holder was contacted and the staff was replaced and redeployed.

“He will face disciplinary action and also be sent for re-training to ensure that such offences are not committed again.”

“We take a very serious stance on hygiene and food safety protocols and expect our stall holders to uphold the same standards.”

The spokesperson also thanked the customer for bringing this matter up and alerting the outlet manager for immediate corrective actions to be taken.

Netizens: It’s Common Sense Not To Pee In The Sink

In relation to the video and the staff’s actions, some netizens commented feeling disgusted and asked SFA to take stern actions on the matter.

Eylaa Ariana wrote: “Nope, hygiene course is another thing. It’s a common sense thing NOT to pee in the sink. Even small kids know where they should do their business. OMG. This is so disgusting!!”

Zolka’ain Yusof: “Wrong is wrong this is totally wrong even the primary one kids know where to go… Hope attention to given this case pls NEA investigate, good luck uncle.” 

Meanwhile, Alan Koh commented “Those working inside kitchen before you will know that you will not eat at the restaurant you work. It’s a fact, for those ever work as kitchen helper before in F&B you will know what I mean. Even you have go for hygiene course also no use bc not all will follow the rules n regulations.”

While Zhenghuang said an open kitchen concept would be much preferred where you can see how your food is prepared:

Subscribe
Notify of
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
You May Also Like

Singapore executes second man within three weeks amidst global protest

Singapore executed Muhammad Faizal Mohd Shariff, its second execution in three weeks, amidst global outcry over its stringent anti-narcotics laws. Faizal, a part of a group alleging racial bias in capital punishment, was represented by rights lawyer M Ravi, who voiced concerns over the disproportionate execution rates against Malays. Despite international criticism, Singapore’s government maintains that the death penalty effectively curbs drug-related crimes.

Founder of Healing the Divide files judicial review against Attorney General Chambers

Founder of Healing the Divide, Iris Koh files Judicial Review against Attorney General Chambers (AGC) for intervening in her Magistrate Complaint appeal against Police Officers who mishandled her evidence. Ms Koh had expressed her concern that fraudulent evidence could have been planted in her electronic device. After the acceptance of the appeal by the Court, the AGC informed her that they would discontinue her appeal. Ms Koh wrote on a fundraising page, “It’s about something much bigger: the rule of law, and the idea that no individual or authority should be above it.”

AGC asked to explain purposes of 68 private letters of inmates illegitimately forwarded to prosecutors

SINGAPORE — The hearing for the appeal of a civil suit by…

PAP Town Councils to implement phased hike in Service and Conservancy Charges due to rising costs

Amid escalating costs, Singapore’s People’s Action Party (PAP) town councils will raise Service and Conservancy Charges (S&CC) in two phases over the next two years. The increase will affect HDB residents, commercial properties, and market and food stalls. The first increment takes effect on July 1, 2023, with the next on July 1, 2024. Marine Parade Town Council stated that government funding support has helped to moderate the hikes, which are necessary to maintain estate upkeep and long-term maintenance funds.