Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong revealed in an interview with Bloomberg News recently that Singapore “ will not be last in the queue” to receive COVID-19 vaccine as it has made deals with different COVID-19 vaccine makers to ensure that the country will receive the doses once it’s ready.

He also noted that Asian countries have managed to get its people to comply with pandemic measures much better than their Western counterparts. PM Lee said this in the interview which went on-air on Tuesday (17 November) for its New Economy Forum.

When asked by Bloomberg editor-in-chief John Micklethwait if smaller countries have to be concern about getting a vaccine amid worldwide demand, Mr Lee pointed out that larger countries would “get some of their way” in making sure they be placed top in the waiting list.

“It is a pity because the WHO (World Health Organisation) makes a very valid point that the best way to get COVID-19 under control is to have a rational scheme of priorities to distribute the vaccine to the places where it will make the most difference to the outbreak,” PM Lee said.

He added, “But to optimise that, on a global scale (of) around 200 countries, I think is going to be very hard”.

If that’s not all, PM Lee also asserted that a few vaccine candidates would pass muster, and in a few years’ time, these would be widely available and be much more affordable as well.

“But I do not think you would have finished protecting the world’s population within the next year,” he said.

He continued, “Furthermore, you are not sure what risks and problems may arise. We have to learn as we feel our way forward”.

Singapore has created a committee to plan those who will be prioritised to receive the vaccine first before others when it is released by the companies which it is engaged in talks with. The companies include pharmaceutical giant Pfizer, as well as with the joint effort by scientists at Singapore’s Duke-NUS Medical School and US firm Arcturus Therapeutics.

Pfizer has earlier announced that its vaccine is 90 percent effective, while the initial batch of vaccine from the Singapore-US joint venture is expected to be shipped in the first three months of next year.

Separately, Mr Lee was also asked on why Asia has managed to handle the pandemic better than others, with Mr Micklethwait pointing out hundreds of deaths per million people in the United States, Britain and Germany compared to single-digit numbers in Singapore and China.

To this, PM Lee said that people in Asia complied with the rules like wearing masks or practising safe distancing, as opposed to the Europeans or Americans “where after some time you are fed up and tired of being locked down, and there is a push back… You want to go out and let your hair down and have a drink and have a rave”.

However, he also agreed that Singapore has been lucky.

“We have quite an elderly population, so if there had been many community cases, I think we would have had a large number of causalities and deaths too,” he explained.

PM Lee noted that the city-state managed to contain the spread of the coronavirus at the migrant worker dormitories, provide medical treatment to the workers and keep them and the population safe.

Moving forward, Singapore’s challenge now is to find a safe way to reopen its borders for business and tourism without bringing in more import cases of the coronavirus into the country.

“If you are a country like China, you can decide to close all your entry points practically and be in splendid isolation for quite some time without much difficulty,” said PM Lee.

“But for Singapore, that is going to be very tough.”

As of Tuesday, Singapore recorded six new cases of COVID-19 bringing the total number of infections in the country to 58,130.

Subscribe
Notify of
26 Comments
Newest
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
You May Also Like

游泰国遭同行友人绑架 受害者:我以为我们是好朋友

“道义放两旁,利字摆中间”,原定和友人一起到泰国进行一日游的狮城商人,在泰国遭绑架,并被威胁交出手中价值上百万元的比特币,所幸他最终成功逃脱,却没想到绑架案的首脑竟然是同游泰国的友人。 32岁的软件开发商,曾担任新加坡金融科技公司X Infinity区块链顾问的程金泉(Mark Cheng Jin Quan,译音)于1月9日,陷入友人李耀伟(Kim Lee Yao Wei,译音)策划的绑架。事后程仍心有余悸,表示 “我很震惊,我以为我们是好朋友” 。 程金泉在绑架案后的四天,于周二(14日)在泰国警方安排的住宅中,接受《海峡时报》的电话专访时,如是说道。…

Singapore Airlines enrich ticket refunds with added bonuses

Generous redemption and rebooking terms have been offered by Singapore Airlines (SIA)…

NetLink Trust confirms four workers tested positive COVID-19, two of them visited 34 homes for fibre installation work

Four contractors of NetLink Trust have been confirmed to be infected with…

【选举】陈立峰或在后港单选区上阵?

工人党非选区议员陈立峰,获看好将在来届选举,接替现任议员方荣发,保卫该党堡垒区后港。 方荣发自2011年,即接替刘程强保卫后港,迄今已在该单选区担任了两届议员。事实上陈立峰在该选区也不是陌生脸孔,实则在三年前,就被工人党安排随同方荣发到后港基层服务人民。 据知当地一些民众也看好陈立峰。不过,迄今尚不清楚方荣发是否会转战其他选区。方荣发任内认真走基层,有时支持者都会亲切地以“huat啊!”称呼他。 陈立峰现年50岁,是海事律师事务所合伙人。据《联合早报》去年4月的报导,陈立峰曾告知媒体,工人党安排他跟随方荣发学习,但否认将铁定在该区上阵。 陈立峰曾在2015年选举,出征凤山单选区,惜以42.48巴仙得票率败北。不过目前该选区已经取消。 目前,后港单选区选民人数(截至今年三月)为2万5629人。 在早前一篇刊载在本社的评论,撰稿人Augustine Low就探讨过去30年来,工人党如何在“后港精神”的支持下所向披靡。从1991年刘程强赢下该选区以来,至今后港人都未曾对行动党作出让步。