ELD officially declares Leong Mun Wai and Hazel Poa of PSP the two NCMPs

The Returning Officer has declared that the candidates elected as Non-Constituency Members of Parliament (NCMP) into the 14th Parliament are Leong Mun Wai and Hazel Poa from the Progress Singapore Party (PSP).

In a press statement released by the Elections Department (ELD) earlier today (16 July), the group of candidates from PSP who contested in the West Coast Group Representation Constituency (GRC) received the highest percentage of votes among the unelected alternative party candidates in the recent General Election (GE).

The party was informed on 13 July to select two members from the West Coast GRC five-member team to be elected as NCMPs.

Mr Leong and Ms Poa were eventually chosen. The remaining three members are Khoo Poh Tiong Jeffrey, Mr N. Loganathan, and the party’s secretary-general himself Dr Tan Cheng Bock.

For GE2020, the number of NCMP seats were increased to 12 from the nine in GE2015. Since the Workers’ Party (WP) have won 10 seats in Parliament, there are only two NCMPs seats available.

Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments