Photo removed from Amy Khor’s Facebook page. 3 trays of eggs can be seen in the background of the photo.

Dr Amy Khor removed a photo that she took of herself, cooking up a pot of fried beehoon after being mocked by netizens for hoarding 3 trays of eggs.
Dr Khor, who is the Senior Minister of State in the Ministry of Health and Ministry of the Environment and Water Resources, posted a Facebook post on Thursday of her cooking fried bee hoon for lunch.
She wrote, “Started cooking again since Day 2 of the CB (Circuit Breaker).

Facebook page, Sin Rak Sin posted a screenshot of her Facebook post, writing: “Minister Chan CS says don’t panic buy to hoard, else very Sia Suay. May be SMoS Amy has a very big family. Besides the eggs, there’s a stack of rice (?) further behind.
The post garnered more than 500 reactions and 1k shares. The image has also been shared on other Facebook pages as well.
As seen in the removed photo, 3 large trays of eggs can be seen. Each tray holds 30 eggs.
Just last month,NTUC FairPrice imposes purchase limits for various items to stem panic buying. Out of the items that are limited, eggs are capped at 30 per customer.
It is not certain how many people stays in her house. But according to an interview with Mothership, it seems that there are at most four person staying in her residence; Her husband, her mother, her son and herself.
WdyLuv Rayden commented, “Background got 3 trays of eggs Sia.. 1 tray 30pcs, 3 tray 90 leh.. we only allow to buy 30eggs.”
KokSiang Tan wrote, “Each person limited to 1 tray of (30) eggs only. Chan CS should thank you personally for helping him clear old stock in the warehouse.”
Update: Dr Khor in a post on Saturday evening, wrote:
“I live with a large family of 7 and we do our grocery shopping once a week, or sometimes even longer as all of us except my 90 year old mother are working. My mother, my two daughters and myself are fond of cooking and baking. In fact, even though my mum is 90 years old, she cooks every day and uses eggs quite often as a key ingredient, such as in dishes like mee siam, longtong, foo yong egg etc. My son and husband also regularly have half boiled eggs.
It also so happened that just the previous week one of our friends who is a farmer kindly brought some extra eggs and vegetables over to share with us as well.”

Chan Chun Sing scolds those who hoard

Minister for Trade and Industry Chan Chun Sing conducted a closed-door meeting with a group of business leaders organised by the Singapore Chinese Chamber of Commerce and Industry (SCCCI).
In the meeting, he addressed a number of issues including people’s behaviour of panic buying and hoarding essential items in Singapore. He noted that this behaviour “has long term implications” on the country’s international standing.
Mr Chan was referring to incident of Singaporeans clearing out supermarket shelves as they stock up on rice, instant noodles, hand sanitisers and more after the country’s Disease Outbreak Response System Condition (DORSCON) level was raised to orange as the coronavirus outbreak continued to escalate.
Describing the entire thing as “xia suay” or “disgraceful”, Mr Chan said, “We embarrass ourselves, disgraceful, we disgrace ourselves.”
Mr Chan added that he was “ashamed” at the behaviour of some Singaporeans who were stocking up on so-called essential items in fear that the country would run out due to supply chains being affected by the global outbreak.
He went on to say that he was reaching the limit of his patience, “cannot tahan”, and wanted to “scold people” for their behaviour.
Mr Chan narrowed in on how the behaviour of Singaporeans during this time could affect the country’s standing on a global level.
He added when the society starts to panic, suppliers will use that opportunity to raise prices.
He said, “Already got people trying to raise the price. Then you all behave like idiots, the foreign supplier lagi raise their price.”
Mr Chan reiterated, “So some of us, just a small group behaving like idiots will kill all of us. It will kill our current price negotiation strategy, it will kill our future business opportunity.”
The minister went on, “Every country can behave like idiots, Singaporeans must not behave like idiots. Then we behave properly, then we show the world how different we can be. Then people will have confidence.”
Mr Chan then warned his audience, “If we continue to behave like that, the virus won’t kill us. Our own behaviour will kill ourselves.”

Subscribe
Notify of
5 Comments
Newest
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
You May Also Like

社媒发布死讯 儿子证实寻获女尸是母亲

到马来西亚泛舟后失踪女商人的儿子,于今早(8月15日)在社交媒体上公布母亲的死讯。 女商潘玉珍的23岁儿子彭明毓(Louis Pang)在Instagram story和脸书上帖文写道,“你经历了美好且光荣的以上。直到最后一刻,你都做着自己最喜欢的事情。安息吧,妈咪。我爱你。” “你现在可以展翅飞向自由。我保证会把你安全带回家。” 女商26岁的女儿 Ranie Pang也在Instagram分享了其胞弟的帖子,并写道“你永远活在我们的心中”。 他们的帖子是在马来西亚官员于周三,证实在登嘉楼州海岸附近寻获一具尸体的数小时后发出。 马国海事执法机构针对《新加坡雅虎新闻》的询问时指出,尸体被议员寻获时身穿救生衣,在距离两人失踪地点约100海里(185公里)的登嘉楼州瓜拉甘马挽海域,被一名渔夫发现。 惟,今日凌晨彭明毓在数十名亲友的陪同下,抵达甘马挽殓尸房认尸后,证实死者就是其母亲。 女商人潘玉珍和62岁的陈永顺是于上周四,随着13名泛舟团友到柔佛州丰盛港海域泛舟后,遇上强风大浪,被迫离队临时改道。同舟的两人随后在傍晚5时40分被队友发现失踪了。…

Ho Ching edits FB post and expresses gratitude over Taiwan's mask donation after being swarmed by Taiwanese netizens

On Saturday (11 April), Temasek CEO Ho Ching shared an article on…

国会能推动多大程度替代政策 毕丹星:取决行动党政府对民主政治的态度

在上周六(18日),人民行动党中央执行委员会成员黄循财,认为既然工人党在国会已壮大,不能只对政府施政提出质疑,也应拿出可行方案供全民讨论和检视。 不过,工人党党魁毕丹星也以中英文声明回应,在国会新任期该党人会继续关注关乎人民的议题,但公共对话空间,和国会中能多大程度上推进可行替代政策,也必须取决于行动党政府对民主政治的态度。 他指出,黄循财认为工人党不能再只是对政府政策提出质疑,但放眼全球任何一个议会民主制度国家,对执政党政府的施政提出质疑,本就应当是一个负责任在野党的根本角色。“这项重任,对于促使政府更经得起问责是至关重要的;这也会继续是工人党在国会中必当负起的重任。” “无论行动党对工人党有什么样的期待,工人党在国会中的志向和方针始终不变,那就是,为推进国家进步,为全体国人谋求最大福利。我们坚定不移,全力以赴,履行这项使命。” 毕丹星指出,政府有12万庞大公务员团队,为国会辩论提供所需资料和协助,但工人党则必须仰赖义工团队的支援。 但即便面对种种限制,工人党仍继续提出前瞻性建议,包括在上届国会,提出冗员保险和《防止网络假信息和网络操纵法令》(POFMA) 的替代方案。 与此同时,工人党也鼓励国人更积极讨论,如组屋屋契到期导致售价锐减等,对国人影响重大的问题,并继续针对这些课题发表建议书,提倡更多这方面的讨论。 “我们在新届国会任期,将着重关注民生课题,包括新加坡人的就业机会、年长者的医疗保健、生活费上涨的问题等等。 政治改革,也会是我们接下来探讨的另一个重点,我们会针对国家政治体制和作业方式的透明度、问责制、制衡与平等,积极展开辩论。” 工人党在此次选举成功获得盛港选民委托,在国会民选议员比例增至11巴仙,但毕丹星坦言,距离该党三分一国席的目标仍有距离。

天然防蚊方法?不妨考虑蚊子天敌之一蜻蜓

我国因为气候炎热,成为滋生蚊子的温床,也出现骨痛热症疫情,因此防蚊工作成为我国相当重要的事项。论最天然的防蚊方法、蚊虫的天敌是什么呢?就是蜻蜓!蜻蜓被视为是控制蚊子数量的其中方法之一,因为他们捕食大量的孑孓,俗称的蚊子幼虫。 《科学时报》曾指出,研究发现,水虿,即指蜻蜓的幼虫,对蚊子的数量产生相当大的影响,他们最活跃的时期在于幼虫期间,但在成年后的蜻蜓仍然可以捕食近100只蚊子。 14蜻蜓品种成濒危物种 那新加坡的蜻蜓种类会多吗?根据国大一项研究透露,我国目前有131种蜻蜓,其中九种已灭绝,现存122种。在122种中,有14种蜻蜓被列为濒危品种,相当珍贵,因此赋予最高级别的保护。 我国蜻蜓看似种类很多,但其实并不然。尽管我们的种类仍然很多,但也可发现出现在我们身边的蜻蜓却不比以往多。另项国大研究则表明,蜻蜓的种类已比较预期的数量更少,据称,部分品种的绝种,尤其是生活在森林环境中的品种,主要原因为过度开发溪流导致边缘植物消失。 毫无疑问地,蜻蜓越发在野外少见,可能是因为池塘数量的减少,以及更多建设与开发,如正在建立公路的武吉布朗,导致他们的自然栖息地遭受破坏。 那我国什么地方蜻蜓最多?答案就是滨海湾公园!读者们可以试试回想,在滨海湾公园可曾被蚊子叮过?新加坡自然学会(The Nature Society)发现滨海南部的蜻蜓多达20种,而滨海东部则有18种。 国大曾发表一篇文章表示,“土地开垦已经破坏了本土的自然生态系统,大量的海岸工程已经在破坏我国红树林森林,目前红树林的覆盖率由最初的13巴仙下降至0.5巴仙,同时珊瑚也面临破坏,目前仅剩下35巴仙。” 蜻蜓数量下降亦相当令人担心,尤其是最近登革热案例的增加。今年7月份,环境局指出我国骨痛热症病例创下三年新高,在7月7日至13日期间竟高达666案例上报。 环境局说,“今年(截至2019年7月13日)共接获7373病例,是去年同时间(1461病例)的5倍。”…