Photo removed from Amy Khor’s Facebook page. 3 trays of eggs can be seen in the background of the photo.

Dr Amy Khor removed a photo that she took of herself, cooking up a pot of fried beehoon after being mocked by netizens for hoarding 3 trays of eggs.
Dr Khor, who is the Senior Minister of State in the Ministry of Health and Ministry of the Environment and Water Resources, posted a Facebook post on Thursday of her cooking fried bee hoon for lunch.
She wrote, “Started cooking again since Day 2 of the CB (Circuit Breaker).

Facebook page, Sin Rak Sin posted a screenshot of her Facebook post, writing: “Minister Chan CS says don’t panic buy to hoard, else very Sia Suay. May be SMoS Amy has a very big family. Besides the eggs, there’s a stack of rice (?) further behind.
The post garnered more than 500 reactions and 1k shares. The image has also been shared on other Facebook pages as well.
As seen in the removed photo, 3 large trays of eggs can be seen. Each tray holds 30 eggs.
Just last month,NTUC FairPrice imposes purchase limits for various items to stem panic buying. Out of the items that are limited, eggs are capped at 30 per customer.
It is not certain how many people stays in her house. But according to an interview with Mothership, it seems that there are at most four person staying in her residence; Her husband, her mother, her son and herself.
WdyLuv Rayden commented, “Background got 3 trays of eggs Sia.. 1 tray 30pcs, 3 tray 90 leh.. we only allow to buy 30eggs.”
KokSiang Tan wrote, “Each person limited to 1 tray of (30) eggs only. Chan CS should thank you personally for helping him clear old stock in the warehouse.”
Update: Dr Khor in a post on Saturday evening, wrote:
“I live with a large family of 7 and we do our grocery shopping once a week, or sometimes even longer as all of us except my 90 year old mother are working. My mother, my two daughters and myself are fond of cooking and baking. In fact, even though my mum is 90 years old, she cooks every day and uses eggs quite often as a key ingredient, such as in dishes like mee siam, longtong, foo yong egg etc. My son and husband also regularly have half boiled eggs.
It also so happened that just the previous week one of our friends who is a farmer kindly brought some extra eggs and vegetables over to share with us as well.”

Chan Chun Sing scolds those who hoard

Minister for Trade and Industry Chan Chun Sing conducted a closed-door meeting with a group of business leaders organised by the Singapore Chinese Chamber of Commerce and Industry (SCCCI).
In the meeting, he addressed a number of issues including people’s behaviour of panic buying and hoarding essential items in Singapore. He noted that this behaviour “has long term implications” on the country’s international standing.
Mr Chan was referring to incident of Singaporeans clearing out supermarket shelves as they stock up on rice, instant noodles, hand sanitisers and more after the country’s Disease Outbreak Response System Condition (DORSCON) level was raised to orange as the coronavirus outbreak continued to escalate.
Describing the entire thing as “xia suay” or “disgraceful”, Mr Chan said, “We embarrass ourselves, disgraceful, we disgrace ourselves.”
Mr Chan added that he was “ashamed” at the behaviour of some Singaporeans who were stocking up on so-called essential items in fear that the country would run out due to supply chains being affected by the global outbreak.
He went on to say that he was reaching the limit of his patience, “cannot tahan”, and wanted to “scold people” for their behaviour.
Mr Chan narrowed in on how the behaviour of Singaporeans during this time could affect the country’s standing on a global level.
He added when the society starts to panic, suppliers will use that opportunity to raise prices.
He said, “Already got people trying to raise the price. Then you all behave like idiots, the foreign supplier lagi raise their price.”
Mr Chan reiterated, “So some of us, just a small group behaving like idiots will kill all of us. It will kill our current price negotiation strategy, it will kill our future business opportunity.”
The minister went on, “Every country can behave like idiots, Singaporeans must not behave like idiots. Then we behave properly, then we show the world how different we can be. Then people will have confidence.”
Mr Chan then warned his audience, “If we continue to behave like that, the virus won’t kill us. Our own behaviour will kill ourselves.”

Subscribe
Notify of
5 Comments
Newest
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
You May Also Like

【冠状病毒19】84岁新加坡老妇病逝 本地累计12死亡病例

根据卫生部文告,本月22日本地新增1016例冠状病毒19(COVID19)确诊,其中967例都是住客工宿舍的客工。不幸的是,今日新增一起死亡病例,一名确诊84本地老妇因并发原因,在昨晚(21日)病逝。 这使得本地累计死亡病例增至12例,而本地目前的累计确诊病例已破万,达到1万0141例。 据了解有关老妇(第1071例)是在本月2日确诊,目前邱德拔医院已联系并给予死者家属协助。 在本地新增社区传播病例中,有15人是本地公民或永久居民,另二人是工作准证持有者。 目前仍有4千234例病患留院治疗,大多情况稳定或有起色,其中有25病重病患需待在加护病房。4千999例康复良好,惟冠毒测试仍呈阳性反映的患者,则转移到本地社区隔离设施。 文告也指当局正积极为住宿舍客工检测,故此病例数据激增。不过大部分患者病况轻微,正在隔离设施或在医院普通病房接受治疗,每人需到重症监护病房。

Changes to TCA, prompted by PAP’s AIM saga, could be delayed

More than two years after a review was announced in May 2013,…

Are you eligible to vote? Check against the composite registers of electors

The composite registers of electors for the purposes of the next general election…

DBS and SMU join hands to launch sustainability program

The DBS-SMU Sustainability Initiative is the first-of-its-kind in Southeast Asia and includes…