Seetoh

Founder of Makansutra, K F Seetoh posted a note on his Facebook page today (14 Jan) sharing that an auntie hawker actually came up to him to hug and thank him for his untiring efforts helping the hawkers, especially those making their living at hawker centres run by “Social Enterprises” (SEHCs).

In the case of the auntie hawker, her cleaning fee went down by a third after Mr Seetoh highlighted the plight of hawkers at SEHCs last year.

“I was shocked when an auntie hawker came up to hug me thanking me for whatever I did (I auntie killer la!!). The cleaning fees there went down by $100 to $200 bucks,” Mr Seetoh wrote.

“So dun say nothing can be done. You support what you believe and do whatever you can to see it happen. Not just fold your arms and go KNN about the up-there problems. When you do that, you become part of the problem.”

Mr Seetoh said that since last year, after the public uproar over hawkers’ plight and NEA stepping in, the $0.20 tray return policy has been abolished and hawkers at Jurong West hawker centre now save about $800 on that alone.

“Now they are given rest days at Tampines. And that compulsory $600 monthly “management fee” (the gall of them) at Ci Yuan has been switched to ‘optional’,” he added.

“Cleaning fees at Old Airport is now looking to be based on usage.”

Mr Seetoh said that there are a lot more issues to be dealt with, like the $300 compulsory monthly “marketing fee” for all stalls at Pasir Ris hawker centre.

“(It’s) still on folks, despite the ruckus you raised,” he shared. Pasir Ris hawker centre is run by NTUC Enterprise.

“I mean, have you seen much of the marketing besides the fantastic concert they hold once in a while there. This one baffles me.. just teach them (hawkers) how to get on social media and let them fly la,” he added.

“Keep at it people, your affordable makan bloodliine heritage is worth preserving… don’t just crow, support the hawkers.”

Certainly, Mr Seetoh has done much to surface the “injustice” that the hawkers at SEHCs have to endure. It’s no wonder the auntie hawker hugged and thanked him.

Now, how about asking Mr Seetoh to run for Parliament in the next General Election to help Singaporeans?

Subscribe
Notify of
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
You May Also Like

【政治】余振忠挑战吴资政的“稳定器论”

早前,我国前总理、荣誉国务资政吴作栋在接受《海峡时报》专访时,提及推行集选区制、设立由议员管理的市镇理事会制度,成为我国政治体制的“稳定器”。 事实上这不是吴作栋发表集选区作为“稳定器”的论述。回溯2019年5月,他接手《联合早报》访问时也曾这么说: 要拥有这样的政治景观,是否需要改变我们现有的机制?我觉得应该不需要。我们已经竭尽所能去稳定机制。集选区、官委议员等等都可被称作“稳定器”。就是说,你可以有人选的更替,但是制度不会翻船。所以我不认为接下来20年需要改变。我不知道还有什么未可预见,但目前来看,无须改变。 对此,前非选区议员余振忠则形容,让在野党也管理市镇会是可以的,能够证明在野党也能管理好社区,以及让在野党议员解决居民的需求。 至于集选区制度,原本是为了确保有少数族群代表而设立,但后来集选区规模变得越来越大,理由是透过规模经济来确保管理市镇会的效益。 除了杰利蝾螈(gerrymandering)现象(不公的选区划分)以外,集选区制度的一些方面是好的。但同样这对于执政党来说也是把双刃剑,当在野党的团队比行动党更强大,集选区反而成了在野党的堡垒区,行动党很难夺回。 不过,余振忠也提及他对过去发生AIM公司事件的失望。 行动党在1991年成立AIM(Action Information Management)公司,来支援市镇会的电脑技术管理。但2011年大选后,AIM却致函工人党市镇会主席林瑞莲,有意终结服务。 在2011年,工人党接管的阿裕尼-后港市镇会。除了遭CPG 管理代理公司终止服务,同时,上述AIM公司也要求终止对工人党市镇会的电脑系统服务,致使该市镇会须在两个月内,开发自己的电脑管理系统,确保服务不中断。…

交通部宣布与业者 提供700万元津贴助送餐员折旧换代步工具

交通部今日(8日)宣布,政府和三家主要送餐公司将联手,提供700万元的津贴,协助送餐员把电动滑板车折旧,改用脚踏车等其他代步工具。 交通部在文告中表示,大部分送餐员都使用脚踏车或电单车等交通工具,惟使用电动滑板车的送餐员,也有7000人之众。 而上述津贴则鼓励这群送餐员将手上的电动滑板车折旧,若改用电动脚踏车可获最高1000元津贴,而改用脚车则600元津贴;行动不便送餐员改用助行工具(PMA),也能获得最高1000元津贴。 符合上述津贴的条件为申请者必须在今年11月7日之前的送餐员,他们必须把电动滑板车送交到Grab、Deliveroo和Foodpanda等送餐公司指定的处置点。津贴配套有效截止日期至今年12月31日。 上述津贴计划将由送餐公司负责,将与零售商合作,透过大量买进来降低成本。 职总的就业与职能培训中心(e2i)和劳动力发展局,则已和送餐公司合作,准备为有意转职的送餐员提供协助;至于面对经济困难的送餐员,社会及家庭发展部将提供援助。 在交通部长许文远的个人脸书,他宣称禁止电动滑板车上人行道,获得广大国人的欢迎。 他表示理解上述决策对送餐员的冲击,并与送餐服务公司磋商,而这些业者表示将协助他们使用其他代步方式,或寻找其他工作,并且提供上述津贴配套,协助送餐员转换代步工具继续工作。 “我们把人行道安全回归到没有PMD之前的日子。事件也提醒我们所有人要懂得替他人着想。当我们在邻里走动时都应注意其他公众的安全。让我们在新加坡实现零事故和零伤亡的目标。”

PAP will have to take full responsibility if the COVID-19 situation worsens, says SPP’s Osman Sulaiman

On Wednesday (8 July), the Singapore People’s Party (SPP) member Khan Osman…

Bersih 2.0 Singapore plans a gathering of yellow in Hong Lim Park

by: Ravi Philemon/ A group of Malaysians who live and/or work in Singapore,…