View of modern station platform and escalators at Tuas Link MRT station on the East, West Singapore train line from

Early closure of six MRT Stations along East-West Line in November 2018

Six MRT stations along the East-West Line (EWL) will close earlier at around 11.00pm on Fridays and Saturdays in November 2018, announced Smart Rapid Transit (SMRT) on Wednesday (24 October).

SMRT stated that engineers from the Land Transport Authority and SMRT will be using the additional hours to continue works to renew the power supply system as well as conduct other maintenance and asset renewal works.

It said that the affected sector and early closure dates are as follows:

The company then noted that shuttle bus services will ply along the affected sector, stopping at designated bus stops near the MRT stations to pick-up and drop-off passengers to maintain connectivity for commuters during these early closures.

It also advised commuters to cater for additional travelling time when travelling between MRT stations using the shuttle bus services.

As the timing of the last trains departing each station during the planned closures of MRT stations from 2 to 24 November 2018 will vary, SMRT advised commuters to check for station-specific timings at affected MRT stations, on SMRT Trains’ website and social media platforms when planning their journeys on affected dates. Click here for more information.

SMRT noted that it will keep commuters updated on changes in timing to train operations and alternative transport arrangements on SMRT’s Trains’ website as well as through SMRT’s Facebook, Twitter feed and the SMRTConnect app.