Photo from Straits Times

I refer to the article “Saying that we don’t want to be a society that charges for plastic bags, is illogical” (theonlinecitizen, Aug 5).

The article wrote,

“Singapore is certainly not a country that has the reputation for shying away from fines and charges. From using roads at peak periods to fees for parking to tariffs on cars, Singapore has not been a stranger to using increased costs to reduce usage or cut numbers on behaviours it deems undesirable.

It is therefore surprising for Environment and Water Resources Minister Masagos Zulkifli to say: “If you want me to charge for plastic bags I can. But I don’t think that’s how we want to be as a society” in relation to tackling the high levels of plastic bag usage in Singapore. Singapore has not had qualms for charging for other things in order to reduce usage. What’s difference about plastic bags?”

My friends said “aiyah, this one is a no brainer lah – very obvious one – since when cheng hu will do if don’t make money one!

Like TOC writer say – want to reduce water use – increase price lah – want to reduce traffic – make ERP (Every Road Pay) lah!

Sinkies no eyes see one – charge for plastic bags -cheng hu don’t make a cent hor!

“Mr Zulkifli has advocated using education as a means to reduce our reliance on plastic. While I agree with that approach, I don’t understand why a charge on plastic bags and education are mutually exclusive. Why can’t we use a two pronged approach? Education is paramount in order to yield long term behavioural changes and alter consumer habits. Charging a small fee for each plastic bag will encourage shoppers to either bring their own bags or reconsider if they need as many bags. It doesn’t have to be a big charge, Just 10 cents per bag will provide the incentive to shoppers to think before they bag. For instance, they may make more efforts to fit more in one bag rather than take an extra one.” – Aiyah, education is free one mah – since 151st media will talk and talk simi cheng hu tell them – all free one!

So simple, free do, no make money – don’t do lah!

‘The amount of plastic that a small country like Singapore consumes is shocking and I do think that it should be a priority to cut usage.” – Aiyah, since when we got care about the environment – just look at sinkapor’s carbon emissions lah! Another world 1st type lah haha!

“Mr Zulkifli seems to think that he has to tackle e-waste before he targets plastic usage but I can’t understand why that is the case. Surely the government is able to multi task?” aiyah, if cheng hu can multitask – then don’t need to have so many Ministers in Prime Ministers Office lah – you don’t know we have the most Ministers in the Prime Ministers’ Office than any country in the world meh!

And to add insult to injury – also the highest paid Ministers in the world hor!

“That’s like saying Singapore cannot pursue trade talks with Korea because it is also having talks with Malaysia?’ – Aiyah, after Malaysia under Mahathir – everyday 151st attack lah – so how to talk – North Korea different hor because can spend people’s money “to serve tea and coffee” – $20 million only what peanuts lah – not own money mah!

“He also seems to be linking the bagging of trash to the usage of plastic bags. While I agree that it does have an effect on the usage of plastic bags, this is completely separate to taking multiple plastic bags at supermarkets? Aren’t they separate sources? Also, what about considering tax reliefs for shops that use biodegradable bags?’– Aiyah, this TOC writer also quite funny one – since when cheng hu got give tax cut for this type of thing one – every one thing cut means less money hor – you forgot pay and pay meh!

Aiyah, if really want to cut emissions – will long ago give more tax cuts to lower-emission cars, electric cars, etc lah!

“Mr Zulkifli is quoted saying, “When you try to do everything, you’ll end up doing nothing, so do the most important things first – and right now we are tackling e-waste.” and goes on about the extended producer responsibility law, due to take effect by 2021, that would force producers of electrical and electronic equipment here to ensure their products are collected and recycled or disposed of at the end of their lifespans.

As the saying goes, there are many ways to skin a cat. To deflect from the plastic bag issue by saying that e-waste is more important seems like a cop out. To say that we do not want to be the kind of society that charges for plastic bags is also illogical. If you are willing to increase the prices of necessities such as electricity and water, what’s the issue with charging 10 cents for a plastic bag?” – aiyah, everything don’t want to do got excuse one – like don’t want to help tens of thousands of Sinkies dying of cash-strapped and dead broke – don’t allow Airbnb which in other countries give billions to the people!

When you say 80% in condo must agree – is as good as saying cannot lah! This one super wayang lah – simple lah – same same – cheng hu don’t make money!

“At least with a plastic bag, I have the option of bringing my own bag if I don’t want to pay the charge. With electricity and water, I don’t have a choice, do I?” – Aiyah, how can you forget – now got choice liao – just vote for Tan Cheng Bok new party lah!”

Subscribe
Notify of
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
You May Also Like

ComCare: Needy up 116%, but funding dropped?

By S Y Lee and Leong Sze Hian 72,000 needy families? We refer…

Highlights of the Debate on the MND Town Council Review Report

By Leong Sze Hian Ministerial statement MND Minister and PAP Chairman, Khaw…

Healthcare subsidies: Reply without answers?

by Leong Sze Hian I refer to the article “More uses for…

Four pillars of social security – really?

by Leong Sze Hian When I was asked to write about the…