Iryna Rasko /

Parliament announces that it is prorogued with effect from 3 April and commence on 7 May

Parliament has announced that it is prorogued with effect from 3 April 2018, noting that the second Session of the 13th Parliament will commence with the President’s Address on 7 May 2018 at 8.30 pm.

This break marks the mid-point of the Government’s term. Singapore’s 13th Parliament began on 15 January 2016 after the 2015 General Election.

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong wrote a Facebook post in February that he is expected to reshuffle his Cabinet to give younger ministers more exposure and responsibility at some point before Parliament reconvenes.

“This way, my successor will be supported by a stronger and more experienced team, committed to leading Singapore to a better and brighter future,” he said.

Mr Lee stated that he had asked fourth-generation ministers to draft the Government’s agenda for the President’s Address when the new parliamentary session opens in May.

The President’s Address will be delivered by Madam Halimah Yacob at 8.30pm on 7 May. It will kick off the second session of Parliament.

It is said that she will announce the priorities, policies and programmes of the Government for its remaining term of office. The House will then discuss these policies and programmes in its debate on the Motion of Thanks for the President’s Address.

Finance Minister Heng Swee Keat, Minister in the Prime Minister’s Office Chan Chun Sing and Minister for Education (Higher Education and Skills) Ong Ye Kung are named the three frontrunners to lead the fourth generation.

Fourth generation ministers are expected to be given heftier responsibilities, as they prepare to take over the reins from Mr Lee after the next general election, by 2021.

However, they are not expected in this reshuffle to move into the deputy prime minister posts, currently held by Misters Teo Chee Hean and Tharman Shanmugaratnam.

Parliament has been prorogued 12 times since independence. The last break took place in April 2014.