Chief of Army Major-General (MG) Melvyn Ong stated at a media briefing at Choa Chu Kang Camp on Tuesday (29 November) that there was nothing unusual about the nine Terrex Infantry Carrier Vehicles (ICVs) transiting in Hong Kong and it was a purely commercial decision for the ship carrying the vehicles to have stopped in Xiamen before going to Hong Kong before they were seized by China.

This is the first press conference held after nine ICVs from Singapore Armed Forces (SAF), were on their way home from an overseas training exercise in Taiwan before they were seized by Hong Kong customs last Wednesday.

MG Ong said, “Hong Kong is a common international port of call for many foreign militaries and many companies also. There have been no issues in the past, so this is a first.”

However, Hong Kong-based investigative news agency, FactWire reported that the ship had also visited Xiamen before it arrived at Hong Kong. In fact, according to FactWire’s sources, the Hong Kong authorities were tipped off that there were undeclared military vehicles on board the ship when it departed Xiamen and knew what they were looking for when they carried out the “routine” investigation.

When asked about the detour to Xiamen before Hong Kong, MG Ong said, “We don’t specify the route. It’s a purely commercial decision taken by APL. But we don’t stop at certain ports with security implications for cargo… For the items on board this particular cargo, there was no need.”

According to MG Ong, the APL ship with the ICVs onboard was carrying over 4000 containers. “Ours was a small footprint; a small volume of cargo in shipping so it makes sense for it to tag on to a large shipment,” he said.

Commercial shipping of military equipment a norm

MG Ong said that commercial shipping of military equipment is somewhat a “norm” for many countries, saying, “It’s a commonly adopted means. Many militaries use it consistently… during peacetime training. It’s the most cost-effective and efficient means of transporting large amounts of equipment.”

He also said, “We have a system in place to ensure how this is done properly. We have an established system for engaging commercial companies. All are required to comply with stringent requirements to protect against tampering and theft – for example, we lock; double lock some containers to ensure the security of goods on board.”

The Ministry of Defence (MINDEF) stated that Singapore authorities have provided relevant assistance to the Hong Kong Customs on 24 November when SAF team, along with personnel from shipping contractor APL, were en route to Hong Kong to address the security of the equipment and expect the shipment to return to Singapore expeditiously.

MG Ong said, “We’re still waiting for further confirmation on the ground, to find out exactly what was the reason for the detainment. It will be clearer in a day or two.”

MG Ong said that MINDEF has been working with APL since 1990s. Although there are some other companies contracted to ship its equipment.

“We’ve never had an incident before. But we will take a look… Let’s see how it goes.”

China’s response after armoured vehicles were seized

Just yesterday, China announced that it has lodged a protest with Singapore after nine armoured infantry carrier vehicles (IFVs) from Singapore along with other equipment were seized by Hong Kong customs.

“China has already made representations over this to the Singapore side,” Foreign Ministry spokesman Geng Shuang said at a regular press briefing on Monday.

Earlier on 25 November, when asked about the seized cargo, the China spokesman had reiterated that the Chinese government is firmly opposed to any forms of official interaction between Taiwan and countries that have diplomatic relations with China, military exchanges and cooperation included.

He said, “We call on Singapore to act in accordance with the laws of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region in handling the matter,” Geng said. “We oppose any nations that have diplomatic ties with China to have contacts with Taiwan, including military relations,” and added, “We call on Singapore to abide by the one China principle.”

Many citizens voiced their displeasure and disbelief on the incident. Here are what some of the wrote :

• Johnson Lum wrote, “Years back , it was undertaken by the Navy which is safe and doesn’t not breach the Security. Unfortunately, the bunch of White Monkeys wanted to save a couple of dollars and put the contract under the hand of the commercial and we got screwed big time from China.
    Coming out to justify the use of Commercial shipping is right , what a Joke , Paper General.”
  • Tony Sim wrote, “Its nothing usual or wrong IF you buy out the full capacity of the ship. Then the ship will have no reason to dock at unassigned ports for commerical loading/unloading. Instead, it will follow the assigned routes back home.”
  • Wei Foo wrote, “SAF’s policy of outsourcing “non-core” functions like meal preparation, equipment maintenance and logistics is their biggest archilles heel. You just need disruption in one of them and the dominoes will start falling. Unfortunately, paper generals still can’t see the threat. This one is calling it nothing unusual.
    In reality though, it may not be so easy doing it everything themselves due to the manpower shortage. And for that, you can blame you-know-who for stubbornly refusing to tackle the low birth rate.”
  • Adrian Han wrote, “Military equipment should only use commercial if its hiring out the full boat or have army personnel guarding it . So what’s the point of classified equipment if commercial company is allowed to ship it ? This is really a joke . Just to save a few bucks.”
  • Chin Hua Yak wrote, “”They must also apply for all necessary permits (and) all regulatory requirements while travelling and at ports of call. The contractor has to be responsible for this.” Then why don’t apply? lol.”
  • Chan CL wrote, “No other country ship large military equipment via commercial shipping. What kind of security mindset do you guys have? Unbelievable, especially dealing with a big bully like China.”
  • Calvin Koh wrote, “Guys, again you know something? Always an excuse and reasons from someone. Shipment by own navy more secured or shipment by third party more secured? Always some kind of logic. Maybe No one in the army will question a major general or army chief, but it doesn’t mean they are always right. Is it so difficult to understand Logic?”
  • David Wong wrote, “When you are buddy with gangster’s US inevitably u end up behaving like them. Such comments “nothing unusual’ manifests a culture of impunity. Simple.”
  • Wee Ming wrote, “Lai Liao ! Same pattern of answering and reasoning by our elite scholar! It’s normal mah , our toy car are secure with pad locks and checklist. Power la! China already copy and the next batch of made in china toy car is coming out in no time!
  • Vincent Tan wrote, “The reason why last time China closed one eye while Singapore conduct training in Taiwan was partly due Ma Ying Jiu was president. However ever president Tsai became president and it is well known that she is pro-independence! And Singapore still openly send these equipment in taiwan for training!”
Subscribe
Notify of
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
You May Also Like

S$378m in CPF arrears recovered from employers

The Central Provident Fund Board has recovered about S$387.2 million in arrears…

印尼民间团队联手打假新闻 比法律更见成效

邻国印度尼西亚在本周三(17日),举办全球最大规模的单日选举,逾1.92亿合资格选民在票站开站的8小时内完成投票。选举后,寻求连任的总统佐科维和前将领普拉博沃,都宣布胜选,不过正式选举结果,5月22日才揭晓。 至于民调显示,佐科维的得票超过55巴仙,稍高于对手。不过,两位候选人在选举期间可没少受假新闻影响选情,其中西爪哇的警察逮捕了三名女子,他们涉嫌在二月份谣传佐科维蝉联后,将废除呼唤穆斯林祷告的唤礼声(azan)以及禁止妇女包头巾。 三名女子据称来自普拉博沃竞选团队,不过该团队发言人安德雷(Andre Rosiade),已否认他们涉及参与上述三名女子的“抹黑”行为。 他们过去也否认雇用新闻工作者撰写“正面或负面的内容”,“尤其不实新闻”。 印尼记者:法律打假消息治标不治本 印尼媒体人沙弥多在本月13日,接受《今日报》采访时就指出,立法打击假新闻,只能算是即时的解决方案,但不会是打击网络假消息的上策,并质疑法律制裁的威慑能力有限。 “抓了一个人,就有10甚至100人准备好接手(制造假新新闻)。”他补充“法律打假治标不治本,关键是要教育人民懂得分辨假消息,并用适当手段抗衡之。” 沙弥多也是印尼民间“核查事实”(Cekfakta)组织中40多位记者之一。Cekfakta是由印尼24家媒体组成。 这批记者也获得谷歌谷歌新闻室的支援,在选举时进行即时的事实查证工作。 各领域专才协助查核数据 除了记者们的努力外,来自教育和经济界等各领域的专才和非政府组织,也团结一块为核实真相而努力。例如当某位候选人公布某项数据,他们就针对有关课题分析并查核事实或数据的真伪。…

“I just stay at home, waiting for my days to end.”

~ By Jewel Philemon, with additional reporting by Ng Yi Shu ~…

PM Lee Hsien Loong with Charlie Rose

This is a partial transcript of Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong’s interview…