Recognizing Singapore’s outstanding SPED teachers and schools, MOE awards

Three Special Education (SPED) teachers and four SPED schools have been recognised for their excellent contributions in the education of students with special needs.

This eighth year presentation of Ministry of Education (MOE) and the National Council of Social Service (NCSS) awards is stated in a joint press release by the MOE-NCSS on 31 October.

SPED Teacher Award

Three teachers received the MOE-NCSS Outstanding SPED Teacher Award (OSTA).

They are:

  • Ms Tay Wan Ting, APSN Katong School
  • Mdm Noriytah Binte Sani, AWWA School
  • Ms Esther Kwan Huey Chien, Grace Orchard School

The OSTA winners were selected out of 156 teachers from 14 SPED schools by a panel which comprised representatives from MOE, NCSS and partners in special education, the statement said.

SPED School Award

Four schools were presented with the MOE-NCSS Innovation Award (IA).

The schools are:

  • APSN Delta Senior School
  • Eden School
  • Metta School
  • Rainbow Centre – Yishun Park School

The four schools were selected out of 16 schools with 32 projects nominated for the Innovation Award 2016.

The nominated projects showed the innovative and creative use of teaching and learning strategies and resources in engaging students in their learning.

And two SPED teachers will also receive the 2016 MOE Masters Scholarship in Special Education and will be pursuing their Master of Education (Special Education) at the National Institute of Education (NIE), MOE stated in another press release on the same day.

They are:

  • Madam Noraisha Mohamed from AWWA School
  • Madam Nur Faezah Abdul Rahman from Cerebral Palsy Alliance Singapore School.

The MOE Masters Scholarship in Special Education was started in 2011 to provide professional upgrading opportunities through postgraduate studies to SPED educators.

The scholarship is open to registered Singaporean SPED teachers who have served at least five years in SPED schools.

The scholarship recipients will be acknowledged at the biennial SPED Conference on 4 November 2016, MOE statement said.