Bukit Batok SMC by-election to be held on 7 May 2016, nomination date on 27 April

The writ of election for the Bukit Batok By-election has been issued to have the by-election to be held on 7 May 2016. Nomination date has been set on 27 April 2016 and to be held at Keming Primary School.

The by-election was called after former PAP MP David Ong resigned from his position and his party due reasons of “personal indiscretion” on his part.


Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong posted an update on his Facebook page announcing the information while he is aboard.

He wrote, “DPM Teo Chee Hean (who is Acting PM as I am away) has advised the President to issue the Writ of Election for Bukit Batok constituency. Nomination Day will be 27 April (Wednesday) and Polling Day 7 May (Saturday). Details here: http://bit.ly/23ZgJUj

DPM Teo and I spoke earlier. Now that the Budget is out of the way, we are calling this by-election to enable residents of Bukit Batok to have their own MP as we work together to improve Singaporeans’ lives.

Partnership between Government and citizens is key to our success. I hope Bukit Batok residents will elect the candidate who will be concerned for their welfare, represent them ably in Parliament, and make Bukit Batok the best home for them.”

Two candidates who have expressed their intention to stand for the by-election are People’s Action Party’s Murali Pillai and Singapore Democratic Party’s Secretary General, Dr Chee Soon Juan. Both candidates have been walking the ground at the Single Member Constituency ever since Mr Ong vacated his MP seat. It is likely that two of the candidates will face each other in a straight fight as other political parties have already announced that they would not be contesting in the by-election.

Interested candidates can now collect the nomination papers from the Elections Department during its office hours. Candidates are reminded to obtain a Political Donation Certificate from the Registrar of Political Donations through application and forms are to be submitted made no later than 23 April 2016 (Saturday), 1pm.