PM names 3 coordinating ministers, new Transport Minister in new Cabinet


Singapore’s new Cabinet has been named, and it will have 20 ministers, one more than the last line-up.

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong revealed the new slate on Monday, some two weeks after his ruling party won a landslide 70 per cent of the vote in the general election.

Among the changes, the Cabinet will have three, instead of the current one, Coordinating Ministers:

DPM Teo Chee Hean is the Coordinating Minister for National Security, an unchanged position for Mr Teo.

DPM Tharman Shanmugaratnam will be Coordinating Minister for Economic and Social Policies.

Mr Tharman will relinquish his Finance portfolio to Heng Swee Keat, who had helmed the Education ministry.

Khaw Boon Wan will be Coordinating Minister for Infrastructure, and will also hold the position of Transport Minister, which former minister Lui Tuck Yew has vacated.

Mr Khaw’s National Development portfolio will be handed over to Lawrence Wong.

Dr Vivian Balakrishnan is now the Foreign Affairs Minister, taking over from K Shanmugam who is now the Law and Home Affairs Minister.

Dr Vivian’s Environment and Water Resources responsibilities is now passed to Masagos Zulkifli.

Two new faces from the PAP’s slate of election candidates have also been given ministerial appointments.

They are: Ng Chee Meng will be Acting Minister for Education (Schools), and Ong Ye Kung, Acting Minister for Education (Higher Education and Skills).

Other changes will see two Ministers of Trade and Industry: Lim Hng Kiang as Minister of Trade and Industry (Trade), and Mr S Iswaran as Minister of Trade and Industry (Industry).

The only woman minister, Grace Fu, has also been given her own full portfoio – she takes over from Mr Wong as the Minister for Culture, Community and Youth.

Photo: CNA
Photo: CNA