Former MOM Minister, Tan Chuan-jin launched Jobs Bank in 2014

The Jobs Bank launched in August last year to help more Singaporean PMEs to get jobs is currently even questioned by NTUC.

Under the Govt’s Fair Consideration Framework, it is stipulated that employers must put up job advertisements on the Jobs Bank portal for 14 days, to look for a suitable Singaporean candidate, before they are allowed to hire a foreigner on Employment Pass (EP)

WDA which administers the Jobs Bank, said that as of end of last month, some 19,000 employers and 104,000 individuals have registered as Jobs Bank users. In the same month, some 70,000 job vacancies were posted each week.

However, it doesn’t tell how many Singaporeans are actually employed as employers can simply continue to hire a foreigner even after placing job advertisements on the Jobs Bank, supposedly to hire Singaporeans.

There is also no quota for the number of foreigners hired on EP (i.e, minimum salary $3,300) in a company. Technically speaking, a company in Singapore can have 100% foreigners and zero Singaporeans working in the company, as long as the foreigners are on EP.

“Now the question is whether just by having that advertising requirement is sufficient to nudge employers to take the bold step to hire more Singaporean PMEs because it’s just a mere advertising requirement; there’s no requirement for employers to share placement figures,” said NTUC Assistant Secretary-General Patrick Tay.

“We do not have data on rates of placement for some of these jobs advertised in the jobs bank. That’s one area I think can be improved on. Sharing data, how many of these jobs are posted, how many of these jobs actually got to local PMEs.”

“The other aspect would be, some of these jobs that are posted, what are the skills, competencies required? Some of these data can be mined so that we can better map some of these SkillsFuture initiatives to plug those gaps. And of course how the tripartite partners can work together to better place Singaporean PMEs in those jobs available in the Jobs Bank,” he added.

Last year, half of the complaints to the Tripartite Alliance for Fair and Progressive Employment Practice (TAFEP) are said to be related to job discrimination against Singaporeans.

Jobs Bank is a big ‘wayang’

In a satirical post, popular blogger Leong Sze Hian has this to say about the Govt’s Jobs Bank:

We spoke to Mr Human Re (not his real name) about the jobs bank.

Q. Your company employs about 80% non-Singaporeans?

A. Yes

Q. What type of foreign workers?

A. Mostly S-pass, employment pass

Q Why

A. Aiyah, foreigners cheaper mah (no pay CPF save 17% you know), no NS, no 4 months maternity, no turnover problem as 2 year contract they cannot run mah.

Q. What do you do now that there is the Fair Consideration Framework?

A. No difference lah. Can still advertise in other places and jobs portals like before at the same time mah. So, just wayang and advertise also in jobs bank lo for 2 weeks.

Q. Can please elaborate?

A. It take about 1.5 months at least normally to do the jobs advertisement, interviews, etc process – so we just concurrently advertise and recruit foreigner just like before lah.

Q Keep talking leh. This is very good!

A. You can see – a lot of job postings from third party entities such as employment agencies, private job portals and companies which offer outsourced human resource services – so, they are just going through the motion – because they will still be doing what they were doing before – no difference lah!

In any case, due to constant pressure from social media, displeased Singaporean PMEs as well as the forthcoming General Election, MOM told the media that it is reviewing both the Fair Consideration Framework and the Jobs Bank and will share details when the review is completed.

Do you think the Govt is serious this time in helping Singaporean PMEs displaced by the “foreign talents”?

Tell us what you think.

The above article was first published on TR Emeritus.

Subscribe
Notify of
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
You May Also Like

人们纷纷响应捐血号召 15至17日获1900份“全血”

负责新加坡血库的新加坡卫生科学局指出,当局在上周末(2月15日)至周一所获的捐血量,比平常周末至周一的捐血量多出70巴仙,达到1900份“全血”。 所谓的“全血”,即是指还未分成血小板等各个部分的完整性血液,是最常见的捐血方式。 当局表示,有关的捐血量足以支持六天以上的国家血液储量,但还是仍然不足够的。血库需要保持至少六天的储血量,以备每日的输血需求及应对紧急出血情况。 据《今日报》报导指出,上周五曾经报导有关血库中某些血型的储血量,受到武汉冠状病毒(Covid-19)爆发的影响,而暴跌至临界低水平。 闻讯后的国人在周末纷纷前往新加坡的四个血库,排队等候献血,就连不少政府高官,如文化、社区及青年布部长傅海燕也参与捐血行列。 血库储血量仍然不足 虽然民众反应热烈,血库储血量仍然不足。 卫生科学局指出,在接下来的二至四周内,当局还需要1500个O血型捐血者,750个A血型捐血者,以及750个B血型捐血者,才能让血库储存量恢复到正常水平。 “由于血液的保质期只有六周,因此需要定期定量的捐血者,才能确保我们拥有足以满足患者的储血量。” “我们欢迎捐血者在任何时候预约捐血。” 新加坡红十字会网站也公布了血库存量中,各血水平型的出血量都处于“关键”,即O、A和B血型的储血量处于“低”水平,而AB血型处于健康水平。 当储血量处于临界最低水平时,就迫切需要捐助者,并且必须在同一天进行捐款。而处于低水平的储血量,当局就鼓励捐血者在一周内进行捐助。…

SPP’s Jose Raymond hopes for a less confrontational, less adversarial and more solution-seeking political debate

Singapore People’s Party (SPP) chairman Jose Raymond said that the central theme…

维文称我国将循序渐进 逐步开放与马国边境往来

我国将会循序渐进,逐步开放马来西亚边境的往来。 外交部长维文在接受《亚洲新闻台》的访问时,表示若在没有采取任何措施下全面恢复新马边境通关,是不明智的选择,会将感染风险大大增加。 因此,他认为,我国将会分阶段开放边境,并落实冠病19检测和追踪接触者等的多项防疫措施。 询及边境开放的时间,维文则未加以说明,他表示,新马两国官员正在探讨和制定多项细节,可能需数天甚至数周的时间。 马国日前表示,原则上允许汶莱和我国公民入境马来西亚,但与此同时,汶莱与新加坡也必须允许马国公民入境两国。 马国国防部长沙比里指出,汶莱与新加坡公民入境马国时,无需进行冠病检测和隔离,但同时,他也希望为我国与汶莱也必须同样允许我国公民入境。目前马来西亚正与我国和汶莱外交部进行商讨。

陈立峰佘雪玲 冀正视环境议题保育杜佛树林

本月15日,新加坡自然协会向建屋发展局提出一份13页的建议书,敦促当局应把杜佛地铁站旁、联邦西道路段的杜佛树林,保留作为公共自然公园。 根据建屋局的环境基准研究报告,杜佛林地约有33公顷(约46个足球场大小),近半为次生林,在上世纪20至40年代曾是橡胶园地,但在战后被搁置。 由于打从1980年代之后就未曾被干扰,为此这片林地页成了120种植物以及158物种,包括飞禽、蜥蜴、两栖类、哺乳动物、昆虫与蜗牛的栖息地。其中,还发现严重濒危的黄葛树(学名:Ficus virens)、风头鹰雕(Changeable Hawk-Eagle)、蓝冠短尾鹦鹉(Blue-crowned Hanging Parrot)、紫金鹃(Violet Cuckoo)以及亚洲鳖(Asian Softshell Turtle)等物种。 不过,报告也指出,早在2014年的市区重建局总蓝图(Master Plan),杜佛林地大部分都被划为住宅用途。…