SOPA 2015 awards finalists announced


The shortlisted finalists for SOPA 2015 Awards for Editorial Excellence were announced today.

The SOPA Awards attracted a record number of entries region-wide, which were rigorously assessed by a panel of more than 100 judges from around the world, which included journalists, editors, and columnists from leading publications and notable academics from the media departments of prestigious universities. Winners will be announced on Wednesday evening 10 June, 2015 at the Gala Dinner to be held at Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre.

The Society of Publishers in Asia (SOPA) was founded in 1982 to promote both local publishers and local representatives of foreign publishers in Asia, with a view to fostering better cooperation and understanding among members.

It is based in Hong Kong and represents international, regional and local media companies in Hong Kong and around Asia. SOPA is a not for profit organization. It hosts the prestigious annual SOPA Awards for Editorial Excellence to set world-class benchmarks for journalism in Asia. The Society of Publishers in Asia exists to promote excellence in journalism and best practices across all local and regional publishing platforms in Asia Pacific.

The SOPA Awards for Editorial Excellence are stepping in the 17th year to honor the outstanding achievements and contributions of distinguished media practitioners. The awards have been widely regarded as one of the most prestigious awards in the publishing industry. The 18 award categories this year reflect Asia-Pacific’s vibrant editorial scene. Each category is divided into three groups according to the circulation, region of publication and language. In addition, the new award categories added last year, including the “Excellence in Digital News”, will also continue in the SOPA 2015 Awards to reveal the influence of the increasingly digital-savvy publishing world.

Finalists include publishers such as The International New York Times, The Wall Street Journal Asia and Reuters. The complete list of finalists can be viewed on the following website:

A seminar on Best Practices in Reporting in Asia featuring top journalists has been organized on the morning of the awards at JMSC, Hong Kong University. Speakers will include Pulitzer Prize winning Keith Bradsher of the International New York Times, and distinguished writers and editors from The Wall Street Journal, Quartz and Commonwealth.

The SOPA 2015 Awards for Editorial Excellence is supported by Invest Hong Kong (Platinum Sponsor) and Google (Silver Sponsor). K11 is the Supporting Sponsor. CatchOn is the public relations partner, and Media OutReach is the newswire partner.

To find out more ways to support us, visit this link: Donate