cpf

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong’s remarks about letting Central Provident Fund (CPF) members withdraw part of their savings in a lump sum have raised worries among unionists.
At a dialogue with Mr Lee on Thursday, the unionists, according to the Straits Times, said this “will bring grief” to the very same group of people which should be protected – the low-wage earners – according to local news reports of the dialogue.
Mr Lee had made the proposal in his National Day Rally speech earlier in August.
“I think we should allow people the option to take out part of their CPF savings in a lump sum if they need to but subject to some limits,” Mr Lee said then. “The amount which you can take out cannot be excessive.”
He suggested that members could perhaps withdraw “up to 20 per cent of the total that you have and it should only be during retirement, 65 and beyond.”
Mr Lee, however, cautioned that there are downsides to this, and acknowledged what the unionists are now saying.
“We provide this flexibility but members must understand clearly the trade-offs because if you take out the lump sum, that means you will have less left in the CPF and your monthly payments will also be less,” he said. “So, that is a second thing we should do, make the CPF more flexible, and have the possibility of a controlled lump sum withdrawal in retirement.”
BTMr Benjamin Tang, president of the Port Officers’ Union and member of NTUC central executive committee, who was at Thursday dialogue, told the media after the event, “The unions felt that basically, CPF should be something that is used for the retirement needs of workers.” He added, “By allowing (a lump-sum) to be withdrawn from the Minimum Sum, it will mean less for living expenses later on.”
According to Mr Tang, the prime minister gave assurance that there will be safeguards and that the CPF will “remain an institution that takes care of the retirement needs of workers.” (TODAY)
The dialogue was attended by some 550 unionists and the Minister of Manpower, Tan Chuan Jin, who was also at another dialogue with 140 people to discuss Mr Lee’s National Day Rally speech.
Mr Tan said that details of the changes to the CPF are expected to be announced in two weeks.
He added that issues being considered by the review panel included the degree of flexibility of withdrawals, addressing the uncertainty which plagues the CPF Minimum Sum, and how best to enhance support for the elderly.
On the Minimum Sum, which has caused much unhappiness among members because of its annual increases, Mr Tan said “the variable is inflation.”
“So if we perhaps settle it at 2 per cent every year, then I can actually give for sure. So we’re actually looking at it, whether we can just take that uncertainty out of the whole equation.”
He said that “if inflation turns out to be very erratic, then we will reset it again.”
“We are going to look at how we can be clearer,” he explained. “Basically it’s the uncertainty; the more certainty we have, the less anxiety… That’s something we are quite tempted to do but we will go through the review panel to see if it is something we want.”
Mr Lee had said in his speech that the Minimum Sum, which was raised on 1 July from S$148,000 to S$155,000, will be further increased to S$161,000 next year.
He said that he did not see the need for any more major increases in the MS beyond this, but added that “we will still need to adjust the MS from time to time.”

Subscribe
Notify of
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
You May Also Like

【选举】民主党诚邀民众任监票员

新加坡民主党呼吁民众成为志愿者,在大选期间成为选举监票员。 民主党昨日(6月23日)傍晚在脸书上分享短片,呼吁民众踊跃参加该党的志愿者行列,以便在大选期间进行监督工作并确保大选得以公正无私地顺利进行。 该党表示,监票员所要进行的工作包括了确保投票日当天的流程符合我国选举法令、确保投票箱没被掉包或资料篡改、确保投票后,投票箱获得确实被密封、以及确保投票箱被运送到计票站。 只要不是小学和中学在籍学生、破产者或有刑事案件在身的新加坡人士,都有资格成为监票员。而该党也会提供所需要的培训。 民主党呼吁有兴趣的民众踊跃参加,他们可上网(https://forms.gle/jiSc8eGWfgd6vEW57)、或透过短片中分享的二维码报名登记。

【选举】人民党邱永豪 倡议失业保险、社会安全网等议题

人民党碧山-大巴窑集选区准候选人邱永豪,倡议失业保险、被裁雇员权益、社会安全网,以及国民精神健康等议题。 早前人民党已公开,出征波东巴西与碧山-大巴窑集选区的准候选人。邱永豪则是攻打碧山-大巴窑的四人团队之一。 谢镜丰昨日(23日)在脸书介绍该党团队成员,早在2015年,邱永豪已作为候选人参加了丹绒巴葛(Tanjong Pagar)集选区的竞选,当时他也积极为本地PMET 群体(专业人士、经理、执行员与技师),以及社会“夹心层”(供养父母和子女)发声。 “也是一名商家的邱永豪,希望能够提出更多计划和补贴,支持各行各业的企业家,并为正考虑转向新兴行业的公司做更多工作。” 谢镜丰补充道,“他与他的团队准备成为国会中人民强而有力的声音,在国会中能够准确表达人民的心声。” 邱永豪是人民党公布的五位候选人之一,即将在来届大选参选。另三名候选人包括谢镜丰、欧斯曼(Osman Sulaiman)和41岁的副主席Williamson Lee,将一同出征碧山-大巴窑集选区。 现任主席乔立盟将在波东巴西单选区披甲上阵。

Hawker applicant accuses Kopitiam Group of imposing a “modern-day slavery” system on hawkers

Recently, social enterprise operators which run the new hawker centres owned by…

我国每年花费31亿元在压力相关疾病 占医疗总支出18巴仙

研究发现,新加坡每年花费23亿美元(约31亿元)在压力相关疾病,占医疗总支出的18巴仙。 压力相关疾病指任经由压力引起的生理或心理症状,生理症状包含头痛、肌肉疼痛、关节疼痛、肠易激综合症、胃与呼吸灼热;而心理症状则包含焦虑、抑郁和恐慌症。 该报告是由Asia Care Group代表信诺集团(Cigna)执行调查并于昨日(21日)公布。此次调查共调查9个国家包括香港、南韩、台湾、泰国、阿拉伯联合酋长国、英国、美国、澳洲与新加坡。 结果显示,澳洲与我国在压力相关疾病的花费上分别并列第一与第二,之间仅差0.8巴仙。 除了压力相关疾病花费提高,报告显示,从全球范围来看,八成以上的人均承认自己感到压力,而且共64巴仙的人认为他们一直处于焦虑的状态。 长时间工作文化加剧全球压力水平 换言之,人们经常在上下班外感觉到随时在工作,这样的文化加剧了全球的压力水平。 “压力已然成为全球话题,(可是)有时压力却成为人们不喜欢谈论的话题,我们确实需要解决它”,信诺集团首席执行长Julian Mengual表示。 在此前,信诺集团将卫生部和私立医院资料整合,分析医疗保健使用率与压力相关疾病的成本,发现每年竟有逾16万人因压力相关疾病到医院求诊,其每年费用约为9.31亿美元左右。…