AGC can take another shot at Alex Au: Court of Appeal

The Court of Appeal yesterday granted permission for the Attorney-General’s Chambers (AGC) to appeal against the High Court’s ruling that it has no no basis to act against Mr Au, 61, over a blog post by Mr Au that AGC claimed “scandalised the judiciary”. The original charge was first rejected by the High Court as it decided AGC has no basis for the charge. AGC’s attempted to appeal the High Court’s decision, but used the wrong legal procedure and was rejected again. The AGC now permission from the Court of Appeal to appeal a second time, which it believes “is prima facie contemptuous”, according to Senior State Counsel Tai Wei Shyong.

Beware phone scams on work pass applications: MOM
The Ministry of Manpower (MOM) has warned of scams involving someone impersonating as one of its officers to settle issues such as work pass applications in exchange for money transferred to a given account. The following is MOM’s statement on its Facebook page.

We have received feedback that members of the public have received suspicious calls from a person who claimed to be a MOM officer, asking them to transfer money to an account to settle issues related to their stay in Singapore or work pass application. The phone number displayed on the receiver’s phone is that of the MOM Contact Centre’s hotline (6438 5122).
We would like to clarify that these calls are not authentic. Our MOM officers will not make such calls for any funds transfers. We have advised the affected individuals to lodge police reports.
Members of public who receive such calls should:
• Ignore such calls;
• Not transfer any money to the caller, either via remittance agencies, banks or any other means; and
• Call the Police immediately at ‘999’ to report the matter.
We take such incidents seriously, as they undermine public trust in MOM.

Free Pre-Peak Travel scheme for trains extended to next year
The Free Pre-Peak Travel scheme, which allows commuters to tap out at 18 designated MRT stations before 7.45am on weekdays at no cost, has been extended to 23 June 2015. Those tapping out from 7.45am to 8am will also continue to have 50 cents off their train fares. The Land Transport Authority indicated that 7% of commuters have shifted out of the morning peak period since the introduction of the scheme in June 2013.
“In the second year of the free pre-peak trial, we are going to focus more on working with employers to make flexible work arrangements more widely available to their staff, so that their staff can have a choice of a lifestyle change,” Senior Minister of State for Transport Josephine Teo was quoted by media as saying.

Slight drop in HDB prices
HDB resale prices dropped slightly by 0.2% in April compared to March. While there was a 1.2% increase in price for executive flats, all other categories of housing decreased slightly. Property experts opined that this decrease was related to buyers being more conservative after changes to the HDB resale process that affected the Cash-Over-Valuation (COV) component of a deal.

Big drop in COE prices
Premiums for Certificate of Entitlement (COE) dropped across all car categories, with the price for Category A (cars with 1600 cc or less) falling the most by more than $10,000.

Subscribe
Notify of
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
You May Also Like

在家中拍摄老翁洗澡画面传至网络 警方已将女佣逮捕

日前本地一名女佣在为家中老人洗澡时,将其拍成视频放到网上,目前已在偷窥罪名下被警方逮捕。 一名女佣将自己为老翁洗澡的画面拍下,还时不时对着镜头微笑。视频内可见,一名老人裸着上身,坐在厕所内,而女佣则手拿花洒为老翁冲澡,还时不时拿着望着镜头微笑,拿了肥皂给老翁自行搓洗身体后也一直望着镜头。 该视频随后被放上网疯传,虽然被转载的视频内可见已将老翁的脸打上马赛克,但据了解原视频并未打上马赛克。 对此,网民纷纷谴责女佣的行为不负责任,质疑其行为的原因。 目前该视频已被撤下,而警方日前接受《8视界新闻》询问时也证实已接获报案,其中32岁的女子也于本月3日以偷窥罪遭逮捕,目前案件仍在侦办中。

Will Singapore ever see an anti-government protest in the scale of that in Hong Kong?

Back in 2015, the Prime Minister’s Office published a video of Prime…

Amendments to the CPF Act – did you know?

Leong Sze Hian – I refer to media reports (“Second chance to…

ST Forum Editor was right after all

Leong Sze Hian/ I refer to the article “Straits Times! Why you…