No Result
View All Result

Taxi Flagdown Rates Going Up with New Models

by Terry Xu
27/10/2013
in Commentaries
Reading Time: 6 mins read

By James Lim

It is almost a month since my last post. You might have wondered what has happened to be lately. Am I in good health, sick or lying in bed with a serious injury from traffic accident?. Your kind concern is understandable because my job as a cabby expose me constantly to many dangers on the road. There’s almost a weekly news of traffic accidents involving taxi drivers. Fortunately, with God’s grace, I’m Ok!.

Actually, it is not difficult to explain why I have not written as much as I did in the past. Apart from getting older, I’m not enjoying cab driving as much as I used to. I also noticed recently that I haven’t been engaging in conversation with my passengers as much as I used to. I’m sure all related. Maybe, I’m just been feeling tired and withdrawn.

However, if a friendly and talkative guy gets into my cab and engage me with the hottest issue of the day, like the current increase in flagdown cab fares, I’ll throw my taciturn temperament out of my window. And this was what happened few days ago when I picked up this youngish IT executive at Vivo City.

“Uncle, why your company keep increasing cab fares so often nowadays?

“My friend, my Sonata flagdown fare is still the same at $3.20….no increase. It’s only our company’s new Hyundai i40 that has gone up to $3.80. By the way, this new model i40 is introduced 6 years after the Sonata. So, flagdown fare increase is not often every few months. But the most drastic taxi fares increases was about two years ago when surcharges period were extended, meter rates and other related items were highly increased.

“Uncle, it seems to me that your company don’t care about customer welfare at all”

“Young man, you’re right. Not only our company don’t care about customer welfare, they also don’t care about taxi driver welfare.

“Uncle, how can you say that. The flagdown fare increases also benefits you, right?.

“No, the increased flagdown fare don’t benefit me. In fact, I’ve to work harder and longer hours because I’ve to pay a higher rental for the new i40 at $126 per day instead of $100 for my old Sonota. My rental had gone up by 26% but the flagdown fare increased by only 16%. (from $3.20 to $3.70). 

Our company feels justified to charge a higher rental because the newer model cost more. They don’t care about the reaction from taxi commuters or suffering of taxi drivers. Now, many taxi commuter avoids taking i40 if other models of taxis are available. Do you know that taxi companies are like Food Court Operators (eg. Kopitiam & Food Republic). Once they renovate their premises, stall rental and food price increased correspondingly.. It’s the consumers and hawkers who suffers.

On the other hand, the company makes more money introducing the new models. As a proof, Comforts revealed in their 2012 financial report that in Singapore their revenue from taxi business was10.1% higher at $824 millions due to higher rental from a larger fleet and an increase in new replacement taxis.

Uncle, if you’re not happy with your company, you could join other taxi companies like SMRT, Trans-Cabs, Premier etc…..

“My friend, it’s easy to say. Don’t you know that other taxi companies also introduced new models and increased their flagdown fares too. For example.

• SMRT’s Toyota Priuses at $3.80
  • SMRT’s Hyandai Azera at $3.80
  • Trans-Cab’s Renault at $3.90
  • Trans-Cab’s Epica at $3.60
  • Premier’s Priuses at $3.50
  • Prime’s Priuses at $3.60

“Aiyoh, looks like these taxi companies operate like a cartel. Why LTA is not doing anything about it?”

On the surface, LTA’s policy is “Bo Chap, or Mai Chap” (don’t care or  don’t get involves) because taxi companies are private business. Government don’t get involve in setting prices of consumer products or services except essential items or services. They let the market set the pricing.

In my opinion, the greatest handicap in the taxi industry is a lack of serious competition.The biggest taxi company controls 60% of the market and is a GLC (Government Link Company). You don’t need to be a rocket scientist to speculate whether they are bedding each other. 

“Uncle, what’s your greatest grievances against your company?

Worst of all, all taxi companies do all they can to muster as large a fleet of taxis as possible and get every taxi rented out to drivers, regardless of the demand and competition on the street. As long as rentals are collected promptly, they do not care how the drivers survive.

“Wow, you talk so bad about your company. You’re not scare to get sacked like blogger Gintai (Link)?

“So be it. If you lives in a forest, don’t worry about no wood to start a fire”

This article was first published at James’s blog “Diary of a Singaporean Cabby”

For just US$7.50 a month, sign up as a subscriber on The Online Citizen Asia (and enjoy ads-free experience on our site) to support our mission to transform TOC into an alternative mainstream press.

Related Posts

Rescuers battle cold as Turkey-Syria quake toll hits 5,000
AFP

07/02/2023
Hazel Poa proposes singles be allowed to buy 3-room HDB flats
Housing

07/02/2023
Jamus Lim: House prices are too High
Politics

07/02/2023
Ministers get away with excuses that ordinary citizens cannot hope to get away with
Opinion

Ministers get away with excuses that ordinary citizens cannot hope to get away with

07/02/2023
Commemorative coin, exhibitions and various activities to mark 100th anniversary of Lee Kuan Yew’s birth
Singapore

Commemorative coin, exhibitions and various activities to mark 100th anniversary of Lee Kuan Yew’s birth

07/02/2023
国会内庆妇女节 女议员获赠鲜花
Labour

15 companies barred from hiring new foreign employees after serious safety lapse found at worksite

07/02/2023
Subscribe
Connect withD
Login
I allow to create an account
When you login first time using a Social Login button, we collect your account public profile information shared by Social Login provider, based on your privacy settings. We also get your email address to automatically create an account for you in our website. Once your account is created, you'll be logged-in to this account.
DisagreeAgree
Notify of
Connect withD
I allow to create an account
When you login first time using a Social Login button, we collect your account public profile information shared by Social Login provider, based on your privacy settings. We also get your email address to automatically create an account for you in our website. Once your account is created, you'll be logged-in to this account.
DisagreeAgree
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Latest posts

07/02/2023

07/02/2023

07/02/2023

07/02/2023

07/02/2023
国会内庆妇女节 女议员获赠鲜花

15 companies barred from hiring new foreign employees after serious safety lapse found at worksite

07/02/2023
Why is Gautam Adani’s Indian empire in turmoil?

India’s Adani Enterprises shares rocket 20%, trading suspended

07/02/2023
China’s Baidu says developing AI chatbot

07/02/2023

Trending posts

Cognizant India transfers staff to work in Singapore as recently as this year

Local IT grads can’t find jobs while engineers constantly transferred from India to work in SG under CECA

by Correspondent
05/02/2023

They have done a fine job of confusing us about the jobs situation

by Augustine Low
01/02/2023

Adani’s brother runs SG company and registers as director with local ID

by Correspondent
03/02/2023

No response from Josephine Teo on whether Mediacorp has been instructed to stop coverage of SMT circulation scandal

No response from Josephine Teo over alleged blackout of coverage by Mediacorp over SMT circulation scandal

by Terry Xu
06/02/2023

Former Singaporean shares change of life in Australia with annual pay of S$80,000 as a plumber

by Yee Loon
30/01/2023

Japanese-Canadian junior high school girl breaks national record with 3km in 9:02 mins

“I want my normal life back,” Sherry Drury withdraws from National Junior High School Tournament due to overheated public attention

by Yee Loon
06/02/2023

October 2013
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »

The Online Citizen is a regional online publication based in Taiwan and formerly Singapore’s longest-running independent online media platform.

Navigation

• Editorial
  • Commentaries
  • Opinion
  • Politics
  • Community

Support

• Contact Us
  • Letter submission
  • Membership subscription

Follow Us

• Facebook