By Bertha Henson

Public engagement must include the coffeeshop crowd. So here is the PM getting feedback from the nation’s heartlanders  surrounded by cups of kopi-see or whatever poison of his choice

Uncle, aunty! Hoh boh? Makan already?

Food expensive ah? Ya, I know. You know lah, how difficult for Singapore, food must buy from outside, everything must buy from outside. How to control price? But my people tell me won’t be so bad from now. Prices not going up so fast. Still high? Okay, I see what I can do. But you got your rebates right? Spend properly lah. Or eat at home. Oh. Got no time to cook…Your daughter leh? What is she doing? Oh. Working. No time to cook. No time to find boyfriend also…

What?! She don’t want to get married?! But she must! Tell her to find boyfriend fast, then she go get HDB flat. Flat cannot afford? Depends lah. Which location? Try three-room first.  Anyway, my people coming up with something for people like her to get married and have babies. You want another grandson or not? Don’t want? Want to sit in coffeeshop all day with your kakis…. Alamak.

Your son how? Got job already? He say pay too low? So what he doing everyday? Oh. He go casino ah. Can afford the $100 to go in meh? You want me to ban him from going in? We can put him on this list so he cannot go in. What that’s the only way to make money? If not, he become ah long? Cannot. Cannot. Tell him to come see me.

What you mean no point? Companies hire only China people? Cannot be. We got quota. You tell me which company, I go get my people to chase. Yes. Yes. We trying to make sure not too many foreigners come. Don’t worry. But your son willing to work or not? Like that Ah Mei at that coffee stall there. I think she come from Guangzhou.  Ah Mei is married to a Singaporean you know. Ah Mei, ni hou.

Wait, wait. Ah pek, your wife last week complain to me you got China girlfriend and your CPFmoney all go to her…Stop! Stop! Don’t go hit your wife! Sit down. Ah Mei, kopi-o kosong lai. (Eh, you, go translate. She doesn’t understand.)

You don’t like Indians also? Don’t be like that. You make that Shanmugam very unhappy. Oh. That’s why you take MRT out, don’t want to stay in the east all the time ah. Good. Good. Use public transport. No point take car. Oh….can’t afford COE ah. Anyway, public transport very good. You have to be patient lah, must wait for train a bit, squeeze a bit. Breakdown not that often. Anyway, these MRT people now very scared. Don’t worry. Next time, not so many breakdowns. Must give chance, trains getting old. Like you. You also cannot move so fast right?

Ah Tee, you have two sons right? In school already? Oh pre-school, good, good. PCF kindergarten? Okay what, why you want to move them to Montessori. You can’t even pronounce the name. Not true la. Facilities the same. Somemore, you kena pay so much more. Oh, you want your sons to play the violin ah. Okay, I see if PCF got violin lessons. Anyway, cheng hu will do something lah. You HDB people very important. Very important. Your sons will get into good primary schools, don’t worry. No. No, don’t have to rent flat next to Rosyth.

Encik, you walk to this kopi-tiam everyday ah? Good exercise. Oh, you also walk to polyclinic and hospital ah. How come? Diabetic. Cataract. High blood pressure….Aiyoh. You use your Medisave or not? You got Medishield or not? Oh. Cannot understand how to use ah. You go to hospital reception and ask. Cannot understand the Filippino nurse ah. Get your children to go with you.

What? Your sons moved to Batam? How come? Cheap house. You moving also???? Alamak.

Hello, Sir, do you come here often? Oh, for breakfast….good, good. And how is your family? Your daughter is an undergraduate…good, good. Son also ..good, good. Both studying overseas….good, good. What?! They want to stay over there? How come? Tell them we will always have good jobs here. Singapore is a vibrant city. Look at Gardens by the Bay! River taxis along Boat Quay, Robertson Quay, Clark Quay! Pandas at the zoo! It will be a good, even better life for them! They needn’t worry that they cannot afford to buy a car or private property. Start small. Start small. Oh, they want to start big, because they think they deserve it, after working so hard at their exams. Oh, your son’s gay…Your daughter? Single mother…Alamak.

Anyway, I have to chabot now. I have to go make my National Day Rally speech. About what? Oh, a national conversation about national identity and the country’s fundamentals. How to work for a better Singapore. What sort of Singapore we want. You know, a new national narrative.

Liak boh kiu?  

Never mind.

This article first appeared on Bertha Henson's blog. Bertha Henson is a former Associate Editor of The Straits Times.

Photo Courtesy: Gintai

You May Also Like

【选举】陈清木反驳 未曾说过让出义顺集选区

昨日行动党义顺集选区候选人尚穆根,指前进党原本有意把义顺集选区让给别的政党,显得“没有诚意”(half-hearted),前进党秘书长陈清木反驳,表示他不曾说过要让出义顺集选区。 前进党秘书长陈清木医生,偕同杨厝港单选区候选人罗舒玉,到宏茂桥第628座巴刹与熟食中心走访,针对尚穆根的言论,陈清木表示,他不在意这些说法,反而应该将焦点放在赢得选民的支持。 除了陈清木,前进党助理秘书长梁文辉和候选人毕博渊亦驳斥尚穆根的说法,表示前进党致力服务义顺。 前进党候选人毕博渊随后作出回应,指对方显然惧怕竞争对手,因此试图以“障眼法”误导选民。 此外,非选区议员制度引起热议,随行记者也随后询问陈清木,陈清木也表示,选区对议员而言相当重要,必须要有民意支持作基础。

AWARE’s CEDAW team makes recommendations to the United Nations

This year marks the third time that AWARE is submitting a Shadow…

TOC breaking news: Aljunied GRC Facebook site alleges defamation?

Andrew Loh / Comments surrounding a New Paper article about a “youth…

突来疫情王瑞杰为财案加班 富足储备得以应对突发状况

明日(18日)副总理兼财政部长王瑞杰将公布2020年度财政预算案,他今日发文透露,基于突如其来的武汉冠状病毒(COVID-19)疫情,使得他必须“加班工作”,而预算案中也纳入先前未有的方案;也坦言当前疫情可视之为对国人的考验。 他表示,财案的细节一般都会尽量提早定案,然而今年突如其来的武汉冠状病毒(COVID-19)疫情,使得财政部团队必须加班,跟进最新进展以及听取国人意见,并推出援助措施方案。他透露他的团队还必须牺牲上周五的情人节,一整个周末下来都在一起工作。 他透露财案中一些新措施,可能一个月前都未曾提出;也指要不是富足的储备,我国才得以采取迅速果断行动,以及得以限制能拟定稳定和援助措施,而不是试图去预测疫情的负面影响、带来的打击等等。 “我不仅指我们的财政储备,也指公务员和国人拥有的力量、适应力、同理心和机智。” 他表示,有人问道:“疫情是否对预算案带来干扰?”他表示“你可以视之为一场破坏,也可以看作是考验,促使我们国人竭尽所能,为后代勇于面对挑战。” 王瑞杰在昨日发布视频,表示政府将推出一个援助配套,协助家庭减轻生活费压力,并会在明日公布更多详情。