By Bertha Henson

Public engagement must include the coffeeshop crowd. So here is the PM getting feedback from the nation’s heartlanders  surrounded by cups of kopi-see or whatever poison of his choice

Uncle, aunty! Hoh boh? Makan already?

Food expensive ah? Ya, I know. You know lah, how difficult for Singapore, food must buy from outside, everything must buy from outside. How to control price? But my people tell me won’t be so bad from now. Prices not going up so fast. Still high? Okay, I see what I can do. But you got your rebates right? Spend properly lah. Or eat at home. Oh. Got no time to cook…Your daughter leh? What is she doing? Oh. Working. No time to cook. No time to find boyfriend also…

What?! She don’t want to get married?! But she must! Tell her to find boyfriend fast, then she go get HDB flat. Flat cannot afford? Depends lah. Which location? Try three-room first.  Anyway, my people coming up with something for people like her to get married and have babies. You want another grandson or not? Don’t want? Want to sit in coffeeshop all day with your kakis…. Alamak.

Your son how? Got job already? He say pay too low? So what he doing everyday? Oh. He go casino ah. Can afford the $100 to go in meh? You want me to ban him from going in? We can put him on this list so he cannot go in. What that’s the only way to make money? If not, he become ah long? Cannot. Cannot. Tell him to come see me.

What you mean no point? Companies hire only China people? Cannot be. We got quota. You tell me which company, I go get my people to chase. Yes. Yes. We trying to make sure not too many foreigners come. Don’t worry. But your son willing to work or not? Like that Ah Mei at that coffee stall there. I think she come from Guangzhou.  Ah Mei is married to a Singaporean you know. Ah Mei, ni hou.

Wait, wait. Ah pek, your wife last week complain to me you got China girlfriend and your CPFmoney all go to her…Stop! Stop! Don’t go hit your wife! Sit down. Ah Mei, kopi-o kosong lai. (Eh, you, go translate. She doesn’t understand.)

You don’t like Indians also? Don’t be like that. You make that Shanmugam very unhappy. Oh. That’s why you take MRT out, don’t want to stay in the east all the time ah. Good. Good. Use public transport. No point take car. Oh….can’t afford COE ah. Anyway, public transport very good. You have to be patient lah, must wait for train a bit, squeeze a bit. Breakdown not that often. Anyway, these MRT people now very scared. Don’t worry. Next time, not so many breakdowns. Must give chance, trains getting old. Like you. You also cannot move so fast right?

Ah Tee, you have two sons right? In school already? Oh pre-school, good, good. PCF kindergarten? Okay what, why you want to move them to Montessori. You can’t even pronounce the name. Not true la. Facilities the same. Somemore, you kena pay so much more. Oh, you want your sons to play the violin ah. Okay, I see if PCF got violin lessons. Anyway, cheng hu will do something lah. You HDB people very important. Very important. Your sons will get into good primary schools, don’t worry. No. No, don’t have to rent flat next to Rosyth.

Encik, you walk to this kopi-tiam everyday ah? Good exercise. Oh, you also walk to polyclinic and hospital ah. How come? Diabetic. Cataract. High blood pressure….Aiyoh. You use your Medisave or not? You got Medishield or not? Oh. Cannot understand how to use ah. You go to hospital reception and ask. Cannot understand the Filippino nurse ah. Get your children to go with you.

What? Your sons moved to Batam? How come? Cheap house. You moving also???? Alamak.

Hello, Sir, do you come here often? Oh, for breakfast….good, good. And how is your family? Your daughter is an undergraduate…good, good. Son also ..good, good. Both studying overseas….good, good. What?! They want to stay over there? How come? Tell them we will always have good jobs here. Singapore is a vibrant city. Look at Gardens by the Bay! River taxis along Boat Quay, Robertson Quay, Clark Quay! Pandas at the zoo! It will be a good, even better life for them! They needn’t worry that they cannot afford to buy a car or private property. Start small. Start small. Oh, they want to start big, because they think they deserve it, after working so hard at their exams. Oh, your son’s gay…Your daughter? Single mother…Alamak.

Anyway, I have to chabot now. I have to go make my National Day Rally speech. About what? Oh, a national conversation about national identity and the country’s fundamentals. How to work for a better Singapore. What sort of Singapore we want. You know, a new national narrative.

Liak boh kiu?  

Never mind.

This article first appeared on Bertha Henson's blog. Bertha Henson is a former Associate Editor of The Straits Times.

Photo Courtesy: Gintai

You May Also Like

Video demostrating how not to signal when riding bicycles

Many people choose to use a bicycle nowadays when travelling as it saves…

MPs urged Government to ensure establishments such as coffee shops do not profiteer by using water fee hikes as excuse

Members of Parliament (MP) for Nee Soon GRC urged the Government, especially…

冠“经理”假职称于雇员 人资部:雇主变相剥削加班费

新加坡人力资源部透露,该部去年收到50宗个案投诉,指他们被雇主赋予有名无实的“经理”或执行员的职称,实则为了规避支付员工加班费福利。 其中90巴仙个案都有凭有据,人资部严正看待有关雇主,并警告雇主不得用此途径,剥夺雇员的权益。 “我们不只是从工作的职称衡量,更会考量具体工作内容、在公司的管理领域:雇佣、下属纪律、解雇和下属表现方面,拥有决策权。” 人资部也引用近期高庭一个个案,一名拥有监工职称的孟加拉籍劳工,实则并没有执行员权利,高庭基于其工作性质和其管理权限,判定他理应获得在休息期间工作的薪资。 在劳工法令下,除非该雇员为执行员,工资如不超过2500新元就应享有加班费等福利。 早前,职总郑德源也曾在微博分享,有雇主刻意为雇员冠以经理的假职称,实则想走法律漏洞,不需支付该雇员加班费。 他指出,全国有三万名员工被归类为专业、经理和执行员(PME),但他们实得薪资却不超过2千500新元。 人力资源部也表明有意检讨上述法令规定,让雇员不论其薪资或是否具备管理权限,都理应获得加班工资。不过,有关规章不包括薪资超过4500新元的雇员。

泰国今年起禁塑料袋 泰民祭出各种法宝购物

泰国今年1月2日起,开始禁止大型零售商向顾客派发塑料袋,但没有塑料袋的他们又该怎么办呢?虽然没有了购物袋,但他們似乎不沮丧,甚至开始慢慢地习惯了… 自禁止塑料袋那天起,各大泰国网友纷纷将自己的购物照上传到网络上,引起网民的关注。 除了善用行李箱,他们使用推车、水桶、大米袋等物当作塑料袋使用,在拍照上传到网络上,让人啼笑皆非。 泰国今年起禁止大型零售商向顾客派发塑料袋,最终目标是在2021年全面禁止使用塑料袋。 泰国政府去年11月已发布限塑令,从2020年1月1日起,全泰所有大型商场、超市及便利店停止为顾客提供塑胶袋。 泰国自然资源与环境部长沃拉戊说,希望能在2021年达到“全泰无塑”的目标,因此在2020年到来前,环境与自然资源部已向43家大型商场及超市便利店协商,不再向顾客出售或赠送塑料袋。 当局去年展开首阶段计划,鼓励消费者自发停止向商家索取塑料袋后,当地去年使用的塑料袋减少了20亿个。 他说,接下来最困难的工作,是减少菜市场和农村地区的塑料袋使用率。这些地方的塑料袋使用率,占了全国的40%。