~ by Lewis Loh ~

After watching the news on TV about the NParks’s Brompton bicycles purchase, I had more serious questions about this particular company that won the tender as well as the tender itself.

Disclaimer – I am not questioning the model selection as I know the quality of a Brompton bicycles. Besides the tender process, I just have these key questions and observations regarding the eventual winner of this tender, a company known as BikeHop.

The mystery of BikeHop

Is BikeHop a bicycle shop, a tour agency, or an online shop? I cannot figure this out.

Their registered address is a terrace house in a residential area at Siak Kew Ave (Potong Pasir area). It neither operate as a brick and mortar bicycle shop nor does it apparently have any links online to sell bicycles. The issue of whether they can provide actual technical/mechanical support and assistance is questionable.

Brompton's authorised distributor and their network of dealers in Singapore offer a standard 5 year warranty on frames and 2 year on parts, far exceeding the tender requirements! All this for only S$50 more than the winning bid.

Also, I noticed that there are strict regulations pertaining to registering a company as a tour agency. BikeHop's website and YouTube channel seem to portray themselves as a tour agency conducting tours in Singapore and overseas.

Besides doing the usual procedures of company registration with a key executive and directors, they must also fulfil these three important criteria.

1. Paid-up Capital – The company must have paid-up capital of at least S$100,000.

2. Email Address and TRUST – The company must have a website to operate the business. The company must also observe the “Terms and Conditions for the Use of the Travel Related Users’ System (TRUST)”. The TRUST website is a state-sanctioned website that provides relevant information, resources and advice related to the travel industry in Singapore.

I went to the TRUST website and searched for the company BikeHop and they were not listed there. Either they are not a registered tour agency or have not updated their information.

However, TRUST lists all the up to date information on all licensed travel and tour agents in Singapore, but judging from their videos and website, the company has at least been around for a year?

3. Office Space and Signboard – the company must set up a business office dedicated solely to travel agency operations. The space cannot be shared with any other type of business. An easily visible signboard that reflects the nature your business must be erected. If you are an individual freelance travel agent conducting business from home, in either an HDB flat or private accommodation, you must obtain approval from the Housing Development Board or Urban Redevelopment Authority before the STB will give you your license.

I don't seem to recall having seen any tour agency operating from the terrace house in Siak Kew Avenue and since a tour agency cannot be shared with any other type of business, the question again I ask, are they a bicycle shop or a tour agency?

Questioning the tender process

Besides the information listed in the tender, I also noticed was this particular tender was drawn up on 19 Jan 2012, the day before Chinese New Year, and put up on the GeBIZ site on 3rd day of Chinese New Year (25 Jan 2012)?

If I wanted to place an open tender bidding, I would want maximum exposure throughout the particular industry for them to have time to come up with their offers.

Which bicycle shop do you know in Singapore opens on 3rd day of Chinese New Year and will scan the GeBIZ website to come across a tender that expires in a few days’ time? No wonder Brompton's official distributor in Singapore and local dealer networks knew nothing about the NParks tender!

Even if the official distributor submitted a bid, they could still be beaten by their own dealer networks as the official distributor is under obligation not to undercut their retailer networks.

The irony of this situation is that NParks could have got their Brompton bicycles much cheaper and WITH full warranty, mechanical and technical support!

The points I have brought up point towards the fact that obtaining the Brompton bicycles from BikeHop Singapore was not the best deal by far.

Transparency and answers needed

In summary, the tender seemed to be timed in such a way to minimise exposure to the cycling industry (drawn up one day before Chinese New Year and put up on the GeBIZ site on 3rd day of Chinese New Year) and the legitimacy of the company, that won the tender as a bicycle shop, is questionable at best.

The full details of the tender can be found here.

My $0.02 without GST.

TOC thanks Lewis for allowing us to reproduce his article, which first appeared here.

You May Also Like

Live reporting of SDP's last rally on 5 May for Bukit Batok By-Election

Singapore Democratic Party held its last rally at the open field near…

以为李函轩仅是体力耗尽 指挥官再三被提醒仍延误送医

即使已经出现中暑现象,指挥官却误判国民服役人员李函轩仅是体力耗尽,错失送医抢救时间,医疗专家也认为,“拖了40分钟才将他送医,真的是太久了。” 本周三(13日),有关李函轩事件的细节,以及指挥官多项违规的情况,首次在验尸庭研讯(coroner’s inquiry)上曝光。 根据警方的调查报告,已故指挥官陈宝树,当时评估李函轩为体力耗尽,而不是中暑,因此拒绝指派他到医疗中心接受治疗,而是要求他在原地等待。 同时,他也拒绝了为李函轩吊点滴,延迟了40分钟才送医,医疗专家分析,由于时间拖得太久,引起多器官衰竭,致使李函轩不幸死亡,年仅19岁。 李函轩在中暑前身体看似无恙 法院得知,李函轩于2018年4月18日早上6点45分与其他军人一同快步行军,他在一开始看上去身体状况良好,还能与上级谈天。 然而,在最后两公里时,他向一级中士报告自己小腿抽筋,被允许暂停休息做伸展,并在最后一阶段,持续获得休息。 当时身为第一精卫营的指挥官陈宝树在最后300米加入行军,而李函轩则在8点25分左右越过终点线,最终跪在地上。 据悉,当时他时间线已经被记录下来,并被带到休息区,可是当他走到休息区时已经开始摇晃,口齿不清。 据观察,他开始出现反应迟钝、口水直流、呼吸沉重。他的装备也立即被移除和衣服被揭开。在陈宝树的指示下,将冰袋放在李函轩脖子、腋下和腹股沟,并用水冲洗脸部。 李函轩也被灌上等渗饮料(isotonic…

The Legion of Racers are on the lookout for new drivers to represent Singapore in e-racing events

After a successful inaugural start-up in 2018, the Legion of Racers (LOR)…

SIA Cargo to ban carriage of shark's fin on all its flights

Singapore Airlines (SIA) Cargo has announced that its flights will stop carrying…