Leong Sze Hian /

It was 8 p.m. on a Thursday night when our first couple came for financial counseling.

Mr Lim (not his real name) is a 47-year-old taxi driver and a bankrupt. Mrs Lim is an accounts executive. They have three children  – two are in school and one is in National Service.

They have obtained permission from the Official Assignee to sell their Executive Condo (EC), so that they can try to clear their debts and buy a resale HDB flat. However, HDB sent them a letter, dated 1 June, rejecting their appeal through their Member of Parliament (MP) for a HDB Concessionary Loan.

Over the last few months, they have appealed a few times directly to the HDB and also through their MP.

EC owners not eligible

The HDB letter of rejection states that:

“… applicants who wish to apply for a second HDB concessionary loan must meet all the eligibility requirements, one of which is that they must not own/have an interest in any private property, including Executive Condominium (EC).

You are currently owning an EC. Hence, your household is not eligible for a second HDB concessionary loan.

From the documents submitted, we gathered that you are selling your EC at $954,000. After deducting the outstanding loan of $276,000, your wife and you are expected to receive CPF refunds of about $431,000 and cash proceeds of about $213,000. You have informed that you use about $106,000 to discharge from bankruptcy, $70,000 to settle your wife’s debts and the rest for your children’s university fees.

Your wife and you may wish to use your combined CPF refunds and available cash savings to outright purchase an affordable flat, before using the balance to settle your debts.”

Facing bankruptcy and homelessness

As Mr and Mrs Lim have been trying to explain to the HDB in their appeals, it is the Official Assignee’s requirement when permission was given to sell their EC that the cash proceeds must be used to discharge his bankruptcy debts, and that his wife’s debts must be cleared because she may be made bankrupt too and thus not be able to purchase a resale flat. Their combined net income is already insufficient to pay for their EC mortgage monthly repayments and the minimum monthly repayments on Mrs Lim’s credit card debts, as well as the cash-over-valuation for a resale flat.

Mrs Lim’s credit card debts of over $70,000 were primarily incurred to keep their home for the last seven years, which has a monthly mortgage of over $2,000. They won’t have this problem, if theirs is a HDB flat, as HDB flat sales proceeds are protected from creditors.

Since some EC owners may in a sense have been forced by HDB to buy, because they exceeded the Income Ceiling of $8,000 for HDB flats, why are they being discriminated as never ever needing a second HDB concessionary loan like Mr and Mrs Lim?

How can the HDB assume that all EC owners can get a bank loan?

Singaporeans who are undischarged or discharged bankrupts, have adverse Consumer Credit Bureau credit records, have been sued in their lifetime for a debt, loan quantum less than $100,000, etc, are typically denied housing loans by banks.

This leaves them short of about $30,000 to $50,000 (depending on the resale flat’s COV), which they are asking the HDB to lend to them as a second HDB concessionary loan, because no bank will lend them a housing loan as the husband is a bankrupt.

Second concessionary loan eligibility?

As we try to explain the HDB’s new second concessionary loan eligibility requirements which were changed last year to allow downgraders to be eligible, but at the same time imposed more stringent eligibility requirements such as that half of the cash proceeds from the previous flat’s sale must be utilised for the resale flat, Mrs Lim broke down and kept saying she cannot understand why they have $431,000 of CPF but yet they can’t buy a resale flat, because of HDB’s policies.

We tried to console her by saying that as there is now a new National Development Minister, who has been saying almost every other day that he will look into the HDB’s policies and help Singaporeans who may be suffering from their HDB housing problems, that hopefully the policies which affect Singaporeans like them may be reviewed soon.

Homeless soon?

Although we all put up a brave face and tried to console Mrs Lim that the new Minister may look into issues like theirs soon – we knew deep down in our hearts that they may be homeless, by the middle of next month, as they had already signed the documents to sell their EC following the Official Assignees’ approval.

Alex Lew, Lee Mei Wei, Ko Siew Huey and Leong Sze Hian provide free financial counseling every Thursday from 8 – 10 pm., at Block 108, Potong Pasir Ave 1.

Subscribe
Notify of
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
You May Also Like

Six ICU patients dies after being trapped in fire blaze at Sultanah Aminah Hospital, Johor Baru

Six out of seven patients in Intensive-Care Unit (ICU), four women and two…

税收局揭新逃税手法 两个月逮10逃税集团成员

新加坡内陆税收局(IRAS)在过去两个月中,成功逮捕了涉及长期循环式消费税逃税行为的10名犯罪集团成员。 当局于周三(11月13日)发出文告指出,该局税务调查员于10月23日至24日,以及11月12至13日所展开的突击行动中,首次援引消费税法令所赋予的新权利执法。 在全岛展开的突击行动中,官员们突击了36家企业和包括加冷、淡滨尼、蔡厝港等73个地点,起获约200台电子器材和商业记录,并有41人被带到当局调查。 税务调查官指出,“逃税者正在改变其形象。以往我们只针对未能完全报告其收入,或申报某些消费不被纳入税收的商人,才会展开调查。现在,我们必须和更多曾涉案违规成员的犯罪集团打交道”。 “有些嫌疑人可能会非常不合作,他们会尝试销毁纸质文件,或拒绝交出证据。透过新的逮捕权力,我们的调查员可以更有效地将肇事者绳之於法。” 调查循环式欺诈逃税案 在此循环式欺诈逃税案,或“旋转木马式”消费税逃税骗局(carousel frauds)中,同一商品会透过人为的供应链进行交易,而商品最终将被运出口。虽然供应链上的多家公司看似无关,但是它们通常都由一个策划单位负责。 举例说,A公司取得商品后出售给B公司,而在商品供应时必须缴交消费税,但是A公司的总监却选择闹失踪,拒绝缴交消费税。 商品随后会进一步出售给充当“缓冲”的伪造企业,但是最后都会出口给另一家海外公司,而出口公司会从中赚取进项税(input GST)回扣。 有关的商品甚至会被循环使用,即从海外再次进口到我国“企业”手中,再次重复上述的供应链。…

过去个资泄露事故前车之鉴 人民党疑虑政府推出穿戴式配备

早前,主管智慧国计划的外交部长维文,宣称首批“合力追踪”穿戴式配备将在本月下旬推出,他也指出还配备不是追踪器,设备无网络连接性或卫星定位晶片,当局须取得确诊者同意,才能索取数据。 他强调穿戴式配备不会追踪使用者的位置。 不过,人民党副秘书长Ariffin Sha针对有关穿戴式配备表达疑虑,呼吁政府应当谨慎处理新加坡人的隐私,也提及过去政府曾有数次大型的数据泄露事故: 2018年新保集团150万病患资料被盗,其中16万住院治疗记录外泄,堪称历年来最严重,卫生部长颜金勇甚至特别为此事致歉。 2019年:1万4200名艾滋病病患,姓名、身份证号码、电话号码、住址和相关医疗资料等遭泄露。卫生部长颜金勇再度道歉。 2019年3月:卫生科学局(HSA)透露,超过80万名捐血者的姓名、身份证号码、性别和血性等个人资料,被挂上有互联网连接的服务器长达九个星期,面临资料疏漏风险。 该党认为,尽管疫情当前,惟不应正当化对民众隐私的干预,再者,配备仍会记录私人的数据,若落在不法之徒手上遭滥用是很危险的。该党为此呼吁政府寻求其他更合适的方案。

Remembering Dr Toh Chin Chye

~by: Dr Wong Wee Nam~ I cannot forget his kind gesture. It…