We have noticed that of late, government ministers & officials, and People’s Action Party members have been criticizing Singaporeans and their attitudes towards a myriad of issues – from employment to public housing.

We thus would like to collate all of these into a single thread here.

Our hope is that the government will see for itself the callous, unfair and condescending attitude it and its members have adopted towards Singaporeans and do some soul-searching. Singaporeans work hard, very hard, and gives the PAP government its vote of confidence at every election since independence.

Are such remarks towards Singaporeans justified?

If you come across any such Singaporeans-bashing remarks, please do email them to us at: [email protected].

Please read also: Bashing Singaporeans – PAP gets in on the act.

We begin with Deputy Prime Minister Teo Chee Hean’s remarks in the Straits Times on 8 April 2010:

INADEQUATE

“Employees must not conveniently use the excuse of perceived discriminatory work practices to cover up their own work inadequacies.”

DPM TEO CHEE HEAN (Straits Times, 8 April 2010, Page A6)

—–

MOLLYCODDLED

“A boy who is mollycoddled is a very different person from the one who is physically tough and takes spills without fear and whining.”

MP FOR MARINE PARADE GRC, SAM TAN (Straits Times, 25 May 2009)

—–

SLOW

“I think the spurs are not stuck on your hinds. They are part of the herd, why-go-faster?”

MM LEE KUAN YEW (National Geographic, Jan 2010)

——

LESSER MORTALS

“Mr Tan didn’t “brag” about how expensive the trip was in the article. Maybe it made lesser mortals envious and they thought maybe he was a bit boastful.”

MP FOR PASIR-RIS-PUNGGOL CHARLES CHONG (Jan 2009)

—–

UNREALISTIC

Straits Times, April 2010

—–

NO SELF-CONFIDENCE

“How can this be? People are coming to learn from us, see how we teach, why we are successful. Yet our teachers don’t have self-confidence.”

DPM TEO CHEE HEAN (Straits Times, April 2010)

—–

IRRATIONAL

“THE Minister in the Prime Minister’s Office on Sunday acknowledged Singaporeans’ concern over immigration issues, but urged them to avoid ‘developing irrational fears’ towards new immigrants.’

Straits Times, April 2010

—–

SENSITIVE

“People are sensitive.”

DPM TEO CHEE HEAN (CNA, April 2010)

—–

COMPLACENT

“Complacency sets in when a people have not suffered any shock or setback for a long time, as in Singapore without jihadist terror attacks… [Singaporeans] are being complacent when they believe that the Government will take care of all security matters.”

MM LEE KUAN YEW (March 2008)

—–

DEPENDENCY MENTALITY

This has bred a dependency mentality in our population who will blame the civil service and Government if any of their needs are not met.”

MP FOR SEMBAWANG GRC, LIM WEE KIAK (March 2008)

—–

IMMATURE, WHINY

“I don’t want whining Singapore boys. They are not mature even though they have done national service and are over 22 years old when they take up undergraduate studies.”

PHILIP YEO, EX-CHAIRMAN, A-STAR (Straits Times, 2005)

—–

BEMOANING

“[A] well-educated university graduate who works for a multinational company should not be bemoaning about the Government and get on with the challenges in life.”

MP FOR ANG MO KIO GRC, WEE SIEW KIM (Straits Times, 2005)

—–

DOGS

“If you can select a population and they’re educated and they’re properly brought up, then you don’t have to use too much of the stick because they would already have been trained. It’s like with dogs. You train it in a proper way from small. It will know that it’s got to leave, go outside to pee and to defecate. No, we are not that kind of society. We had to train adult dogs who even today deliberately urinate in the lifts.”

MM LEE KUAN YEW (“The Man And His Ideas”, 1997)

—–

CHAMPION GRUMBLERS

“Singaporeans are champion grumblers.”

MM LEE KUAN YEW, (National Geographic, Jan 2010)

—–

PROTESTING TOO MUCH, VOLUNTARILY UNEMPLOYED

“SINGAPOREANS who complain about foreigners taking away their jobs may be protesting too much… [Some Singaporeans] are voluntarily unemployed.”

TAN KHEE GIAP, Associate Professor, Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy (Straits Times, Mar 2010)

—–

BANKRUPT

“A SEGMENT of the Malay community has been likened to bankrupt English soccer club Portsmouth by Senior Parliamentary Secretary (Education) Masagos Zulkifli.”

Straits Times, Mar 2010

—–

LAZY AND TOO OLD

“I know of one family who complain the cleaners in their precinct are lazy and too old. They don’t want local workers who are old, they want young foreign workers. To satisfy the demand, I changed the local workers to foreign workers.”

ONG AH HENG, MP FOR NEE SOON CENTRAL (Straits Times, Mar 2010)

—–

CHOOSY

“The problem of choosy workers is still with us.”

THEN-MINISTER OF STATE FOR MANPOWER, NG ENG HEN (MOM, 2003)

—–

MAIDS

“Your asset values will disappear, your apartment will be worth a fraction of what it is, your jobs will be in peril, your security will be at risk and our women will become maids in other people’s countries, foreign workers.”

MM LEE KUAN YEW (Straits Times, 5 April 2007)

——–

“DAFT”

“It adds to their wealth and this is asset-enhancing policy Mr Lee believes citizens should not find fault with. If they do, they must be daft’, he said…”

MM LEE KUAN YEW (CNA, January 2010)

—–

“IRRESPONSIBLE”, “SPREADING FALSEHOODS”

Dr Balakrishnan also berated “irresponsible websites” for circulating the clip. “Now that the facts are out, let’s see whether these people who’ve been propagating falsehoods have the courage and honesty to set the facts right,” he said.

VIVIAN BALAKRISHNAN, (Straits Times, April 2010)

———–

“SMALL-MINDED”, “UNFAIR”, “VERY, VERY SELFISH”, “UNSPORTSMENLIKE”

“To deny them [new citizens sportsmen] to call themselves Singaporeans is very, very selfish. It’s very unsportsmenlike…”

VIVIAN BALAKRISHNAN (Straits Times, 23 June 2010)

————-

CROWDED TRAINS – SINGAPOREANS’ FAULT

“People can board the train – it is whether they choose to.”

SAW PHAIK HWA, SMRT CEO (Straits Times, 27 June 2010)

————–

IGNORANT

“The Taiwanese are ruthless, Hong Kongers are shameless and Singaporeans are ignorant.”

LEE KUAN YEW, (Today, 14 July 2010)

———–

“GRIPE”… “VUVUZELAS”

“This is far healthier than to live the Singapore Gripe and drone on like vuvuzelas.”

GOH CHOK TONG (7 August 2010)

—————

SINGAPOREANS COMPLAINING TOO MUCH

SENIOR Minister Goh Chok Tong has chided Singaporeans for complaining too much about overcrowded trains and the lack of carpark spaces and public housing.

GOH CHOK TONG, Straits Times (4 Sept 2010)

———————-

[We’ll update this page on a regular basis.]

Subscribe
Notify of
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
You May Also Like

网购后的箱子可以传递爱心!新邮政推暖心措施,为年长者送物资

随着网购时代迅速串起,邮递物品成了相当重要,但在享受网购后开箱的快乐后,有想过那些箱子该如何处理吗?顶多也就是回收吧。但,先别急着将箱子回收,你的箱子可能还可以做爱心! 配合世界邮政日,收件人即日起在清空包装箱内的物品后,可再循环利用空的包装箱,把健康必需品放入内,新邮政就会为你免费把包装箱寄给有需要的年长者。 新邮政近日推出一项爱心措施,民众可以在网购后,再次使用已开箱过的包装箱,把一些健康用品放入内,由新邮政将爱心传送到年长者家中,一切免收邮费。 新邮政表示,将提供约4000个包装箱子免费寄送服务,而即日起,民众也可以到特定邮政局购买箱子传递爱心,该活动将持续至1月31日。 新邮政集团首席品牌通讯员吴为强表示,“希望能够和民众一起为年长者传达爱心与关心,同时也借此机会响应环保。” 此外,Shopee也响应新邮政活动,将基本健康物品包装好销售给民众,民众可以直接下单购买,并直接捐赠给触爱乐龄活动中心(TOUCH ),该活动于昨日(9日)开始。 触爱乐龄活动中心助理经理杨燕红表示,“我们想要感谢新邮政策划具有意义的活动。年长者通常会需要一些温度计、直通贴片或是胶布。对他们而言,这些小小的基本物品反而会起了大大的帮助,因为他们会将仅有的钱用在更需要的地方。因此我们希望这些物品能够为老人带来一点宽慰与支援,让他们的生活能够更具流动性。” 那应该要如何捐赠? 新邮政也提供了以下三步骤: 将包装箱开箱后,把一些必需品放入已开箱过的包装盒中,并将它密封,强烈建议捐赠者可以捐赠以下物品: 创可贴…

竞选期间破坏政党海报 两男遭提控

2020年大选竞选期间,包括前进党、人民行动党都针对选举海报被破坏报警。 据了解,两名男子也因涉嫌破坏竞选海报,在今日被控上庭。 根据《国会选举条例》,任何人损毁或移除竞选海报,都可面对最高监禁一年、罚款1千元或两者兼施的刑罚。他们将在明年1月,再次出庭认罪。 48岁的男子Lim Song Huat,被控在7月3日,在兀兰13街损毁三张人民行动党的竞选海报。另一人则是51岁的Constantine Paul,涉嫌在6月30日,从武吉巴督东5道的路灯,扯下两张前进党海报。

CPF protest: questions on transparency and Medishield premium excess

By Terry Xu More than a thousand individual turned up at Hong…

Over 800 patients from 104 clinics prescribed medicine with inaccurately printed dosages; More than double of estimated patients affected by GPConnect glitch

More than 800 patients from 104 clinics were affected by the software…