From the Singapore Democratic Party’s website:

Human rights activist Mr Seelan Palay is serving a 12-day prison term for taking part in the Tak Boleh Tahan (Malay for “cannot take it”) protest on 15 Mar 08 outside Parliament House.

Mr Seelan was convicted together with 8 other activists by District Judge Chia Wee Kiat in Mar 2010. All of them have appealed the conviction. The appeal hearing date has yet to be fixed. Some of those convicted, including Ms Chee Siok Chin and Dr Chee Soon Juan, have served their two-week sentences.

Mr Seelan, who produced One Nation Under Lee (ONUL), is facing another charge of participating in an illegal assembly on 9 Aug 08 together with 10 other activists (see here).

The record-breaking video (which has nearly 100,000 views) has awakened many a young Singaporean. In fact, a few of the SDP’s Young Democrats joined the party after watching ONUL.

The activist is also behind much of the campaigning against the mandatory death penalty. In fact, he has taken with him Once A Jolly Hangman written by Mr Alan Shadrake into prison to read. The book is for all intents and purposes banned in Singapore and Mr Shadrake himself is being charged with contempt of court.

Mr Seelan was taken to court this morning in prison garb and shackled. When the Judge, Mr Kessler Soh, began the session, Mr Seelan said: “Before we begin, I’d like to clarify that I’m in the dock in shackles, cuffs and chains not because I have committed any crime. I am here in this state because of another unjust law administered on behalf of the PAP Government.”

Read the full write-up here.

Subscribe
Notify of
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
You May Also Like

TOC Focus Week: Heart of hearing

This is our fifth article in our Focus Week on people who,…

The TOC team behind the coverage of Aware Eogm

TOC editors thank team which covered AWARE event. It was a challenging and tiring experience for everyone involved because of the scale of the event and the long hours involved.

The WP – being effective, in and out of Parliament

A “GE2011 One Year On” special report ~ By Gordon Lee ~…

What it means to be critical and skeptical

Being critical means you care about our nation and want to improve…