Ash Tong / Guest Writer

I have always taken great discomfort, when MSM and biased marketing talk always refer to the pricing of new flats as “Discount to the market” or “Cheaper than comparative condominiums in the area’.

The Ang Mo Kio and Bishan projects are priced at above $400,000 for a new 4 room flat, applicant for these projects are subjected to the $8,000-income cap. A simple break down of the math.

Gross Income: $8000

CPF: $1600

CPF into OA for housing needs: $1082.56

Nett Cash: $6400

4 room Natura Loft project in Bishan: 465k

Monthly installment based on 30 years 2.6% calculation: $1861.38

Hence each family would have to top up $778.82 into their CPF for their housing each month, which makes up to 12 per cent of their disposable income. If you change the calculations for a 20-year repayment, the percentage of their disposable income used to top their CPF moves into the 20 per cent range.

Ideally, all applicants for these projects would have a perfect gross income of 8k, and the flats would be affordable. However, often couples with incomes below 8k, might be unsuitably stretched, by buying such flats.

As a side note, it should be no surprise that this project was awarded to the highest tender.

CPF housing grant for family living within 2km are only eligible for DBSS projects, and additional housing grants are only eligible for families who earn below a $4,000 gross income. Given the number of DBSS projects that have been released in the past year, it defeats the purpose of encouraging families to stay at close proximity as it comes with a huge price because these projects cost 400k and upwards. I do not recall any Non-DBSS projects in mature estates released in the past year.

The additional housing grants equates to lip service as no sane couple could afford a DBSS project with a 4k gross income.

All other new flats are not eligible for any grants as they are sold, “at a great discount”. The argument would not hold, when we look deeper into the figures; e.g. a new Toa Payoh Central Horizon flat cost up to 550k for a new 5 room flat, using the PSM or PSF to compare with resale flats will show that these flats are not priced at discount at all.

Now lets not be choosy as Singaporeans, HDB is trying their best to give us a home.

So we turn to non-mature estates like Punggol. Yet again, we’re subjected to manipulated pricing.

I refer to the latest BTO project, Punggol Arcadia offered by HDB.

In a similar location just across the street, Coralinus/Treelodge@ponggol BTO project, indicative prices taken from October Half yearly Sale:

In another location with similar proximity to Ponggol MRT, released May2008:

These 3 projects all hold the same proximity to Ponggol MRT station, and are all touted as premium projects. However we should question why the indicative price range has risen from between 7 per cent to 14 per cent? The internal floor area has all but gone up by less than 2 per cent comparatively. I have only drawn the comparison for 4 room flats, but similar directional trend can be noticed in 3 and 5 room offerings as well.

According to news reports, commodities have gone down, demand for construction might slowdown hence might require government reversal in placing some infrastructure projects on hold; so why the increase in prices for such flats?

Minister for National Development, Mr Mah Bow Tan, once said something along these lines. “Instead of building in sync with population growth, which resulted in several excess of flats, we shall now build in sync with demand, hence the BTO model.”

Doesn’t that mean demand will always exceed supply; hence the price floors/equilibrium prices for new flats will be artificial?

Can these directives by HDB be considered duress?

Quoted from their press release:

The above measures will encourage applicants to consider their options carefully before participating in a HDB sale exercise. They will also help to minimize non-selection of HDB flats by applicants who repeatedly participate in sales exercises and thus divert HDB’s time and resources from those with urgent housing needs.”

This press release was in reference, to the change of rules for balloting of flats. However in the latest October half yearly sale, a 20-year old Bedok flat was also offered in the ballot. Half yearly sales do not allow applicants to choose the indicative area they prefer, nor do they allocate married child priority since applicants are unable to indicate the areas they prefer.

So one does wonder, if the applicant whose family nucleus is in the west, is invited to select a flat and this particular Bedok flat is the last choice available, does one fault him for non-selection?

We are made to pay even for the basic automated electronic process of balloting, yet HDB’s stand seems to infer that if we need a house we should take what they offer. As mentioned, we do not pay a discount, and HDB does make a profit from selling the flats, so why should we be penalized for being selective when we buy our flats?

A home to an ordinary Singaporean like me should be a nest of warmth where I return to my family every night, yet it seems to have been turned into a monopolistic business model, with minimal sense of ownership given.

I do also wonder what HDB’s urgent housing needs refer to, as all I see is an unnecessary spate of DBSS and overpriced projects.

——

Subscribe
Notify of
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
You May Also Like

有失业者递交500申请仅一家公司回复 本地PMET失业并非只因“技能不足”

中年专业人员、经理、执行员与技师(PMET)的就业困境一直是我国关注的课题,政府也提出数项“措施”,以助他们解决就业困境。日前《今日报》采访几名面临困境的中年PMET,他们的究竟如何?面临何种困难? “不常换工、也不期望领高薪,我单纯要一份工作维持生计” 49岁的Jeff,曾在一家跨国制造公司工作,自去年10月开始,公司裁员后就失业。期间他也一直在寻找新的工作,并向500家公司递交了求职申请,但截至目前,他只收到过一次的答复。 他在失业前曾领取每月5千900元的工资,但在失业后,他为了能够找到新的工作,只能开出比以往更低的工资,共2千元,以换的工作机会。 “我工作了26年,目前只在3家公司任职,我并不是很容易跳槽的人,也不期望能够领高薪的人,我单纯需要一份工作维持生计。” 他在说此番话时,正等待着公司的第二轮面试,而该公司也是唯一一家愿意提供面试机会的公司。 他说,他必须要尽快工作,因为家里仍然有一家大小正等着他养。 “我不想浪费太多时间,我只能专注在开Grab,因为这也是的唯一出路,唯一适合的工作。” (图源:今日报) 除了Jeff以外,另名52岁的PMET林先生也遭遇就业困境。他采访时表示,过去曾在星和电信公司(Starhub)工作了20年,担任高级客户经理,月薪为1万元,但在两年前,却被裁员。 在失业后,他也曾向不少公司递交求职申请,但却被拒绝,有些公司拒绝的理由为他年纪较大,而且开出的条件较高,即是只是月薪4000元,是他前一份工作的40巴仙而已。 在经历多次拒绝后,林先生最终选择开Grab,他表示这是唯一适合而且不再浪费时间寻工的办法。…

The NAC’s remark that The Substation wants autonomy over 45 Armenian Street is “incomplete”, says arts centre

Returning to 45 Armenian Street as co-tenant after renovation works are complete…

Executive Sub-Editor of Lianhe Zaobao laments the loss of The Substation as giving up “part of our collective souls”

Executive Sub- Editor of Lianhe Zaobao, Choo Lip Sin (Choo) shared his…

Bangladeshi man becomes Singapore’s first imported COVID-19 case in over a month

A Bangladeshi man who reportedly came to Singapore in search of medical…