Earlier last week, MP for Ang Mo Kio GRC Koh Poh Koon posted a picture of him on his Facebook page helping an elderly to bring a trolley full of cardboards and newspaper.
On his post, he wrote, “Saw 70 year old Mdm Lim from Blk 235 struggling to move 32kg of old newspaper for recycling. Good thing we ran into her and helped her with the load. Found out that with her bad knees and unsteady gait, she actually fell and had a slight bruise on her forehead just before we came across her. Fortunately she wasn’t severely injured.”
“Asked why she expended so much efforts to recycle these items, she insisted she wanted to do her part to protect our environment. Her single-mindedness towards a worthy cause is deserving of a salute! Advised her to not over exert and to let us know in future when she needed help with these items,” he continued.
“Thank you, Mdm Lim, for being an inspiration and a role model!” Dr Koh added.
kpk1
kpk2
However, the picture that he posted did not garner the positive feedback that he may have hoped for. Many netizens questioned his decision to post his good deed, saying that such acts need not be publicised.
Some also pointed out that the auntie must have been transporting the newspaper to be sold to the karang guni but told another story as she was embarrassed with by Dr Koh’s question about the newspapers.
Here are some of the comments by the netizens:

• Shania Fernando wrote, “Lol. Previously was exercise. Now is “doing her part to be environmentally friendly.” What a joke to have an mp as delusional as he is. Only people as delusional as you would be praising you for doing such a wayang act.
    “Eh cameraman come quick I carry this trolley down u snap a few shots ok? Make sure I’m the main focus hor not the aunty ah.””
  • Jerry Cheong Chow Fatt wrote, “Own self advertising own self!
    BTW, if you can lift 32 kg in a trolley and climb those steps, you’re stronger Hulk!! That trolley also not designed to hold 32 kg of dead weight.
    Next time, have your runners prepare all the facts correctly before advertising!”
  • Vasanthan Kanagashanmudaram wrote, “His outfit macham bus driver! Help for people take good photo wor… I think he is naive to think the lady is going all that trouble to save the environment. The free recycle bin is at every void deck. She is on her way to cash in the papers.”
  • Rave D’Silva wrote, “There is this saying – if you want to help the elderly, then help them but the moment you post it on Facebook with an unusually hi-def camera phone then you are just feeding your ego. Btw, come to the gym with me and I can let you feel how 32kg really feels.”
  • Dob Firdaus wrote, “Hi guys, I am a professional photographer that specializes in taking candid photographs of you doing good deeds. Your poses in the photographs provided will look genuinely pure and sincere when taken during the event. I also provide service package for 1 day event where we will keep a look out for people in need so as for you to specifically approach and extend your reach to them. Rest assured the final product will look natural and “flame-proof” suitable for you to post on social media without having backlashes. All service inclusive of drinks. PM for good rates. Thanks.”
  • Brian Lim wrote, “You bring wayang to a whole new level. Even better than your picking leaves to unclog that drain.”
  • Chua Cheng Hwa wrote, “Well done! Son of Punggol! Er…. Wait…. It is Punggol or Hougang? Oh yeah, Son of Ang Mo Kio! Tomorrow free? My mom need help to carry 35kg Newspaper at Tampines too, I booking you hor!!!”
  • Keith Chua wrote, “Woah.. Is election coming again? Hmm.. Why the wayang starts again suddenly? Previously remember always got people suddenly faint and the MP suddenly becomes the hero can assist and revive that person.. this time similar plot again? Sigh..
    Btw, is this the same MP that can see ghost one? The one that waving at invisible crowd previously? Lol.”
  • Cecil Tan wrote, “Next time be smart a bit. Ask someone else to post then tag you into it then you thank him by acknowledging him. You do not feel embarrassed, I also feel embarrassed for you.”
  • Lin Hui Min Cheyenne wrote, “Pity this old Aunty. She can hardly walk. In fact she can’t walk straight without her umbrella walking stick. How on earth can she managed a 32kg trolley of newspapers?
    And going down the steps some more. Life must be tough for her to earn maybe $2 to recycle the old papers.
    Therefore I think this story is really unbelievable.
    Why don’t someone in the RC check out this Aunty and offer some help?”
  • Mohammad Nordin wrote, “Inside that pile of newspaper lay hidden bricks.
    Whoever holds this basket of newspaper, if he be worthy, shall possess the power of Thor.”
  • Terence Ang wrote, “Posting this simply show this person is so detached from the real world. The idea that this will score point in anyway is simply mind boggling. I am also curious why our MPs are so good at meeting old people that collect cardboard and newspaper for exercise or to save the environment.”
  • Geraldine Lim wrote, “Omg! I’m helping a person, I must take picture too! Also a scale happen to be there. Lol.”
  • Wilson Theo wrote, “I think he must have forgotten to put a decimal point, it was 3.2 tonnes heavy in weight. Want to exaggerate, do it a lot more next time lah.” 
  • Basker rangachari wrote, “Nothing more than a PR gimmick to show “we are helping the poor” …. Real help comes from helping the poor overcome their big challenges – what’s happened to the quality of our ministers and MPs in the last decade… Sigh.”
  • Fu Ki wrote, “You sir are too kind! Can you help her daily? I am sure in future she will prepare 320kg and more of weighted newspaper for you to help her protect tomorrow, today!!!! Btw, did you ask the picture taker on the right to help, that way u can protect 32 kg x2 of our environment, give some credit to the working class on Facebook lah. lolol”
  • Terence Hu wrote, “Pity how many times he need to carry the 32kg basket to and fro just for his photographer to get the right shot. Hope he enjoyed his exercise as well as the aunty.”
  • Ziggy Faris wrote:  Aiyoh what are u guys fighting about? look carefully in the 1st pic that guy in red is trying to steal the aunty’s trolley hence she was trying to chase him.

Mr Koh subsequently wrote a long post explaining why he posted the photo of the auntie and hoped that netizens will not negate the story behind the efforts of the auntie just because of the way the pictures were taken.

Amazingly, hardly any negative comments were found in the post and the motivational ones came just shortly after the post was made.

Subscribe
Notify of
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
You May Also Like

和部长交流收费一块钱? 乔立盟讥:找我不收费

前日,一名居民分享一则有趣通告:蔡厝港第三区居民委员会,于本月12日早上9时许,在德惠巷第109座组屋底层办居民交流会,卫生部长暨蔡厝港集选区顾问颜金勇,也受邀出席。 相信活动是开放予德惠巷第101至124座的居民参与,且注明名额有限,先到先得。不过,上述居民交流会需收费一块钱,惟每位参与者可获赠一份小礼品。活动声称若对所居住社区有任何问题,都欢迎来叫交流。此外,也附上购买入场券的联系方式。 不过,这则通告就被网民嘲讽,为何与部长或议员交流,也要收费? 颜金勇,以及刘燕玲、周凯年和黄文鸿,都是蔡厝港集选区的议员。 对此,人民党主席乔立盟也不忘在脸书调侃,欢迎居民常来和他聊天,且他不会跟居民收费。 I won’t be charging for chit chat…

陈振声称需赋权人民行动党 展现“正向稳定”政治因素吸引外资

贸工部长陈振声认为,在来届选举新加坡必须先向世界展示更具正向稳定的信号,吸引更多更强大的经济投资,创造良好的就业机会。 周一(11日)陈振声接受《亚洲新闻台》的采访透露,新加坡必须向世界发出相对“正向的信号”,激发投资者对新加坡的信心,以此吸引更强大的投资,制造就业机会,以让新加坡人能够安然度过低靡时刻。 他强调,纵观许多并列第一世界的国家具有多元化的政治体系,并且能够赖以生存,倘若没有强劲的经济表现、强大的投资和良好的就业机会,一个支离破碎的政治体系也会体现出缺点。 “所以,在来届选举中,我们不仅要向自己,而且要面向世界发出“正向强大”的信号,我们才能借此攀升,与竞争对手拉远距离。” 因此,陈振声表示,目前首要任务即是授权于人民行动党,告诉国际社会行动党是长期存在,即指新加坡是稳定和连贯的,同时行动党也会执行与实现所有的承诺。 他也表明,若新加坡人投向一个“无法协调分歧与带领新加坡前进”的政治制度,新加坡社会的凝聚力将会分散,更可能导致分裂的出现。 吸引外资,意味着创造更多就业机会? 尽管如此,引进外资就意味着创造更多的机会吗?我们可以从中检讨,例如樟宜商业园中也吸引大量印度软件公司,它看似为我国创造就业机会,但我们可以从中发现,他们大量聘雇印度籍工程师。 随着新加坡人的抱怨连连,情况逐渐恶化,以至于政府不得不介入调解,让这些公司聘雇更多外国人。 政府的介入也连带影响了于新加坡工作的印度专业人员,由于工作签证的条件变得严苛,导致工作签证的派发变得相当零散,甚至促使印度政府以违反贸易协定向新加坡政府投诉。 据报道,部分印度IT公司均受到影响如HCL、TCS、Infosys、Wipro、Cognizant和L&T信息技术。 印度贸易组织(Nasscom)投诉,“签证问题已拖延一段时间,自2016…