Reform Party 7 August

Dressed in the bright yellow of the Reform Party (RP), Roy Ngerng greeted residents of Ang Mo Kio, handing out flyers and highlighting basic policies in Mandarin.

The blogger – whose defamation case brought by Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong is still ongoing – has submitted an application to join RP. He also recently put up a poll on his blog asking his readers if he should stand as a candidate in the upcoming elections.

“For me I’m really concerned that the government has to be responsible to create policies to protect Singaporeans,” he told The Online Citizen. “So it got to a point where I feel that as a Singaporean if you want to be able to make a difference you might actually need a different platform to be able to do so.”

Although people on his blog voted for him to stand, similar polls on Mothership.sg and TOC have garnered different results. On Mothership.sg, 80% said that Ngerng should not stand for elections, while on TOC the results have been more split down the middle, with 55.3% saying he should stand.

“To know that the people who read my blog actually support what I do, it gave me the belief that there is a pool of people who feel that I’m in a position to be able to represent them… knowing that they believe I am someone who can represent them makes me feel that… it’s not just about me,” he said, adding that the differing results on all three websites were perhaps more indicative of the readership’s political leanings.

He also said that he chose to join RP as he had already worked with Secretary-General Kenneth Jeyaretnam on and off for some time, and that the party’s policies on social issues such as the minimum wage and healthcare were very much in line with his own beliefs.

When asked about where he would like to stand for elections, Ngerng chose to defer to the party, saying that although he had indicated his interest in joining the party a few months ago, his application was still being considered. If accepted, he would stand for elections wherever the party decides to field him.

Jeyaretnam remained tightlipped about Ngerng’s application and potential as a candidate, saying that the matter would be covered in a press conference the party intends to hold after the National Day weekend. Yet while the party moved through the food centre and towards the HDB flats, Ngerng was often especially introduced to voters, and his work with the CPF highlighted.

Reform Party 7 AugustFellow #ReturnOurCPF protester Han Hui Hui turned up a little later in the evening. Although not a member of RP or a resident of Ang Mo Kio GRC, Han said that she had been volunteering with various opposition parties since 2011, and since October last year had specifically focused her energies on Ang Mo Kio as a constituency anchored by the prime minister.

When asked if she would be joining Ngerng’s campaign team should he be fielded as a candidate, Han remained vague, saying, “At the end of the day I just want to help Singaporeans.”

Subscribe
Notify of
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
You May Also Like

黄鲁胜重新受委总检察长 任期至2023年

黄鲁胜昨日(14日)于总统府宣誓就职,重新获委总检察长,任期三年至2023年。 哈莉玛总统于昨日在脸书发图文,图中显示黄鲁胜在大法官梅达顺的见证下,向总统宣誓。 总统称“有信心黄鲁胜能公平正直地履行职责。” 黄鲁胜现年66岁,是在2017年初接替维克拉惹,成为我国第九任总检察长。 黄鲁胜在本地法律界有30多年的执业经验,专长于银行业、企业与金融服务相关法律事务。他也曾经担任海事及港务管理局,以及新加坡国际仲裁中心主席。 曾任总理私人律师 不过,他也曾担任总理李显龙的私人律师。对此,工人党议员林瑞莲曾在国会质问,委任黄鲁胜为总检察长可能存在利益冲突。 当时律政兼财政部高级政务部长英兰妮则辩称,政府是经过详细和严格的挑选后,决定由黄鲁胜出任该要职,并指“我国法律清楚列明该如何处理涉及利益冲突的事件,并严格遵守这些规定。” 而如果有案件是总检察长或副总检察长在担任律师期间曾处理过的,他们将自行回避。

‘Mr HDB’ Lim Kim San – Man of the ’60s

Leong Sze Hian/ Mr Lim Kim San, was called Mr HDB, as…

新选民册开放查阅

新的选民册已经修订好了,其中包含了2019年2月1日的合格选民名单,从本月26日起至3月11日,经由选民局(ELD)公开给民众查阅。 总理公署属下选民局于2月25日发出文告指出,公众可以上网查询个人资料,或携带身份证或护照,到选民局柜台或民众俱乐部查阅。国外的选民也可以携带他们的身份证件或护照,到指定的海外领事馆或大使馆查阅。指定的海外领事馆或者大使馆可上网到选民局查阅,或是亲自到选民局询问。 选民局表示,在这段查阅期间,选民如察觉选民册中的个人资料和身份证上的不符合,可提交纠正申请。相关的个人资料包括了姓名(如果已经被省略)、或者更新姓名或地址。 这段期间,选民也能提出反对意见,要求自所在选区中除名。 想要做出申请或除名的选民,也可以上网到选民局网页www.eld.gov.sg/online.html,透过个人的政府电子密码(SingPass)进行提交。海外的居民除了上网,也亲自到指定的社区中心俱乐部进行提交。 复名申请需尽快提交 在上届大选没能投票而被除名的选民,可在查阅期间重新登记为选民,以便能够在来届大选履行选民权利。 选民局促请需要重新登记的国民尽早做出申请,因为选举令状(Writ of Election)一经颁布,所有登记工作将停止,一直到提名日(没有对手的情况下)或投票日(有对手的情况下)后才能继续。换句话说,就是来不及重新登记为选民的国人,只能等下一届才能行使选民权了。 选民局指出,自2016年2月1日至2019年1月31日,这三年期间名字列于选民册,在国内居住了至少30天以上的国人,可以申请为海外选民,并在来届大选期间到指定的海外投票站投票。 随着选民册每年的修订,先前已经注册为海外选民,并希望继续留作海外选民的国人,需要重新登记。选民局补充说,海外新加坡人受促通过上述渠道提前进行注册。…

被踢爆拥豪宅、儿子移民加拿大? 《环时》胡总:我只有女儿!

一名《凤凰网》前记者张真瑜,在接受采访时爆料,中国政府喉舌媒体《环球时报》的老总胡锡进,年收入达1200万人民币(约242万新元)!且坐拥豪宅、儿子已移民加拿大等。 不过,胡锡进也很快便在微博回应,这一切“一看就是假的”。 上述前记者张真瑜,是在接受网络媒体《看中国》访谈时,指胡锡进害怕财产、家庭和孩子在外求学和移民的情况公开。他也指胡锡进曾自夸“跟着党的步伐就实现了财务自由”,也曾宣称有若干套房。 张真瑜指胡锡进在中共体制中迷失,人性变得扭曲。 不过,胡锡进也连忙在微博澄清,这种说法“太离奇”,一看就是假的!据《苹果日报》联系胡锡进,后者指出这完全是假消息,“在中国的体制怎么可能?” 胡锡进也指自己只有一个在北京生活和上班的女儿,“我在微博回应过,根本没有儿子,我看要是有人给我送个儿子,要是真的就好了!” 他也指近期针对他的谣言越来越多,“大概是为捍卫国家利益必须承受的代价”。 不过据了解,张真瑜也形容对于儿子移民一事,胡锡进“肯定不会承认”。也举例中国重庆前市委书记薄熙来儿子,在美国花天酒地,当时薄熙来也不承认。