The rallies tonight will commence at 7pm. Our volunteers on the ground will bring you the latest updates.

6:10pm:

Small crowd forming at Serangoon stadium where the Worker’s Party will hold their rally tonight.

6:37pm:

From a TOC reporter at Serangoon: Crowd having fun here. Man with t shirt with word “Singaporean”. Another with t shirt “Tak Boleh Tahan”. Both stood together to form “Singaporeans Tak Boleh Tahan” and crowd cheers.

6:38pm:

WP candidates arrive. Crowd cheering.

6:44pm:

At a PAP rally: Major General Chan helping out with chair arrangements. Where’s everyone? #sgelection #TOClive

6:57pm:

First PAP bus unloaded.

7:16pm:

Emcee is asking the crowd to practice cheer for Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong’s arrival: ‘PAP ANG MO KIO, PAP SINGAPORE, PAP ANG MO KIO!’

7:34pm:

Suraiya of Young Democrats: “This is our time and we are taking it back!”

7:35pm:

Activist Eric Lim starts off with the first speech at the PAP rally. He said, “I’ve been an activist since the fime of the Konfrontasi.”

7:43pm:

Cheng San activist Cik Salleh speaking in Malay at the PAP rally in Yio Chu Kang. There is no sign of the PM yet.

7:44pm:

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong arrives at the PAP rally at Yio Chu Kang.

7:45pm:

Singapore Democratic Party: “In Sembawang they are building beautiful beaches. But the question is do you have time to go to the beach?”

7:50pm:

Chairman of Keban Baru CCC Tan Ah Teck speaks in Hokkien at PAP rally.

7:57pm:

John Tan of SDP on a retiree who spent $10K on surgery. “How is it that Khaw Boon Wan only pays $8!”

7:59pm:

At PAP’s rally at Yio Chu Kang: Dr Intan Azura is the first candidate to speak at tonight’s rally. She is speaking in Malay.

8pm:

Singapore People’s Party Mr Sim Kek Tong, a Hong Kah North candidate says GRC stands for ‘Group Representative Conspiracy’.

8.05pm:

Jaslyn Go of SDP: “PAP is Pay And Pay. SDP is So Don’t Pay!”

8:06pm:

PAP Rally: Dr Intan is speaking on municipal level issues. He says that facilities in Buangkok and Jalan Kayu will help build familial ties. He pledges to listen to problems, no matter how small they are.

8.10pm:

SDP proposes pay cuts for Ministers and pledges 50 percent of the pay of their MPs be put back in for the people.

8:11pm:

Second candidate from PAP’s Ang Mo Kio GRC, Mr Ang Hin Kee speaks.

8:12pm:

At Singapore People Party’s rally site: Chiam See Tong arrives. People cheering his name. Only a fraction of the crowd is cheering and clapping. His arrival broke up Mr Jimmy Lee’s speech.

8:14pm:

SPP Rally: Crowd breaks into spontaneous chants of “Chiam See Tong!” when the veteran politician arrives at the rally site.

8:15pm:

SPP Rally: Mr Jimmy Lee says “MP is a retail arm of the government.”

8:18pm:

Ang Hin Kee: Ang Mo Kio has good facilities, everything you need to work, live and play. But they didn’t come on their own. Good work of activists, MPs played a part.

8:20pm:

Mr Alec Tok at SDP Rally: “This is a turning point because we stand days away from a victory at the polls!”

He also said, “The media is no longer in the hands of the PAP, but in the hands of the people.”

Over to the PAP Rally, Mr Ang Hin Kee says, “We want to make AMK a good place for the elderly, good place for tbe young – with good schools, ITEs, JCs.”

8:23pm:

Alec Tok: “BUAY TAHAN LIAO AH!”

8:27pm:

Worker’s Party rally site: Mr Eric Tan of East Coast GRC says “One party rule has outlived its usefulness.”

8:28pm:

Yeo Guat Kwang: Purpose and Passion, PAP.

8:30pm:

Yeo Guat Kwang: What we need for solving problems is not alternative views but alternative solutions. We cannot simply follow foreign practices. Speaking about his experience in CASE and policy implemented against unfair trading practices.

8:31pm:

SPP Rally: Mhd Hanim at SPP rally: For every policy, PAP takes the credit but must also take the blame.

8:32pm:

SDP Rally: Tan Jee Say: Teo Chee Hean says $60 billion is “no small change”. Then did he ask the GICs how much they lost?

Tan Jee Say mentions Dr Balakrishnan and crowd erupts in booing. #TOC Live

8:37pm:

Tan Jee Say to Balakrishnan: “Manage your own ministry budget well first, before you comment on figures of others.” #TOC Live

8:39pm:

From a TOC Reporter: There’re about 1,500 people present at SDP Rally.

8:41pm:

Prime Minister is speaking in Malay now.

8:43pm:

Lina Chiam: I have my own name – ‘Mrs Lina Chiam’. I will do things my way. Upon hearing this, the crowd applauds and cheers.

8:45pm:

James Gomez: Your SDP throws PAP questions, they ‘siam’. #TOC Live

James Gomez holds up PAP booklet of plan for Sembawang and says, “Photos of themselves, nothing about Sembawang.”

8:58pm:

PM Lee: To ensure that the sandwich class has affordable housing while ensuring value of flats of existing home ownders not to drop.

8:59pm:

PM Lee: In order for economic problems to be solved, you must have a solid political foundation.

9:01pm:

PM Lee: Opposition’s two-driver analogy is dangerous. Do you see an assistant driver when you take a bus? If the driver is of good quality, you don’t need a co-driver.

9:04pm:

PM Lee: Opposition NCMP can ensure government explains policies clearly.

9:05pm:

From a TOC reporter at SPP Rally: Crowd at spp rally. Approximately abt 1000 pax.

9:06pm:

Ang Yong Guan on fertility rate: “More stress cannot make baby!” #TOC Live

9:07pm:

PM Lee: The life has improved for most Singaporeans. USave, Workfare etc help lower income cope with inflation, higher costs of living.

9:09pm:

PM Lee: Many Singaporeans want to be self-reliant. Problems cannot be solved by government packages, but by making ppl more self reliant, and helping them grow their wages.

9:10pm:

Pitram-Singh, WP Aljunied: “The PAP of today is no longer the PAP of yesterday.”

9:11pm:

PM Lee: Low income people is a problem most countries share because of low wage workers in China and India. Special housing grants for low income households amount to $60,000. That’s a lot of money.

9:13pm:

PM Lee: 22,000 flats to be built this year- different types of flats including Pinnacle. Of course, Pinnacle cannot be as cheap as other flats.

9:15pm:

At SPP Rally: Wilfred Leong: How come when I go to PAP website, the RC member campaign together with PAP?

9:16pm:

Pitram Singh: ‘Youths of Singapore, take ownership of your country.’ Chen Show Mao is speaking at the WP rally now.

Overheard at SDP rally about Ang Yong Guan: “Yeah Super Mario!”

PM Lee: PAP doing a lot of issues such as immigration. We are managing the inflow so they don’t overwhelm us.

9:18pm:

PM Lee: We have serious debate in parliament. You don’t see people throwing things at one another.

9:19pm:

PM Lee: PAP is not perfect. When things go wrong, we have to apologize and put things right and make sure it doesn’t happen again.

SPP Rally: Benjamin Pwee takes to stage to fanfare.

9:20pm:

PM Lee: Opposition wants to have two drivers for the bus but there’s only one steering wheel.

9:21pm:

Low Thia Khiang: This is the Hard Truths – no system lasts forever.

9:22pm:

Teo Soh Lung takes the stage at SDP rally: TOC reporter goes deaf with the cheers.

9:23pm:

Benjamin Pwee: If I want to come out (into politics), it’s for the good of everybody.

9:23pm:

National Solidarity Party: Christopher Neo now on stage.

9:25pm:

Benjamin Pwee: We stand up because we believe in Singapore. This is Singapore and this is our home.

Go to the ballot box and vote for your children.

9:27pm:

Teo Soh Lung: SDP MPs will donate 50 percent of allowance to service the residents, set up endowment fund for the needy.

9:29pm:

Teo Soh Lung: When I am elected, I will become a full-time MP.

9:31pm:

Benjamin Pwee: You can vote SPP because of Chiam See Tong… We want to listen to your heart and bring it to parliament.

9:32pm:

NSP: Steve Chia takes to the stage.

9:35pm:

Teo Soh Lung asks Grace Fu, Senior Minister of Education: “What is wrong with our education?” (97 out of 100 students surveyed attend tuition, reported to mainstream media)

9:36pm:

Chiam See Tong speaks and the crowd breaks into cheers and chants of ‘Chiam See Tong!’ once again.

9:37pm:

Low Thia Khiang responding to George Yeo: “There is nothing more against the spirit of democracy than the GRC system.”

9:38pm:

Steve chia: “raise your hand if you think the cost of living is too high”

9:39pm:

Chiam: SPP believes in building a democratic society. SPP believes in freedom. Democracy needs a strong opposition to grow.

9:40pm:

SDP: Next speaker announced to be Dr Vincent Wijeysingha. Crowd goes nuts.

9:43pm:

Inderjit Singh – Do you know what a first world parliament is? I don’t.

9:44pm:

We need to have first world parliamentarians, not a first world parliament. Arguing in parliament is just one part of the role of a good parliamentarian – Inderjit.

SPP rally: Member of crowd shouts minister should commit suicide to take responsibility for Mas Salamat’s escape.

#TOCLive VW: Grace Fu says she has worked hard. “Well, for $1mil a year I would bloody well hope she works hard!” #SDPRally #sgelections

9:45pm:

CST: I am not a great man, but I love Singapore.
Audience member: we love you too.

CST leaves to chants of his name.

9:52pm:

Sim Kek Tong: if elected, I will study GST to see if it can be scrapped.

9:58pm:

NSP’s Tony Tan speaking.

SPP rally: End. Chiam See Tong shaking hands with crowd.

10pm:

#TOCLive Supporter from Sembawang wants to garland Dr Chee, but law does not allow him to do so onstage. (Dr Chee not allowed on stage.) #SDPRally #sgelections

10:04pm:

At PAP rally – buses loading supporters back to their constituencies. There are around ten buses to ferry them.

10:08pm:

SPP: After the rally, Chiam went up to thank members of the public. A few of them broke down when they shook his hand.

10:17pm:

SDP rally just ended.

10:19pm:

Chee Soon Juan: “Under the law I cannot talk.” He urges people to read the SDP website, “that’s where we can talk.”

10:23pm:

WP rally ended 15 min ago. Crowd is leaving Serangoon Stadium. Police stopped traffic at the junction outside stadium to allow crowd to leave.

— END —

A big thank you to everyone who has stayed with us from 7-10pm during our live blogging session! 🙂 The live blogging has now ended. We will bring you more updates soon!

In the meantime, have a nice night, and check out the rally sites fo tomorrow: http://www.spf.gov.sg/mic/2011/110429_election_meeting_for_30Apr.htm

Subscribe
Notify of
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
You May Also Like

苏睿勇田径总会执行董事马利克提出诽谤令状

两届马拉松冠军苏睿勇,针对新加坡田径总会(SA)执行董事马利克(Malik Aljunied)未在限定时间内回复,向法庭提出诽谤令状呈请,相信未来将会对薄公堂。 苏睿勇于昨日(27日)在脸书上帖文表示,由于马利克未在限定时间内回复先前所寄出的律师信函,因此正式向法庭提出呈请。该律师信函于8月19日寄出,内容控诉马利克于社交平台上恶意中伤,并向马利克要求赔偿金与公开道歉。 文内他也警告新加坡田径总会,一旦要公开控诉一名运动员,就应该要准备好证据,否则就必须做好被追究责任的准备。 “如今我祝愿马利克一切顺心,只有愈早致歉,才会对你、奥委会、新加坡田径总会是最好的选择。”他表示。 马利克于本月17日在脸书上上载一张他和两个小女孩的合照,并写道希望照片中至少有一人能成为400米跨栏的选手。 然而在帖文内容中,马利克也写道“要堤防马拉松,它最终会扰乱你的思维和心绪”,疑似在影射苏睿勇。 除此之外,有一名网友也在马利克帖文的评论区留言问道,“马拉松到底如何扰乱思维和心绪”时,马利克回答说它是针对“目前的一名特定马拉松运动员”,指对方的“理智已被搞砸到无法修复”。 马利克还说到,“这似乎显示了他缺乏同情心、同理心、不知感恩和爱护他人的能力”。 苏睿勇律师Clarence Lun指出,马利克目前在脸书上明显与具毁谤性的留言,所映射的人只有苏睿勇,因此将会针对马利克发出诽谤的索赔要求。 对此,奥委会向《今日报》透露奥委会将不涉及两人之间的司法诉讼,认为苏睿勇已公开与奥委会所有的书信往来,因此不予置评。…

疑涉嫌企业管理违法 凯发及其董事被调查

包括商业事务局(CAD)、金融管理局(MAS)和会计与企业管制局(ACRA)等机构,将联合调查凯发集团(Hyflux)及该集团董事及前董事。 调查机构怀疑该集团董事及前董事,涉嫌虚假与误导陈述、违反信息披露规定,以及没遵循会计标准等。 金管局、新加坡交易所(SGX)以及ACRA是在2019年4月16日,宣布将检视凯发集团,与会计相关的披露和遵循标准。经检讨,当局有理由怀疑当中涉及违法行为。 当局将联手调查凯发在大泉水电厂项目的信息披露方面是否有疏失;同时,2011年至2018年间,是否遵循会计标准。不过,当局表示刑侦与凯发当前的企业拯救程序无关,并非干扰该集团当前的重组计划。 2011年至2018年期间,在凯发董事会的董事都将接受调查,相信这也包括凯发集团创办人林爱莲。